We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great intro to Italy” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Bellagio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Bellagio
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Bellagio
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great intro to Italy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2011

We stayed in Bellagio just before New Years 2010. We headed there from Switzerland. What a fantastic introduction to Italy. Bellagio was quiet when we arrined, being the middle of winter and all. The hotel was very easy to locate as we had used Google maps and this website etc. It is just a short walk up some stairs to reception.

The man behind the desk was very welcoming and spoke excellent English. We booked a lake view room which we would recommend to anyone because, lets face it you go to Bellagio to see the lake. The room itself had electric blinds and a massive window that was also automated. Cleanliness was of a high standard and the ensuite was not huge by Australian standards but it was reasonable for Italy.

Breakfast was probably the best of all the places we stayed in Italy, with coffee that actually had milk in it, not just an espresso!

We left early the following morning so when paying our bill the night before we asked what time the kitchen opened and we were told at 0700, which suited our worked for us as we were catching the ferry to Como. However when we went down to the kitchen before we left we found that it was not open. Do not let that one fact turn you off this hotel as it was by far the best one we stayed in in Italy!!

Room Tip: Book a room above the 4th floor for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tmb85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

684 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    370
    245
    43
    16
    10
See reviews for
74
445
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Duluth
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2011

I'm never sure when I book if the hotel will be a good fit, but I sure was lucky on this one. Loved the charming location, a bit off the main street but in the heart of everything. 5 min walk max to ferry. My guess is most rooms have views of Lake Como. Rooms are spacious and very cheerful and bright. Breakfast was outstanding, cereals, fruit, yogurt, pastry, rolls, etc. Everything was very clean and well attended by an efficient staff. Front desk (Graziano, Suri) were outstanding...helpful, knowledgeable. The day we expected to leave there was a train strike and Graziano helped us figure out how to travel. Earlier in the week he helped us figure out how to get trains so we could day-trip to Bernini Pass in Switzerland. Staff even packed us a breakfast. We planned four days at Hotel Bellagio and joyfully extended to six.
My only minus on the hotel was the hard mattress for my pleasure, but that could just be me.

Room Tip: The higher the floor the more beautiful the view..
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank abby47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edina, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2011

Bellagio (and all the surrounding towns) indeed lives up the hype, and the Hotel Bellagio is a great way to enjoy it at a very reasonable price. Yes, you have to climb 38 famous shallow stone steps to get to the door, but it is literally across the street from the ferry. The staff is pleasant, English speaking and knowledgeable.

The room we had, while small, was more than pleasant,with a window and balcony overlooking the lake. The bed itself was wonderfully comfortable, literally as comfortable as any hotel bedroom I have ever slept on. The bathroom is small, without a tub if that is a deal breaker for any, but was clean and featured an excellent adjustable shower.

Breakfast was included, featuring croissants, a variety of cereal, juices, fruit, cheeses, etc. Great way to fortify for the day!

Finally, while we did not partake, the hotel has a sports facility with tennis, pool and beaches 10 minutes away (also a restaurant).

The desk is unattended at night if that is a concern, but the door is locked and accessed by your keycard. Absolutely no reason not to consider this spot if you are on Lake Como.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the lake are priceless.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elmer37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2011

Clean, cozy room with and incredible view. We loved it so much that we extended our room from two nights to three once we got there. We sat on our balcony every morning and enjoyed the peacefulness and beautiful view. The room is basic...we had a "king" bed (2 twin beds pushed together), there was a small tv, a desk and a closet. My only complaint was the quality of the pillows, they were hard. Everything else was fantastic. We were treated very well by everyone who worked there. The complimentary breakfast was nice and included fresh fruit, yogurts, breads, croissants, coffee & tea. The hotel is very near the ferry and bus stops. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: It is absolutely worth the upgrade to a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caytie221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2011

I was blessed to stay at the Hotel Bellagio this last October. Lake Como is Heaven on Earth and this hotel was the center of heaven. The room with the lake view was fantastic. The room was wonderful.
I can't say enough of this wonderful staff - so much fun and helpful. The breakfast was delicious and filling.
I loved this hotel so much that I want to open a school in Bellagio!!!!
Thank you Jane

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CATraveler055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2011

This hotel was very nice. The location and view can't be beat. The room was average. Small, clean, with minimal furniture. The double bed was two twins pushed together. Since I was with a friend it didn't matter but if you like to snuggle, its not gona happen. Plus the bed was not comfortable but it didn't bother me b/c I have come to expect this when traveling abroad and staying in hotels and we were only there for one night. We thought we had a room with a balcony but it was just a large window that opened with a view of the water and the ferry dock. Quite nice but again I wouldn't want to stay more than a couple of nights.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DevonSaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2011

My partner and I spent a few nights at the hotel over new years 2010/2011. I travel regularly for work and pleasure, so I am comparing the comfort of this hotel to others I would expect in a similar class for pleasure travel around €100 a night.

First, the good things about the hotel:

- Location: We didn't have a room with a view, so can't comment about that, but it's right in the heart of the old city, and very charming.

- Price: Not bad compared to all the other options in Bellagio

- Staff: They were very kind and helpful, even as my partner was dealing with a nasty stomach bug.

- Shower: Good water pressure, hot water. It amazes me how uncommon this can be.

Now the downsides we saw:

Bed: The mattresses were harder than a futon. Uncomfortably hard. The pillows were thin and rock-hard. Bad night sleeps every night. Also, we had a "double" room, which amounted to two twin beds shoved together, and don't think of going near the middle, the beds slide apart. In the end I tied them together with the curtain ropes so we could have one bed.

Noise: Although the window was fantastic in keeping out noise from the street, it didn't matter, because we could hear every guest using the stairs, every time the lift was used, and the housecleaners sounded like kids wrestling in the next door room. The walls are thin, and lots of noise comes in under the door.

Decor: The hotel styles itself as "boutique". There's nothing boutique about this place. It's a standard two star hotel. The room furniture was cheap and didn't match. There was no style to the interior of the rooms or the hotel.

Breakfast: Nothing fancy here. Bread, cereal, yogurt. At least other hotels had nice cappuccinos, this one had poor ones.

Misc other minor items:

- The temperature controls in the room were marked as off limits to guests changing them. Problem was the temp kept resetting to an uncomfortably hot level. We had to turn it down every hour or two.

- The hotel internet is through some signup page, and the subscription process is annoying. For advanced internet users, note that almost all protocols are blocked except web and email download. Forget about sending email via SMTP, no skype, no access to your BBC proxy to watch something good when you're stuck in bed ill.

- No near parking. Park illegally, drop off your luggage, and then go wandering to find a spot on the other side of town.

Hope this helps others in their choice. I selected this place because of good reviews from tripadvisor, and was disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank petr0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bellagio
0.3 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
0.0 mi away
Hotel Du Lac
Hotel Du Lac
#5 of 16 in Bellagio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Metropole Bellagio
Hotel Metropole Bellagio
#4 of 16 in Bellagio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
1.4 mi away
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
#2 of 16 in Bellagio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel La Perla
Hotel La Perla
#1 of 8 in Tremezzina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bellagio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bellagio

Property: Hotel Bellagio
Address: Salita Leone Carlo Grandi 6, 22021 Bellagio, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellagio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bellagio
#6 Family Hotel in Bellagio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Bellagio 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and ACCOR so you can book your Hotel Bellagio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bellagio Italy - Lake Como

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing