We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good free Wifi”
Review of Haus Bethusy

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Haus Bethusy
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Our family group of five is just completing an enjoyable five night stay in two apartments at the Haus Bethusy. Both our studio apartment and our two bedroom apartment were as advertised -- basic but clean. I was impressed by the unexpected attention to the little details that make traveling easier: reading lamps by the beds, a small plastic tub for washing out clothes in the bathroom, lots of hooks for hanging up towels, and a kitchen well equipped for basic tasks such as washing fruit, serving wine, and having cereal in the morning. The service we all most appreciated was the good free Wifi that could easily handle all of us online at the same time. True, in the two bedroom apartment it was much stronger in the bedroom than the living room, but a little family togetherness as we each did our thing on our own devices was a small price to pay for such fast, reliable service. For our kids, this was heaven!

Sonia was very helpful and I just want to mention two places she referred us to that we especially enjoyed. The first was the Bellagio Sporting Club, a great place to go for a swim. It had nice pool (though no diving board or slide), beautifully landscaped sunbathing area, good food, and friendly staff. We spent a whole afternoon there and enjoyed seeing many the many Italian families that came there as well. The great second place Sonia told us about was the Punta park and it's lovely La Punta restaurant, which is not to be missed.

I want to second the reviewers who have commented about the good location of these apartments. It truly is a two or three minute walk just up the street to many great restaurants, stores and markets. We found three markets, one general, one good for fruit, and one good for meat.

We made a day trip into Milan to tour the main sights and see the Last Supper. The trip was a bit complicated since it involved taking the ferry, the train, and the metro, and it basically took twelve hours from start to finish, but we all agreed that it was very worthwhile. We were very satisfied with our guide, Alice Salvagnin at info@toursofqmilan.com

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (97)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 97 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2013

We booked direct with them 6 months ago. They were supposed to contact us a couple of weeks before arrival, but did not. I had to send 3 emails before they responded days before our arrival and they confirmed our reservation. We had booked an upper floor room with a terrace. When we got there they took us to a room downstairs that was not very nice. This did not seem correct but I was not sure. After they left I checked my emails and confirmed that we did not book this room. No a/c, no wifi (we had to climb to the roof for access to wifi), no view.

I called them and they admitted that this was not the room we booked and said that the room we booked has had "no water" for 3 days. They offered us a discount for staying in the room. At this point it was too late to find another place so we stayed the night and then checked out the next morning, so one night instead of the 3 we originally booked.

When we checked out they demanded the original price with no discount eventhough this room was not nearly as nice as the one we originally booked.

Mistakes happen but don't lie about it. They were hoping we would not notice the difference in rooms I guess. No apology was ever given. How about an email telling us before we arrived about the "no water" situation. How about admitting up front when we got there that you can't give us the room we booked. How about providing a discount for your mistake instead of shoving us in a crappy room that I don't believe is even theirs.

I don't believe we should be supporting dishonest businesses. On the plus side we moved to Apartments Bellagio and it was great the building is right next door and worlds apart in quality. I will be writing a separate review about them.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
3  Thank Jamesfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Just spent three days in a very good apartment at Haus Bethusy

Great location two minutes walk to Bellagio shops, sights and restaurants and five minutes from the ferry point

Very warm welcome from Sonia and Carla who provided good local insights and friendly relevant advice

Well organised apartment with all facilities needed and more spacious than regular hotel, clean, convenient, quality, well recommended

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rogerfromsydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Haus Bethusy on the recommendation of a friend and it was absolutely wonderful. The apartment/building was clean and within walking distance of everything in town. Sophia was very friendly and accommodating and made us feel right at home. It was nice to have a stove and small refrigerator at our disposal. This was a great value and we will definitely stay here again on our next trip to Bellagio.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mario F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Nice bright apartments, not exactly spotlessly clean. A lot of dust under the bed. No view of the beautiful lakes despite what is said on the hotels blog. Not an accessible apartment. All apartments appear to be up 2 flights of stairs, a drag if you had kids or are carrying lots of baggage. Despite this if you are fit and healthy it is no distance from the lakeshore via a small incline. Tucked away from the main thoroughfare it was quiet. It is located next to Baba Yaga which does amazing takeaway pizzas. A bit annoying is that when you arrive you need to ring the owners phone number to come and let you in. I can imagine this is a tough wait in the height of the summer when there is no shade available. The owners are very friendly and gave us plenty of literature and maps on arrival. The studio apartment we were in has ensuite bathroom which is big in size and had a hairdryer. The kitchenette has a hob and fridge, sink, kettle and crockery. There is also a small microwave. The kitchen is well equipped. Only problem is the limited availability of groceries in Bellagio to make a meal in your apartment. The instructions with the apartment ask that you clean the kitchen and empty the bins before you leave, only problem was there was nowhere to put your rubbish. Overall the price is ok wouldn't say it's a bargain but all accomodation in Bellaggio is overpriced to be honest. Location is a winner though tucked away slightly.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Emsebubbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shoni90, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Haus Bethusy, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Hi, thank you for your review. I would like to respond to you about some things.
The dust under the bed came out during your stay because of the heating not because the apartment is not clean.
On the description of the apartment we wrote that SOME apartments have the lake view. I'm sorry if yours wasn't one of them.
We don't have the reception because we are not an hotel so the guests have to call us, and in summer no one wait more than 10minutes for the check-in.
On the instruction in the apartment we ask if you can wash glasses and dishes, not the kitchen, and the rubbish container is in the street 20metres from the building.
Anyway thank you for having stayed with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We had a lovely three days in Bellagio and stayed at Haus Bethusy. The apartment was very spacious, clean and centrally located. Everything you could possibly need for a self catering apartment and we had a lovely balcony with lake and mountain views. Sonia was very friendly and helpful. She offered to collect us from Milan Malpensa airport at a competitive price as we arrived too late for the bus or ferry from Como. She gave us loads of tips on good places to eat and visit and on one occasion even took us to buy train tickets outside of town at no extra cost. The church bells and Easter procession through the streets were an extra and unexpected bonus that added to our overall experience of our stay at Haus Bethusy and Bellagio. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank JenniS04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Lovely, bright clean apartments in a great location with wonderful friendly hosts. The apartments really offer very good value - Especially for us as we were given an free upgrade from the studio that we booked to the one bedroom apartment. It is a few minutes walk to the ferry and all the restaurants in the town, although it is on top a hill and there are stairs to navigate with heavy bags. Bellagio is a stunningly beautiful place and I could not think of a better place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stevo214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bellagio hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Du Lac
Hotel Du Lac
#4 of 16 in Bellagio
831 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
0 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Bellagio
#5 of 16 in Bellagio
784 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
#2 of 16 in Bellagio
954 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Fioroni
Hotel Fioroni
#10 of 16 in Bellagio
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haus Bethusy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haus Bethusy

Address: Via Eugenio Vitali 20, 22021 Bellagio, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellagio
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Bellagio
Price Range: $98 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Haus Bethusy 1*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in Bellagio’s centre, Haus Bethusy offers air-conditioned apartments just a few steps from the shores of Lake Como. The common terrace is equipped with sun loungers and parasols. All apartments at the Bethusy have a kitchenette with microwave and come with bed and bathroom linens. Some apartments have a balcony or a terrace, some with lake views.In less than 10 minutes on foot you can reach the Bellagio pier, where ferries leave for other destinations around the lake, such as Varenna and Menaggio. Free parking is available near the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Haus Bethusy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haus Bethusy Bellagio, Italy - Lake Como

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing