We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but not great”
Review of Hotel Bellagio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Bellagio
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Bellagio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 11, 2013

The bones of this place - the location, the view, the high ceilings, the terrace, are remarkable. The room was ok, although the bathroom could use a remodel.

The customer service, however, came up short. There was not a single English language channel on TV - not even BBC or CNN. And no TV guide either, so you actually had to flip through some 120 channels to figure out there wasn't anything to watch. No functional internet service for the 3 days we were there. No "do not disturb" sign to put on a door to prevent personnel from cleaning it. Small things, like arriving after a long journey (and after the hotel-set check-in time), checking in, hauling our suitcases to our room - just to find out that it is being cleaned and being told to leave our suitcases and go for a walk.

But the biggest problem I had was with the manager who persistently denied any knowledge of any deficiencies I wanted to bring to her attention, and instead of investigating further, claiming that this never happened before and that it must be a misunderstanding.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kusatzu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (784)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

386 - 392 of 784 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2013

Tucked just of the water the hotel rises above the other buildings to provide an unforgettable view; The rooms are light an airy and comfortable which all help this hotel to feel extremely relaxed and welcome.

The staff were great and the only complaint is that they only had two irons for the entire hotel - not good when you have two sets of wedding guests staying at the same time!

We will definitely be back and I would happily recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: 4th floor, lake facing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Duke_Ali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Our second trip to Hotel Bellagio and having stayed in a 1st floor back bedroom last time we plumped for a top floor room this time around and it was so worth the extra money, large panoramic window with electric black out blind and electric windows providing a beautiful vista across the middle lake. The location for us is perfect, a short stroll down the steps to the main promenade or a short climb up cobbled steps to the shops. The staff here are very friendly and cannot do enough to help, the rooms are clean and the shower is very good, the bed is adequate for my 6ft 5in frame and comfortable. Tea and coffee would be an excellent addition but you can't have everything. Breakfast on the terrace is a fantastic way to start the day, we will be back!!
Some people say Bellagio is expensive and, granted, the hotels aren't cheap but the food and drink isn't too expensive at all, the shopping is another matter though.....

Room Tip: If you can afford the extra, go for one of the front facing rooms on the 4th floor, fantastic views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

we booked a room with part view and was the last one as Bellagio gets very booked in the summer. I emailed and asked if we could have an upgrade if a lake view became available as it was my 50th birthday and to my surprise when we got there we had the best room in the hotel. the views were the most fantastic view I've ever seen and well worth the extra cost but be prepared its very expensive every where. staff were very friendly and helpful. it was clean and had a lovely terrace for breakfast. we went on the ferry to see the middle part of the lake and it was great value, hop on and off. we realised Bellagio was the best place to stay and felt very pleased to come home to it. visit Villa Carlotta the gardens are wonderful. We also took a trip north to Gravedona for family reasons and it turned out to be one of the best views of the mountains and a great journey on the ferry. There are some great walks around and you get to chat with the locals. Bellagio's expensive to eat but the hotel recommended a few that we tried and were very good. The bus back to como was a bit scary and anyone who gets travel sick don't do it but its really cheap and drops you off at St Giovanni station which otherwise is a long walk up a hill, not good if you've got cases. Overall one of the best holidays I've had.

Room Tip: always ask for a room with a view, its what makes this holiday
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank patricia c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Bellagio is all about the vista - and Hotel Bellagio is in one of the best positions from which to view it. Okay the room is important but as soon as I walked into our room which was on the fourth floor, I was gobsmacked by what was before me. Forget the room, look at that Lake Como and those tall, tall mountains. Our bed faced the window. When you pushed a button the window opened up and the nearby ferry's whistle was blowing - all the stars aligned and I was in heaven.

The room was comfortable, clean and in good working order and reasonable storage space. The breakfast was full and replenished regularly. There's a lift to your room - so I was happy because there are about 39 steps up the narrow lane to the hotel but believe me, it is well worthwhile.

This is not a five star establishment and yet it felt very special for us. I'd go back next June if I could. Don't forget to visit the many beautiful gardens and villas around Lake Como.

Room Tip: Book early and request either 3rd or preferably 4th floor with a view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OKAussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

What a delightful hotel & destination! We were shown to room 303 & were very pleased with the room & especially the view. The room was fresh, clean, modern, bright & airy, & was an adequate size, with the bathroom also modern & attractive, but above all, clean.
The glass doors in the room led on to a small balcony, overlooking rooftops below, but opening to a stunning vista of the lake & mountains. The beautiful flowers in boxes on the balcony rails gave an added touch.
The staff were fabulous, especially Diego, who was particularly helpful, as was the night concierge, who was particularly helpful with local knowledge of which ferries & trains to catch.
The hotel had a serene, pleasant & welcoming feel to it.
The breakfast was most enjoyable, & was included in the room cost. It was served in a large breakfast room, & there was a large patio area as well.
Free internet was also available.
The hotel was located behind & partway up the stairs beside the Swiss Hotel. The height added to the view.
There was a lift in the hotel, which was somewhat larger than other hotels we stayed at in Italy.
I would definitely stay here again, & in fact cannot wait to do so!

Room Tip: If you want more of a view, as is obvious, choose one on a higher floor. It will cost more, but we f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank minxSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Hotel Bellagio is in a fantastic location in the centre of town, but also nestled in one of many steep side streets of the main street. After the initial challenge of carrying your bags up 40 steps to the Hotel, the rest of the stay is a joy. Beautifully sized room, which was able to cater for a third bed, with a view of the Lake. The only slight negative is no facility for tea or coffee.

The breakfast was basic but nice, with beautiful croissants, breads and fruits. Located on a beautiful terrace, it was a perfect start to the day.

This was a great introduction to Italy for the family.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaurenceBGiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bellagio
0 mi away
Hotel Du Lac
Hotel Du Lac
#4 of 16 in Bellagio
831 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
1.4 mi away
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
#2 of 16 in Bellagio
954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
1.9 mi away
Hotel La Darsena
Hotel La Darsena
#2 of 8 in Tremezzina
830 reviews
1.9 mi away
Royal Victoria
Royal Victoria
#1 of 6 in Varenna
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bellagio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bellagio

Address: Salita Leone Carlo Grandi 6, 22021 Bellagio, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellagio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bellagio
#6 Family Hotel in Bellagio
Price Range: $95 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Bellagio 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Bellagio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bellagio Italy - Lake Como

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing