We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Think twice what is important”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Albergo Giardinetto
Ranked #15 of 16 Hotels in Bellagio
Glen Spey, New York
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Think twice what is important”
Reviewed October 23, 2009

Granted, this was probably the cheapest place in Bellagio. The rooms were simple but very clean. I had the single, which was very small. My friends had a double facing the courtyard. The family that runs the place had some very loud arguments with the young girl of the family really carrying on. It was very disruptive to their stay. Fortunately, my room was no where near the noise. The steps really are an issue, getting the luggage up from the ferry. If you're going here, travel light. We didn't take the breakfast, there were plenty of cafes and markets nearby for fruit or yogurt.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GlenSpeyguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    13
    6
    7
    2
See reviews for
4
20
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2009

If you are looking for a nice, clean and inexpensive hotel in Bellagio, then this is it!

There is nothing flash about this family run hotel, just very simple, but it does boast a great location within Bellagio, close to shops, restaurants and ferry. When I say close, Im talking about 50 metres to shops/ restaurants and 250 metres down the hill to the ferry.

The room we stayed in was a comfortable size, with a small dining table and bathroom with bath. I would suggest the best rooms are 18, 19 and 20 as these have slight views of the lake and mountains, a small sunny balcony with a couple of chairs.

We bought beautiful homemade meals from the local minimarket (which they heated for us), and sat some nights watching the sunset from the balcony and others under the grapevine in the garden. Just beautiful.

The hotel is up quite a few stairs from the ferry taking around 3-4 minutes. We arrived in Bellagio by ferry from Como town, after a great scenic boat trip which takes around 2 hours but well worth it. (can be done faster on the fast ferries.) Once settled in Bellagio, we bought tourist mid-lake ferry tickets (about 11 euros each), which ment we could travel by boat all day around Lake Como to around 6 destinations including Menaggio, Cadenabbia, Verenna, Tremezzo and Bellagio.

Bellagio is a perfect destination and the Albergo Giardinetto great little place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank UkOnholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEATTLE
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2008

We first stayed at the Albergo Giardinetto in September 1974. It was a cooler season than usual and in the mornings we delighted in holding the large cups of coffee with additional heated milk in a little pitcher nearby.
I remember the hollow breakfast rolls which I believe are still served along with butter and jam. We share many fond memories of this visit as well as the twentry more visits to come through the years.
This hotel with its simple rooms, some with balconys, is situated against the hillside in the magical village of Bellagio. I have many photographs of the nearby clock tower as well as the roof tops of neighboring houses overlooking Lake Como. Although some visits have been as early as June the majority of times spent in Bellagio have been in September. As I write this it is about time for me to reserve one of our favorite rooms in this well regarded little gem of a hotel in my favorite country forever...Italy.

  • Liked — The ambience of a well maintained historic Italian lake village.
  • Disliked — There is nothing I did not like.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank FISHOW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco Bay Area
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2008

I stayed for six nights and the rate was by far more reasonable than other hotels in the area. I would recommend this hotel whether travelling solo or with someone. The staff is friendly and helpful but not in your face, they are accommodating and go out of their way to ensure you’re comfortable. There is a nice vine covered terrace where you’re welcome to bring your own food and dine alfresco. They do lock the front gate at midnight so make sure to ask for a key when checking in. I had a lovely single room with a small balcony overlooking some gardens and if I peeked around the corner, a nice view of the lake. It was accessible to everything – shops, restaurants, ferries, internet point, wine bars. It was also one of the most relaxing and restful places I stayed anywhere in Italy. The hotel is located at the top of the hill and there are a lot of stairs on the property so if that’s an issue, this is not the place for you. If you like wine, check out http://www.cavaturacciolo.it/home.jsp and say hi to Norberto and Maria.

  • Liked — Quiet, location, staff
  • Disliked — steps
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sfgirl48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2008

What a wonderful little hotel - with a fantastic price tag considering the location. We stayed in room 18 (had been recently renovated) and the room had its' own patio with a view (albiet very slight) of the lake.

The owner was quite pleasant - he and his sister run the establishment - and actually took a check as a deposit (they give away the room if you aren't there by 4 or 5 and we knew we wouldn't be so wanted to make sure he held the room).

Breakfast is available for a fee each morning under the grape vines on the patio.

It is right in the middle of Bellagio so you can walk down to the lake and to shops and restaurants quite easily. There are many steps to climb, so if you have difficulty walking, this is not the place for you.

Another tip - to drive through the town to get to the hotel, you must pass through a gated entrance. Make sure you get the code from the owner before you get there. We had to wait until another car went through so we could pass. The street looks more like a walkway than a road (at least if you are used to American roads) but don't fear, cars really are allowed.

  • Liked — Location for the money
  • Disliked — Alot of stairs
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank brunelloafcionado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2007

Very clean, friendly and caring owners, inexpensive, quiet, feels like home, few minutes from sea front (many steps to climb though but this is how Bellagio is built)

  • Liked — cleanness
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Myrsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bellagio hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Bellagio
#6 of 16 in Bellagio
741 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
#2 of 16 in Bellagio
882 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Fioroni
Hotel Fioroni
#10 of 16 in Bellagio
250 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Excelsior Splendide
Hotel Excelsior Splendide
#11 of 16 in Bellagio
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Giardinetto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Giardinetto

Property: Albergo Giardinetto
Address: Via Roncati 12 | 22021, 22021 Bellagio, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellagio
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 16 Hotels in Bellagio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:1 star — Albergo Giardinetto 1*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Albergo Giardinetto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Giardinetto Bellagio, Italy - Lake Como

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing