We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel, perfect location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Barchetta Excelsior

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Barchetta Excelsior
Ranked #3 of 33 Hotels in Como
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
235 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, perfect location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

The hotel has allegedly been refurbished although our room didn’t look like it had. The hotel is located in the middle of the main square in front of the lake; you can’t get a better location. We had a partial view of Lake Como from our room which was very pleasant. Be aware that the hotel does not have its own car park so you will have to move it to the city car park. There are many nice restaurants around, you can walk to all the main monuments and take the ferry across the lake.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oribie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    208
    60
    10
    6
See reviews for
71
225
9
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Moray
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

We arrived and we were given a lakeside view which also gave us a good view of the local hive of activity the local square where many community events were held over 5 days. The hotel had been recently refurbished and the public areas were more modern than traditional. Breakfast was good if a little repetitive after day 5 but it provided us with plenty of choice. I was happy with yoghurt and plenty fruits also a cooked meal was available. We never ate in the hotel restaurant preferring to dine out in the many varied restaurants in town. The staff were very friendly and helpful. There is an American Bar close bye which is really good for cocktails and snacks. This hotel is very central for shopping and the boat terminal and tourist info office is directly in front of it! ...... Suited us really well. So I would advise bed and breakfast. We really enjoyed our first visit to Como.

Room Tip: Ask for a lakeside view......Just Beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KirstyDunc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was clean, lake view was nice, air condition and everything making our stay even more pleasant. Breakfast was good, delicious fruits and good coffee! Only minus was parking; the car had to be taken to a parking house and had to be paid separately. Night rate was quite high so one would expect to get more with that money. All in all we enjoyed our stay and would recommend this!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elena_M1109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmpalaceComo, Direttore at Hotel Barchetta Excelsior, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your review. I am very pleased to know that you had a great stay with us at the Barchetta Excelsior and enjoyed our services.
Regarding the parking, we are happy to announce that the underground car park at our sister hotel Palace (100 mt distance) is now ready for our guests after being completely renovated during the last 3 months.
Looking forward to welcoming you back to Como in the future
Very best regards,
Robert Webber
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
218 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

We have just had two nights at Barchetta Excelsior Hotel Como and from the minute we pulled up we had a porter out to help with baggage as we needed to park the car 100m up the road the young Lady on reception Valentina went above and beyond with the amount of service that She gave us we had had some confusing issues with tolls on the AutoStrada and she took it upon herself to contact the relevant authorities to resolve these issues for us. The room had a great view of Lake Como and was spotless and everything in the room worked exactly as it should, the breakfast room was very good and Roberto and his staff ran it very well indeed overall great stay at this lovely hotel & again Valentina thank you for your service appreciated

Room Tip: Room 328 had great view of the Lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laurie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmpalaceComo, Direttore at Hotel Barchetta Excelsior, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your kind review. I am very pleased to hear that you had a very enjoyable stay with us at the Barchetta Excelsior. I am very proud of my staff members
and I will gladly share your compliments with them. Positive feedback is always greatly
appreciated. We are happy to know were are maintaining our service standards at a very
high level.
Hoping to welcome you back to Como in the future!
Very best regards,
Robert Webber
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

I travel on business to Como and have stayed at this hotel a few times before on previous trips. It has a great location overlooking the lake and is a minute walk to the boat dock and exploring Lake Como the way it should be: on the water. The view from this hotel is one of the best views of Lake Como period. Get a lake view room! If you are on the third floor or higher you will not want to leave your window or balcony. It is a magnificent view. What we loved were the improvements in the hotel. Just about everything is new. Before you heard a lot of street noise or noise from the sometimes busy Piazza Cavour. Now you do not hear a thing. You sleep great here as the bed is great, the room is dark, and it is quiet. The room is small but there is a ton of storage space so it works. We hit some rainy weather and the restaurant manager put together some truly great dishes for us. He (Cosimano) gave us a great day with great food and his personality brightened our day. Alaino takes care us at a great breakfast buffet. Ask the front desk for dining recommendations. We tried some places that shows how great Italian cooking is. This is a freshly done hotel in the best location in Como. You will spend a ton of money more to get this kind of view of Lake Como.

Room Tip: Get a lake view only. You need to be at least on the 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

Great hotel in an excellent location. Across the street from ferries taking you all over the lake. A short walk to the Duomo and funicular. Clean, updated rooms. Extremely friendly staff! Restaurant was pricey but excellent.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madeira Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
488 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

We loved the hotel and the city.
It was beautiful looking over the lake, the train to the top of the mountain and the square right in front of the hotel. We were upgraded to a double balcony suite. 2 bathrooms, great views, great service. Next time we will stay longer in COMO. Three nights were not enough.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor upgrade. Be sure yoou are facing the lake, The cathedral view is also nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ernierad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Como hotels
0.1 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#4 of 33 in Como
4.0 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
0.5 mi away
Borgo Antico Hotel
Borgo Antico Hotel
#2 of 33 in Como
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
0.1 mi away
Metropole Suisse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Albergo Terminus Hotel
0.5 mi away
Borgovico Hotel
Borgovico Hotel
#1 of 33 in Como
4.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Flori
Hotel Villa Flori
#6 of 33 in Como
4.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Barchetta Excelsior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Barchetta Excelsior

Property: Hotel Barchetta Excelsior
Address: Piazza Camillo Benso Conte di Cavour 1, 22100, Como, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Como
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 33 Hotels in Como
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Barchetta Excelsior 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Hotel Barchetta Excelsior you are surrounded by beauty: the villas with their gardens, art exhibitions, silk outlets, boutiques, romantic boat trips, renowned golf clubs. The only hotel in Como with over 50 rooms facing the lake offering a breathtaking view of one of the world's most beautiful sceneries. The hotel is located a few steps from the Cathedral and from the city center and close to the shopping area. Every single moment you spend in Como will be unique and unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Barchetta Excelsior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barchetta Excelsior Como
Barchetta Excelsior Hotel Como
Hotel Barchetta Excelsior Como, Italy - Lake Como

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing