We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DON'T GO THERE... VERY VERY BAD...”
Review of La Cucina di Elsa

La Cucina di Elsa
Ranked #99 of 526 Restaurants in Como
Price range: $28 - $56
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Description: From far the best fish restaurant in Como: we suggest to take the Spaghetti with Langoustines, the Fish Grill plate and as an appetizer the Anchovise from Elsa.
Lugano, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“DON'T GO THERE... VERY VERY BAD...”
Reviewed September 21, 2011

we ordered two main course, linguine astice e linguine vongole, and kindly asked for pasta "al dente" as italian normally do, that means 10 minutes cooked pasta not more. But the waitress came back and said that they don't have time to do it "al dente"... !!! that means they work with already pre-cooked pasta and just warmed it up before to serve, such as overcooked pasta... i don't really want to pay 20 euro for an old pre-cooked pasta course... we left the restaurant. that' very bad!!!

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank rossellasedici
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    91
    41
    28
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Don't go there”
Reviewed August 11, 2011

My husband and I decided to go there after reading the critic in Tripadvisor that said that someone ate there the best seafood. We both ordered pasta with seafood. All the seafood (shrimps, calamari etc) was frozen and completely tasteless. The personal was polite but at the end it matters what you eat

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Konstans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Seafood at it's best”
Reviewed July 24, 2011

Como is not the easiest place to work out where to eat well. We stumbled upon this outdoor seating place early in the evening. Before we knew it the place was full. We then immediately booked for the next evening to bring incoming friends. They then booked for the following night as the food was great. The food is fresh, the servings generous and excellent value (even with bottles of wine). The tagliatelle with lobster is a knock out! (half a lobster comes out!). Yes,the older gentleman does find it difficult to smile but it was worth the effort trying to get him to have a Mona Lisa smile- he was switched on. The service definitely has improved (from previous entries). The staff were attentive and indulged in small talk. Would definitely visit again.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MaryFifi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
256 reviews
182 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“Restaurant with a difference”
Reviewed May 31, 2011

After nine years of visiting restaurants in this area it was nice to find one focussing on fish. Many of the restaurants in the region offer typical mountain fayre ie "affettati misti" followed by meat based pasta dishes and game. We enjoy mediterranean style cuisine and this restaurant offered delicious pasta with sea bass, scallops and other seafood together with nice vegetable dishes such as "parmigiana di melanzane"

It has a nice outside eating area and tables are really nicely presented with crisp tablecloths, flowers, candles and big glasses for the wine.

The only drawback was that the portions are very large and staff are quite reserved, verging on surly and we speak Italian so there was no language barrier.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pettirosso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing seafood!”
Reviewed April 27, 2011

Tasty seafood, super healthy. Nice location and very cosy place. A bit extravagant service. But funny Italian old man, who was serving, even made lunch more enjoyable with his winks and jokes :)

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alyona_Belyaeva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cucina di Elsa also viewed

 

Been to La Cucina di Elsa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing