We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent pizza”
Review of taverna messicana pizzeria - CLOSED

taverna messicana pizzeria
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Lodz, Poland
Level 6 Contributor
392 reviews
170 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
“excellent pizza”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

That place was recomende by locals and serves definitely one of the best pizza I've tried. Big thiny and oblong pizza is served on a wooden board. It is crispy and light, very good quality.
Taverna is cosy and has rather informal style. Staff is ok even though a bitt slow.
Basic but good selection of wine.
Good price.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank very-sunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    58
    45
    25
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lugano, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic pizza, don't miss it.”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is definitely the best pizza in Como which shouldn't be missed. I can't vouch for the rest of the menu as I do not order anything else other than pizza here. Personal recommendation is the pizza frivola.

One word of advice, don't try substituting items of pizzas. They appear to only understand addition, not subtract (i.e., they'll charge you for what you add, but don't discount for what you removed). Clearly not the best customer orient approach, but once you know the rules it's fairly straightforward.

I've never had issues with the service, as I see others have.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jason B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“HORRIBLE”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Horrible!!
I know this place since 20 years, the only good thing is the pizza, but for the rest forget it and don't go to this place, people are sooooo rude, they don't take care of your complains . . . even the owner doesn't care about you, he says "there are so many tourist, that I don't need you . . ."

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank UrsulaJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Londrina, PR
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Dont go to this place !”
Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

Horrible!!'Dont go to this place people are rude, food is frozen and disgusting and I found a bug in my pasta the owner insisted on saying was not their fault they made me to pay the check even if they sae we had not eaten!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rosane2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Best pizza we had in italy”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We just return from 2 weeks trip in Italy and after a lot of piza & pasta we would like to recommend this pizza restaurant. They serve big, great piza. There are a lot of options for topping. The service also was great also we noticed that not just tourists, but a lot of locals are eating there. If you are in Como, you must try.

Helpful?
Thank Amit Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed taverna messicana pizzeria also viewed

 
Como, Lake Como
Province of Como, Lombardy
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing