We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable accomodation with lovely staff”
Review of Haus Bethusy

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Haus Bethusy
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Affordable accomodation with lovely staff”
Reviewed November 14, 2011

Tucked away off the main drag, but quiet and with a great pizza place next door. Rooms were spacious, clean and functional. Staff were just lovely and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dbth2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    31
    9
    2
    6
See reviews for
23
58
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2011

Rented the 2 bed apartment. Lovely view to the lake through the trees. The apartment was great - really spacious and equipped with every you would need. We ate out all the time and would recommend taking the offer of the breakfast at Hotel Du Lac for E7.50 as its brilliant. Parking is free but in a public area 5 mins down the road (you can double park to unload though so its not a problem). There are a few flights of stairs to contend with but nothing major seeing as all of Bellagio is full of steps!! The sun terrace is up a flight of stairs but well worth it as the view is fantastic. This to us just added character to the building. The owners are great - nothing is too much trouble and the bottles of wine and water were a nice welcoming touch! You just call them when you arrive and they will let you in. We had a great 3 nights here and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fi91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanganui
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2011

We stayed for 4 nights & found Haus Bethusy to be good accomodation. The apartment was clean & tidy & well situated at the end of the main street. There are 6 apartments on the same floor - ours had a lake view & a very pleasant outlook. Traffic is minimal & the whole area is very quiet.
The senora & her daughters look after the place & were kind & helpful. Parking is available about 400 metres further down the blind road which leads to a small marina. Bellagio is an ideal place to see the Lake & has good ferry connections.
The signage could be improved - we walked through the town to find the apartment & there it was but didn't see any signs. There is no reception as such & we found the owners working on site but others arrived & had some difficulty in finding them.
We found the bed to be hard & had to put the duvet covers on top of the mattress - this fixed the problem.
We did enjoy our stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graeme M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coolum Beach
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2011

We booked ahead from Australia. Initial impressions were that the apartment was OK and reasonably convenient.
Then, we saw her rates on a billboard near front door which was near another sign for an apartment next door. Brand new, larger, better fixtures, fittings and king size beds, with own courtyard and free Wi-Fi. So we asked for a "revaluation" of our package and offered to pay better than her billboard, but less than quoted to us in Australia.
NO WAY! She wanted every euro cent.
So we paid her her fee, booked out and then booked in next door - for another week.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mhaseler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2011

Fantastic location in Bellagio close to lake, ferries, shops and restaurants. Comfortable and clean. Friendly, helpful staff. Two balconies with mountain views and view of lake from sunny shared terrace.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kittywake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2010

Do not stay here. If you do, you will be disappointed. This was the worst accommodation we had during our 4 weeks in northern Italy. The photos we saw from the booking agencies did not give a fair representation of apartment. This is not a hotel. We had to phone to gain access, the rooms were spartan and unappealing, the gas cooktop was splattered with grease, mould in the bathroom, the threadbare linen reeked of stale tobacco smoke and access to the grotty terrace was dangerous. We left after one night and spent the rest of our time in Bellagio in a well appointed, beautiful 2 bedroom apartment with a large terrace and closer to all amenities for a cheaper price!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
6 Thank TravelledHeaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2007

When we arrived at the Ferry in Bellagio, we were told to call Giovanni for pickup. To our surprise, he was in another town and told us to call his wife . She did not answer the phone. Giovanni was annoyed when we called him back. He told us to walk since it wasn't far. What he should have done is suggest we take a taxi .Unfortunately, with a suitcase and backpack and the August heat, the walk up the hill was very strenuous. His directions were not clear and we had difficulty finding the place. When we arrived, no one was there to let us in. Finally Clara appeared and let us and another waiting couple in. We had to climb up 2 flights of stairs in order to get in the building, then we were greeted with even more steps.The room was ok but there was not even a bar of soap or shampoo. As it turns out, my wife had to take an ambulance to the hospital the next day because of heat exhaustion which we feel was brought on by the arduous walk the day before. When I checked out, I explained to them that I had to leave in order to be closer to my wife in the hospital in Lecco. Giovanni said while he was sorry for my wife's medical problems, he insisted that I pay for 3 nights. When I protested, Giovanni's response was to put up his fists in order to fight and started shouting. Unless you like not being picked up, having to walk uphill with all of your bags, and then climbing many flights of steps ,and having to deal with an unreasonable man if any issue arises, then this place is not for you. We suggest you avoid it like the plague.

  • Liked — a partial view of the lake
  • Disliked — the lack of common courtesy and decency
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank dianefino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bellagio hotels
0.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Bellagio
#6 of 16 in Bellagio
742 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Du Lac
Hotel Du Lac
#5 of 16 in Bellagio
780 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Excelsior Splendide
Hotel Excelsior Splendide
#11 of 16 in Bellagio
516 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Centrale
Hotel Centrale
#8 of 16 in Bellagio
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haus Bethusy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haus Bethusy

Property: Haus Bethusy
Address: Via Eugenio Vitali 20, 22021 Bellagio, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellagio
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Bellagio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:1 star — Haus Bethusy 1*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in Bellagio’s centre, Haus Bethusy offers air-conditioned apartments just a few steps from the shores of Lake Como. The common terrace is equipped with sun loungers and parasols. All apartments at the Bethusy have a kitchenette with microwave and come with bed and bathroom linens. Some apartments have a balcony or a terrace, some with lake views.In less than 10 minutes on foot you can reach the Bellagio pier, where ferries leave for other destinations around the lake, such as Varenna and Menaggio. Free parking is available near the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Haus Bethusy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haus Bethusy Bellagio, Italy - Lake Como

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing