We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“lovely setting and outstanding hospitality.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alla Torretta B&B

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alla Torretta B&B
Ranked #6 of 14 Bellagio B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
North Wales
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“lovely setting and outstanding hospitality.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

I stayed in The Alla Toretta for two nights in mid-September 2012. The hospitality of the couple (Corrado and Sara) who own this B&B is a big part in it's high rating. I was staying on my own and arrived by bus from Como, and Sara came and picked me up from Bellagio to take me up to Visgnola where the B&B is situated. I was fortunate enough to be given the suite with the balcony, the room is wonderfully large, cool, with parquet flooring, and the views from the balcony are beautiful. The wi-fi was fast and with no interruptions. The breakfast is simple but plentiful, it is a B&B after all, not a hotel.
I ate in the restaurant in the basement twice, the food is excellent value for money (most meals around 9Euros), and the portions huge, but delicious, and the service very pleasant.

The most amazing part however came at the end of my stay. I was leaving on a Sunday, and misread my time tables and missed the bus to Como where I was supposed to be taking a train to Milan and from there to Genoa, and was destined to miss my trains, when I told Corrado took me on his scooter and drove me (case and all) for 40 minutes to Como! The man has a business to run and took out 1.5 hours of his day and went well beyond any reasonable duty as a hotelier.

The walk to and from Bellagio involves walking on the road for half the walk nearest the B&B, Took me about 20 minutes (I'm a fast walker) taking the Via Valassina road, I didn't try Via Volta.

Room Tip: Try and get the balcony suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thorml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
allatorretta, Proprietario at Alla Torretta B&B, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
it was really a pleasure to have made ​​your holiday so beautiful!
and the motorcycle ride up to como gave that bit of adventure and Italian style!
with affection
Sara and Corrado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    39
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
23
43
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

If you love historic buildings, antiques, welcoming hosts and a warm atmosphere totally unlike a hotel, then this is your place. Yes, it's outside Bellagio but this is factored into the price. As a couple in their 50s (reasonably fit), walking to and from Bellagio is not a problem. It gives you time to smell the roses, enjoy the cobblestone walkway and marvel at the beautiful buildings and countryside. The bed was comfortable in a large room with plenty of hot water in the bathroom. Breakfast was more than enough: tea/coffee, croissants, rolls, cereal, fresh fruit, cheese and yoghurt. We loved this place, especially the friendly helpful hosts and fantastic view of the close snow capped mountains from our room. Great pizzeria downstairs has well priced meals too. This is not Bellagio. This is the next best thing and so close.

Room Tip: Room 3 had a fantastic view of the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hudsimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
allatorretta, Proprietario at Alla Torretta B&B, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
thank you for your wonderful review! nice to know that there are people who appreciate and enjoy a walk it captures scents and colors. we hope to see you again!
Corrado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

The room was very large, however the place was very old and out of the way from central Bellagio. Rooms are on the first floor with no elevator. Views of the lakes were minimal. The owners are very nice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 30CountryTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
allatorretta, Proprietario at Alla Torretta B&B, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
thank you very much for writing us this review and for the compliments on our kindness.
we hope to see you again as our guests

Corrado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights whilst in Bellagio, good value simple accommodation (less than half the price of other highly rated options) and welcoming owners and staff.

Breakfast is provided but is very basic, it's quite a way out of Bellagio - about 5 minutes drive but 30 mins walk (as we discovered the day our car broke down - many thanks to Sarah for helping us find a mechanic to fix it though!). It is however just down the road from the top-rated restaurant in Bellagio - Salice Blu, which we highly recommend trying if you are staying here (even if the meal will probably come to as much as your nights accommodation).

Room Tip: Room 1 is the front room with the balcony, Room 5 is at the back and has a leaky shower cubicle
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank outonalimb2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
allatorretta, Proprietario at Alla Torretta B&B, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
thank you very much for the compliments! it was a pleasure to help you find a mechanic for your car.
a big hello to all your family
Sara and Corrado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2011

We stayed here for only one night and we loved it. If you like to stay in an old Villa with nice owners and staff and a delicious inhouse pizzeria, go there!
We stayed in the really big room No. 1 with balcony. The bed is typically italian, soft but okay, the bathroom is spacious and there is room for 4 people. The breakfast is okay. Perfect if you like to be a bit away from town in a nice little village with charming little streets, best if you have a car.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank latequila83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
allatorretta, Proprietario at Alla Torretta B&B, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
we are happy to have made your stay enjoyable and to keep you living a part of bellagio that few see, but that is very characteristic.
we hope to see you again
Corrado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2011

My boyfriend proposed during our stay at Alla Torretta and had primed them in advance. They were very sweet about it and provided us with champagne and red roses as well as lots of good wishes. Our room was lovely, very large and breakfast was good too. It is a little way out of Bellagio but if you're relatively fit walking isn't too much of a problem and, as parking in Bellagio can be tricky, it's not a bad solution. Free wireless was great too. Would certainly recommend this place - thanks for helping to make it so memorable! Grazie tanto :-)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laurakb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
allatorretta, Proprietario at Alla Torretta B&B, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
we remember perfectly your arrival and request your boyfriend to have some red roses for you! it was very romantic. we are happy for you that is a good memory.
greetings
Sara and Corrado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2011

I would have rated this higher but for the arduous trek to and from town 25 minutes into town at a brisk pace but definitely more like 40-45 uphill and if you are returning at night, bring a flashlight.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank spinach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
allatorretta, Proprietario at Alla Torretta B&B, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you for your review. we hope that in addition to the distance has remained a beautiful memory of our hospitality.

Corrado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bellagio hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
#2 of 16 in Bellagio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Bellagio
#5 of 16 in Bellagio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Du Lac
Hotel Du Lac
#6 of 16 in Bellagio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Fioroni
Hotel Fioroni
#9 of 16 in Bellagio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Metropole Bellagio
Hotel Metropole Bellagio
#4 of 16 in Bellagio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alla Torretta B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alla Torretta B&B

Property: Alla Torretta B&B
Address: Via Nuova 3, 22021 Bellagio, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellagio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Bellagio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Alla Torretta B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alla Torretta Hotel Bellagio
Alla Torretta Bed And Breakfast
Alla Torretta B&B Bellagio, Italy - Lake Como

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing