We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive: but for a reason...”
Review of Hotel Villa Flori

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Villa Flori
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in Como
Certificate of Excellence
South Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Expensive: but for a reason...”
Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

Yes, this property is expensive, but the location and room quality are worth it. If you want to spoil yourself then I can recommend Villa Flori.

There are two things to be aware of: if you are elderly or infirm then the bath/shower may be a challenge to enter and exit. The design involves stepping over a large ledge in order to step into the bath, and this may be an issue.

We also noticed there was no compendium in the room: the first hotel I have ever stayed at where this was missing. The staff were helpful, however so this was not a big deal.

Location was out of Como itself, but a short walk to the ferry terminal for the 5 minute trip to the Como waterfront. If you're too late to make the last ferry the walk is lengthy, and the taxi ride is at minimal cost from the center of Como.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank gafra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    159
    64
    30
    17
See reviews for
54
232
11
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
112 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Given the location--right on the lake--this was a great value. However, there were a few issues that would cause me to look for an alternative next time. Our room was very small for two people. Make sure you check out the size of your room in advance--they vary even within price range. The bathroom was also tiny. They have the common European system of requiring that you put your card key in a slot in the room to get the lights to work. That's fine but they would not give my wife a key of her own because they said that would mess up the system. Also, oddly enough, when we took the key and left the room, the AC system switched automatically to very cold. So when we got back to the room it was freezing. This is exactly the opposite of what you would expect. Had to reset the temp every time we came back into the room and wait for it to come up to a comfortable level. We were told that we would have to pay 10 euro a day for internet. I complained so they gave it to us for free but it was an annoying system that you had to sign into again every time you walked away from your Ipad. Service was sometimes ok but sometimes a bit abrupt. Not our best hotel experience on this trip.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sbtrooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Just the perfect hotel, no complaints.
Right on Lake Como and the views are breathtaking
As other people say, guests should not be charged for the car park.
At 25 euros per night, i hope they take notice of this.
We would definetly stay their again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sweet4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hawaii
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012 via mobile

I have been here for short time and already upset. The girl on the desk was the rudest employee I have encounter for a while in the hospitality industry. Everything you want like Internet is all at at extra, which by the way is very very slow so Dont waste your money. I even explained this to the girl and her option was to use the hotels laptop at a cost.
The upside is the view from the room and that's it. I would not return based on the por service alone

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank guy g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We chose this hotel after alot of research. It ended up being an amazing experience. An old beautiful estate that was tranformed into a hotel. We had a balcony that wrapped around the room and had incredible views of the lake. The restaurant was superb and an excellent breakfast each morning. We truly loved this place and hope to be back again soon!

Room Tip: We had a room at the end of the hall...it was spectacular. Large room, balcony and nice sized bathro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaraHC0411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Attard, Malta
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

This Romantic Hotel was a perfect set up for our honeymoon. We had an excellent view of the lake and the opposite hills with the lovely houses; a scene one cannot forget!
We were on BB basis, therefore for dining (since Tavernola lacks restaurants and bars) we used to walk to Cernobbio around 20mins walk from the Hotel. The staff was very helpful too.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ramsej84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

This small but enchanting hotel is so welcoming and situated on the edge of Lake Como. A beautiful position views from hotel are amazing. The staff are so friendly and helpful.Regards to Teresa and Barbara!! Food in the restaurant excellent as are the staff. The only down side is there is nothing around, bars restaurants etc. it is ideal for a stopover. A few minutes walk to bus and ferry stops to Como town both very good services. The taxis are a complete rip off charging whatever.
Como itself is very run down and quite dull and dirty, but a visit to all other villages is a must do!!
The Italian Lakes are a once in a life time experience highly recommend.

Room Tip: Must have a view after all that is why we are here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tash061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Como
1.2 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#4 of 32 in Como
810 reviews
2.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Imperiale
Grand Hotel Imperiale
#1 of 2 in Moltrasio
752 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Barchetta Excelsior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Metropole Suisse Hotel
13.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
#3 of 8 in Tremezzina
1,019 reviews
1.2 mi away
Albergo Terminus Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Flori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Flori

Property: Hotel Villa Flori
Address: Via Cernobbio 12, 22100, Como, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Como
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in Como
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Flori 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Hotel.de, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Villa Flori reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flori Hotel Como
Hotel Villa Flori Como, Italy - Lake Como

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing