We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved everything about Bellagio”
Review of Hotel Bellagio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Bellagio
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Bellagio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Wonderful boutique hotel in a very romantic city. Hotel was perfectly located in the center of the city, staff was friendly and helpful, room was clean and well equipped. We stayed two nights and had a lake view room. We didn't experience the noise listed in other reviews, but the lack of room darkening shades made sleeping past sunrise impossible, which would be our only complaint.

Room Tip: Pay for the lake view, because it is wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuburbanHousewife87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (783)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

403 - 409 of 783 reviews

Reviewed May 15, 2013

We stayed five nights at the Hotel Bellagio, located in the middle of the city. There are many steps up to the main entrance, so it is not for the disabled. This hotel belongs to Luca, who also owns the Hotel du Lac, located on the promenade. Hotel Bellagio has only a breakfast room, but Hotel du Lac has an excellent restaurant and a café. Breakfast at Hotel Bellagio is basic, but what there is, is of excellent quality. I missed, however, cheese and salami, now that I was in Italy, which is famous for both. But the terrace of the restaurant is beautiful. The room was not large but very clean and modern - and the bathroom was lovely. However, the shower cubicle was very small. The staff speak excellent English - I think the owner's wife is English, she sounded like that - and are very helpful, smiling and friendly. I would certainly have no hesitation in coming back.

Room Tip: We had "a room with a view" - most of them have. But it would have been nice with a room w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mettegrith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights on the second floor facing the lake - best part of the experience was the great view. The room was fine although low 3 star level.

One frustration was it was not possible to have mechanical ventilation operating - which was only a problem at night - owing to significant noise from people in bars, etc. and in the early morning the trucks picking up garbage. The slight compensation offered was a portable fan.

The front desk service was frustrating at times - often indifferent and not always genuine - except for the stay working the breakfast room who were very nice.
There are no staff available from 10pm to 8am.

The wifi service expired in the evening of our second night - we got a new code the following morning.

The location in Bellagio is good.

The breakfast room is like a cafeteria. There is minimal selection. They do have have very good expresso / cappuccino machine and use it well.

When we return to Lake Como someday, which I hope we do, I would look elsewhere for accommodation.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ray519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

The hotel is located a 2 minute walk from the ferry, right in the center of this small town. The breakfast consists of some warm croissants, breads, cereals, yogurt, fruit, and great coffee/cappuccinos. A lake room view was not available during my first stay but my room was still fine - quaint and peaceful with great light. However, for my next stay I was in a lake view room and it was incredible. Pay a little extra - it's worth it! There's no pool, spa or restaurant, but the hotel is very clean and charming and the staff is friendly and accommodating. They offer a discount at the restaurant at their sister hotel (Du Lac) which is in front of the ferry station and has some pretty great food.

Room Tip: Choose lake view, 2nd floor or above
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wendy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Great hotel, staff, amenities in the picturesque village of Bellagio. We upgraded from a garden view room at $100e to lakeview at $120. It was our anniversary and the front desk person, Danielo, placed a bottle of champagne (Italian no less) in our room the first night! The cappacinos in the morning, the breakfast was wonderful! Great, family hosts!

Why this hotel is only rated 2-stars is beyond us...we felt it deserved at least 3, maybe 4. The steps up to the entrance (35 or so) are not a big deal, and it is situated close to the boat pier, and everything!

Room Tip: The lake view rooms are worth the extra...in our case, 20e, but might be 30e in high season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Al J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We went here based on reviews and other then the 35 steps to get from the street to the hotel lobby, this place held up to the reviews. The family owned hotel was well run and they were extremely helpful. Our room on the 4th floor had an amazing view. The cappuccino we had for breakfast was the best in town! Getting here was tricky- train to Lake Como is an hour bus ride from Bellagio. You can take a train to Vernazza but you need to arrive when ferry is runny so you can get across the lake. Don't book a train back until after ferry and bus can get you back to station. We had to hire a car to get us to Lake Como for an early morning train.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DOGtales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

The first thing that strikes you about the rooms in Hotel Bellagio is the magnificent view over lake Como. Lake view is a must! We stayed here for 3 nights which we thought was about the right period to see everything during the off season on a Grand Tour of Italy.
Access to the hotel is via cobblestone stairs from parking at bottom so dont book here if you have a lot of luggage. Initial reception by the man on door was cold and snotty but later found out all other staff were very friendly and helpful especially Jane who went out of her way to help.
Rooms were clean and look recently renovated and of a standard double room size. Bathroom was clean but small with a small corner shower which we seem to strike a lot on this tour. What really makes the room is the double doors that open up on the magnificent view

Room Tip: Must have view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank graham m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bellagio
0.0 mi away
Hotel Du Lac
Hotel Du Lac
#4 of 16 in Bellagio
829 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
1.4 mi away
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
#2 of 16 in Bellagio
953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
1.9 mi away
Hotel La Darsena
Hotel La Darsena
#2 of 8 in Tremezzina
828 reviews
1.9 mi away
Royal Victoria
Royal Victoria
#2 of 6 in Varenna
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bellagio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bellagio

Address: Salita Leone Carlo Grandi 6, 22021 Bellagio, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellagio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bellagio
#6 Family Hotel in Bellagio
Price Range: $94 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Bellagio 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Bellagio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bellagio Italy - Lake Como

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing