We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good choice”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Le Stanze del Lago

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Le Stanze del Lago
Ranked #5 of 58 Como B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good choice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

This was our first stay in Italy after a flight from Australia. Easy to find near Como Nord station and close to city centre as well as comfortably reachable from Malpensa (Milan airport) on the trains. Clean, comfortable loft apartment with a small kitchen, dining table and lounge up two flights of stairs. It was about 6 degrees outside but our apartment was cosy. Lots of buses going past outside but only during working hours. The restaurant downstairs was good and very busy. They spoke English and getting gluten free food was no problem. We were happy with our stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janine003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    35
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
31
32
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

Very close to the city square, shops and awesome waterways, and only 40mins by train from Milan. We had a great view of the surrounding mountains from this clean, private, warm and trendy loft apartment with small but adequate kitchenette. We understand an elevator will soon be installed, but in the meantime ask the friendly and helpful staff to assist with your luggage. Restaurant Sociale on the ground floor is superb, and we didn't notice any noise. Just remember that in winter many accommodation places close up, so other destinations around the lake are not always accessible. The local ferry only went as far as Torno. Lake Como is a must see destination and this apartment makes a great base.

Room Tip: All apartments in this family owned complex are recently renovated and present as new
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

One of my best kept secrets in Como, even so much so that I was hesitant to share what an amazing find it is for fear of not being able to get the room I want when I want it!

Best value in the area, very central and above one of my favourite restaurants in the walls of the cathedral.

We stay regularly for business and pleasure and have always found our hosts to be incredibly flexible and accommodating even at short notice. The rooms and communal areas are always very well kept and the overall standard of the hotel is excellent.

Personally highly recommended for those coming to Como for any of the trade shows or just for pleasure. Book early to avoid disappointment.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eileen_DU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2011

The apartments are very close to the center and very nice furnished with kitchen facilities for those that wish to use self catering.

The staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adriana N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2011

Arrived in Como late with no accommodation booked. We were only able to get one night here as it was all booked out over the weekend. We really appreciated the extra space of the apartment despite the number of stairs you needed to walk up to get there. The bed was also super comfortable with plenty of pillows. The air-conditioning didn't work and it was a little noisy. Would recommend that guests try the restaurant downstairs, food was delicious and the staff were really friendly. Wanted to stay longer.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cemw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penn_Student
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2010

We would not recommend this place. The apartments are initially very nice (even though you need to hike to the highest floor to reach them, no elevator). They are well-furnished, clean, come with kitchens.

However, we could not sleep and ended up going to another hotel for the second night. There is no air conditioning, so we kept the windows open. Even though we packed ear plugs, nothing could shield our ears from the surprising traffic on this small street. During the entire night, there were motorcycles, trucks, deliveries, everything - we first thought it was thundering right under our window.

Perhaps this place is charming in the winter time when the windows are closed, but we had a horrible experience.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Penn_Student
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2010

This was a nice place, comfortable and spacious with all you need to be self sufficient, but I would encourage anyone thinking of staying in Como, to get on bus or ferry for one more hour and go to the middle lake towns of Bellagio or Varenna or any of the others. We stayed in Como for 2 days before going to Bellagio for 3 more, and we really should have had all 5 in Bellagio. Highly recommend the hotel Borgo Le Terrazze in Bellagio (see tripadvisor reviews, which I will add to). If you have to stay in Como, Le Stanze is good value and the lady who looks after you is very nice. But get to Bellagio, really.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gazmol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Como hotels
0.6 mi away
Borgo Antico Hotel
Borgo Antico Hotel
#2 of 33 in Como
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
0.6 mi away
Borgovico Hotel
Borgovico Hotel
#1 of 33 in Como
4.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#3 of 33 in Como
4.0 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Metropole Suisse Hotel
0.1 mi away
Albergo Terminus Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Barchetta Excelsior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Stanze del Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Stanze del Lago

Property: Le Stanze del Lago
Address: Via Rodari 6, 22100, Como, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Como
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Como
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aparthotel Le Stanze del Lago is one of the recommended Como structure. We offer our customers a comfortable stay in a family context, but very nice to ALWAYS INTERESTING PRICES. Our main goal is that you feel at home. We have 10 apartments perfectly equipped living room kitchen and a double bedroom. The solution is suitable for families and for the business guest who wants to emerge from classic hotel rooms. In addition, the union with the RESTAURANT SOCIALE gives the opportunity to take advantage of one of the most characteristic restaurants and more popular in the city. It is recommended, at the time of booking the apartment, to reserve a table at the restaurant because no one can move from Como without having been to Sabrina's restaurant. For us it is a pleasure to be able to take care of our customers and make their stay in Como as pleasant as possible. At this aim, we offer different amenities and services, without ever stopping to renew. The apartments enjoy a central location, from the high rooms you can see the tall spiers of the Cathedral and is very well connected: is located 100 m from Ferrovie Nord (Railway) (in 50 minutes by train, sitting comfortably in order to reach the center of Milan), 100 m from dock at Lake (where you can take fantastic excursions on Lake of Como), 500 meters from the FSS station San Giovanni. Our structure is divided into two buildings that are less than 300 meters from each other: VIA RODARI: 5 apartments on the third floor without a lift, as located inside the palace owned by Odescalchi family, that gave birth to Pope Innocent VI. From the rooms you can see the tall spiers of the cathedral, or a beautiful view of the lighthouse of Brunate. VIA FONTANA: 5 apartments, one with 6 beds, ideal for families, and two with four beds. Located on the third floor of an old house, with elevator. It is located in the middle of Piazza Cavour, where you can enjoy a wonderful view of Como Lake and Volta square, lovely square with the statue of Alessandro Volta, many shops, bars and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Le Stanze del Lago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Stanze Del Lago Como, Italy - Lake Como

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing