We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best rooms we have ever experienced”
Review of Hotel Bellagio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Bellagio
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Bellagio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 18, 2014

The view in our room is hard to beat. It is the best room of the hotel, corner room on the top floor, room 404. You pay a little more but it is worth to splurge once in awhile. I regretted why I only booked for 3 nights, I could have added one more day. Jane who met us at the reception is a very nice lady and gave us tips on what to check out in Bellagio in the days we were there.

The thing that we could have wished they could improve is the food they can offer breakfast. There was no egg or bacon at all. Just jams and one type of cold ham. On our third day, we saw some people ordering capuccino instead of just getting brewed coffee.

The room to the key is a card which you put in a little box to turn on the electricity of the room. This is quite common and the disadvantage to this is that you could not re-charge your gadgets if you go out for dinner. Anyway, it was not such a big deal. It is just that I always ran out of battery on my camera and my tablet because of too much pictures taken during the day. Bellagio and its surrounding areas is just so beautiful.

The elevator is not reliable esp. if you go from the first floor (eating area) to your room on the 4th floor. During our stay, the elevator never came on the first floor. The ground level is 0 (reception area).

The other travellers have mentioned the steps leading to the hotel from the street level. It is quite some steps so it is wise not to fill up your suitcase that you cannot carry it. We never bothered the hotel about this issue. For the view we got, it was worth carrying our suitcases.

The hotel offers a 10% discount if you eat dinner at the restaurant of Hotel du Lac which is located along the main street of Bellagio right infront of the pier. Great food there so it is worthwhile to eat dinner there.

The bed is good to sleep on. The temperature of the aircon is controlled by the receptionist. So you can just ask them to adjust it for you if you want it colder or warmer. Dial 9 if you don't like to go down. Wifi works well.

There are 2 ways to come to Bellagio. Either via Como where you could take either a slow or a fast ferry. The slow one took almost 2 hours but it was enjoyable. In going home, we took a shorter route back to Milan. We took the train from Varenna, a place across Bellagio. From there, we took the train to Milan which took only an hour and 3 min. Buy the ticket from the conductor on the train. The Varenna Esino train station is closed therefore you could not buy tickets from a machine but the train stops there, that is for sure.

There is a lavandera (self-laundry). Cheap and good to have a service like this esp. if one has been travelling Italy for many days. Next time, I will even bring fewer clothes and wash the clothes during the trip. There are many train stations where you really have to carry your suitcases as there is no escalator or elevator, just stairs and it's not a piece of cake to carry suitcases. So reserve your shopping on the last city you will visit in Italy before your flight going home.

For 2 nights, we could hear there is music coming from an establishment. But at 12 midnight, the music stops. It is not irritating however as they sang old songs and not the modern disco music these days. It sounds like karaoke but maybe not, it's just the singers singing sounds like they are in a karaoke bar.

Highly recommend this hotel and we wish to go back and get the same room!

Room Tip: Top floor on the corner has a fantastic view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Travellingisagift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (784)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

307 - 313 of 784 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2014

This is a lovely family run hotel located by the ferry dock in Bellagio. You have to climb up a step hill to enter the hotel but it is worth it. It is important to have a room with a view of the lake because it is really special. There is no restaurant but their sister hotel is nearby and has an excellent restaurant. There is buffet breakfast in the hotel which is just fine. There is a nearby spa which is associated with the hotel as well. The hotel is quite well maintain. Our stay was just perfect.
Added bonus walk up the hill by the hotel turn right and then left and there is a laundry mat.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with a view if the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Estell S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2014

This hotel was the perfect choice for our stay in Bellagio. You do have to go up several small steps to reach the hotel (and carrying heavy luggage is not an easy feat- but there is usually someone at the front desk who will get it from the street and carry up it up for you). The lake view rooms have gorgeous views of Lake Como and are well worth the price. The breakfast is simple but enough to get you started in the morning. The staff could not be more friendly and helpful. Bellagio is definitely the town to stay in while visiting Lake Como and Hotel Bellagio is a wonderful boutique hotel. Will definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: Get a lake view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank CMG_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2014

Breaking news…………..Hotel Bellagio brings Mr Creosote out of retirement!!

Perfectly situated in the heart of beautiful Bellagio, on an archetypal, cobbled Italian street with breath taking views over Lake Como. During this my latest stay, it was just as it has always been, maybe even better!! This small family run hotel never disappoints.

I do not think that I can come up with anymore superlatives than those that are already exhibited in the positive reviews of this hotel, the town, the lake or indeed Northern Italy!

Breakfast is the only meal served at The Bellagio and it is excellent. Make sure it is Suri that prepares your morning cappuccino, perfecto!
Their sister hotel, The Du Lac which is within 100 metres, will take care of any other meals that you may require, snacks, lunch and dinner are all very well catered for!! Killer G and T's too!!!

Simply, the Leoni family, Dani and the gorgeous Janey and their staff are fantastic, they are a credit to their profession and Italian tourism. Nothing is too much trouble for any of them.

Terrific, you will love it!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mr C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2014

Very good hotel ideally located just on the back of the main road. good breakfast in the terrace. The ideal place in bellagio. Ask for the room,in the upper floors for the view on the lake and enjoy italian food in all the restaurants.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Del L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2014

A family run hotel that was absolutely flawless, I enjoyed my stay so much and can't wait to take my family back with me next time. Impeccably run, spotlessly clean, the staff were all so friendly and helpful. The location was perfect, close to the ferry but also tucked away down a little cobbled lane way. I booked late for the peak season so I stayed in a few different rooms and they were all just lovely. The health club is terrific too, the restaurant terrace was gorgeous with delicious local food, not touristy at all. It's a great place to go when you want to feel like more of a local instead of a tourist: perfect for a rest in the heat of the afternoon when everything is closed anyway or to while away an evening with a cocktail next to the pool. Breakfast was delicious, the coffee was so good and those cornettos with apricot jam! Bellagio itself is in such a lovely area that feels so safe, so as a single traveller I could just relax and not worry at all. The hotel gave me great advice for sightseeing and even organised a paddle-boarding trip on Lake Como. Wonderful!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Na0mi31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights at Hotel Bellagio.
The hotel is centrally located with nice service and very clean. Very good for a two star hotel. It was very reasonable in price as well.
In general there are way too many tourists in Bellagio which is understandable as the town is beautyful, but that was the only downside to the experience.
But can definately recommend the hotel.
Tip: eat breakfast somewhere else! Italian hotels in general doesn't have very good breakfast and this is also the case at this hotel.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Camilla2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bellagio
0 mi away
Hotel Du Lac
Hotel Du Lac
#4 of 16 in Bellagio
831 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
1.4 mi away
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
#2 of 16 in Bellagio
954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
1.9 mi away
Hotel La Darsena
Hotel La Darsena
#2 of 8 in Tremezzina
830 reviews
1.9 mi away
Royal Victoria
Royal Victoria
#1 of 6 in Varenna
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bellagio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bellagio

Address: Salita Leone Carlo Grandi 6, 22021 Bellagio, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellagio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bellagio
#6 Family Hotel in Bellagio
Price Range: $95 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Bellagio 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Bellagio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bellagio Italy - Lake Como

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing