We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay in Bellagio!”
Review of Residence il Borgo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Residence il Borgo
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Bellagio!”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We loved our stay at il Borgo. Like other reviews said, Flavio was very helpful and gracious. The rooms were good size and very clean. We had a studio on the 2nd floor and was perfect. Great location too. We would definitely recommend others to stay here. We had a wonderful time at il Borgo!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beach2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    27
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
33
95
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Napa, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay here in May 2012! Flavio was a great host, and was very helpful with recommendations and reservations. The apartments are located right in the heart of Bellagio, but are very quiet at night. We stayed in one of the studios on the 2nd floor, and it had plenty of room for a couple. We also appreciated Flavio's assistance with reservations at Trattoria Baita Belvedere - amazing spot! All in all, we were very happy with our stay at Il Borgo!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thegrapecrusher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

I just spent 2 weeks in Italy with 3 friends (4 single ladies total) and we kept talking about the Residence Il Borgo as our favorite place we stayed for the whole trip. We happened to arrive on a rainy day and faithful Flavio was there waiting for us at the harbor - just as he said he would be. He took all of our luggage in the car and drove it up the hill so we could just walk without having to draf all of it with us. We stayed in the loft apartment and loved every element of the place. It was so spacious - it was nice to have the ability to have a kitchen and make your own breakfasts. Lots of cute windows to open up and admire the City. The only noise was church bells - which you'll find in every town in Italy. The beds were comfortable and the place was super clean. You will not regret staying here. I give it my highest recommendation.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaR0904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Level Contributor
271 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

I'm going to start with our hosts. Flavio & Sylvia could not possibly have been nicer, or more helpful hosts. We stayed in about 10 different hotels and guesthouses on our three week trip through the Lakes and the Dolomites, and while we had many nice experiences, no where did we have better hosts than at Il Borgo. They met us on their motorbike and then guided us and our car through the narrow streets of Bellagio until we found some parking near the guesthouse. Once we'd unloaded our luggage and dragged it across a lot of cobblestones to the Residence, Flavio took our car to a place where we could leave it for 4 days without having to pay for parking.

Residence Il Borgo itself is modern and stylish inside, while nondescript and nearly unnoticable on the outside. The studio room was by far the largest we had in any hotel on our trip, complete with a small kitchenette and a modern bath. Our only complaint was the typical very hard European bed with even harder pillows, but that is to be expected in most European hotels. The modern elevator seemed spacious after Paris lifts, and always worked reliably, as did everything in the studio.

Location is on one of the narrow pedestrian stairways that lead from the main church courtyard down to the waterfront. Can't get much more central than Il Borgo. A very authentic slice of Bellagio! Many restaurants nearby, but ask Flavio & Sylvia for suggestions since they know who cooks fresh food...and who doesn't!

We will definitely tell all our friends headed to Bellagio to stay at Residence Il Borgo! This is now one of our very favorite places - anywhere! Thanks again for all your hospitality, Flavio & Sylvia!

Room Tip: I'm guessing that all the rooms are as nice, or nicer, as the one we stayed in. Ask for one on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TucsonCurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We stayed in the Inca apartment for 7 nights in August. It was spotless, very well equipped, in a great location and very quiet at night. Fabio was very helpful when booking and also when we arrived, full of local knowledge and tips. I would not hesitate recommending these apartments and will definitely stay there again one day. Bellagio is a beautiful little town, a great base to explore enchanting Lake Como. Gina, Perth, WA.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We were recommended this apartment by the owner of a nearby B&B where we intended to stay initially. As our friends stayed in the original apartment we got to see a good comparison, and I can say that Il Borgo was not only better, but also cheaper than our initial choice!

When you arrive, Flavio is there to greet you, if he is not around you can just give him a call and he will come over in a few minutes. The building has a brand new lift and a spacey stairwell. Rooms are new, not over-luxurious, but very practical with a kitchen (incl. fridge), bathroom and satellite TV. The windows are all double-glazing, so there is practically no noise from the little street below and the restaurant around the corner. Good A/C that is not too noisy. Tourist information, maps and a ferry schedule are all available in the room.

This is not a B&B, so no breakfast, but the mini-mart around the corner is open from 7.30-19.30 everyday. You can buy fresh sandwiches around the corner or have breakfast in one of the small bars around.

Flavio and Sylvia are very helpful, ie. when we needed some fresh towels, they very quickly supplied them to us. The hotel accepts major creditcards.

Only downside I can think off is that there was no shampoo or bathfoam supplied in the rooms, so make sure you take some with you (although Flavio and Sylvia may have just forgotten this).

Likes: great location in city centre, but quiet and fresh due to good windows and A/C, great service.
Dislikes: No shampoo in the shower... (I couldn't think of anything else!)

Room Tip: We stayed in room #2, where the bathroom was situated above the kitchen of the restaurant below. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bas1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 20, 2012

The owners of this property have created the perfect place for anyone wanting a degree of independence and not wishing to have the flummery of a full hotel. The location is superb - 50 meters from the lake front and in the centre of Bellagio, but on a narrow, quiet pedestrian street, without noise at night. Our room was light, modern, spacious, and superbly equipped with a generous kitchenette (fridge, hob, microwave, toaster, crockery etc and sink), small dining table, easy chairs, lots of built-in cupboard space, and a safe. The en-suite bathroom was large and up to date, with an endless supply of hot water. There was an air conditioner, but also a large window with a juliet balcony. Everything was spotlessly clean and worked as it should, including the fast, free, internet connection. Only 20 meters away there is a small shop where you can buy bread, milk, croissants, and charcuterie. Your key opens the front door, so you can come and go at any time of night. Absolutely perfect.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicolas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bellagio hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Bellagio
#6 of 16 in Bellagio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Du Lac
Hotel Du Lac
#5 of 16 in Bellagio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Metropole Bellagio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
0.0 mi away
Hotel Centrale
Hotel Centrale
#7 of 16 in Bellagio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence il Borgo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence il Borgo

Property: Residence il Borgo
Address: Salita Plinio n. 4, 22021 Bellagio, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellagio
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Bellagio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Residence il Borgo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Il Borgo Hotel Bellagio
Residence Il Borgo Bellagio, Italy - Lake Como

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing