We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel and Wonderful View”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Bellagio
Certificate of Excellence
Basel, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Excellent Hotel and Wonderful View”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed for 1 night in October 3013, while visiting the area, and stayed in one of the annex rooms - the view was tremendous! The room was clean and tidy, and having a new born baby with us the staff did everything they could to help us out. For example, we left a blanket for the baby by accident in the room after we left, and they forwarded it on to us no questions asked. Excellent food also. A few kilometers outside of Bellagio itself, but with a car thats no trouble, and there are also shuttles.

Overall excellent!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

884 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    538
    265
    48
    23
    10
See reviews for
129
538
28
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

Although, this is not a "luxury" hotel like many in Bellagio... I would stay here again . Do not let the 2 star rating foul you. It is clean, cozy and if the view could contribute to the rating it would be the highest! Arguably, the best view in Bellagio and possibly all Lake Como. Charming hotel with very friendly staff and good breakfast. The short distance from Bellagio is not a problem and the view on top the mountain is worth the 3 min drive or cheap taxi into the city center ( the hotel also has free shuttles). Great value- only compliant are the thin walls. We stayed in the "junior suite lake view" worth the extra $ for the wall to wall view and private balcony, although the hotel has a large patio for all guest with the same view.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank NikkiTxSwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

This hotel has a great view. If you have a car when in Bellagio, and place a premium on quiet affordability, this is a good choice for you. But if you're expecting any of the modern conveniences of most hotels...go elsewhere.

Most of the other reviews say it all, but I'll just reiterate what stands out from our stay:
--PHENOMENAL view. Really just amazing. It is situated up in the hills of Bellagio, and just really beautiful.

--The flip side of the view. however, is the lack of convenience. We say a map in Bellagio center of all the different hotels, and this one is the only hotel up in the mountains. That is great, but that is also very inconvenient if you dont have a car.

--Shuttle. They run a shuttle -- but when we just stayed in October -- it was three times a day from the hotel, and three trips back up from downtown Bellagio. It ends at 7 pm -- after that, you're on your own.
And they charge for the shuttle??? Really? It just strikes me as really cheap to charge your hotel guests 1 euro/per person for transportation. You can request it different times of the day -- but then it's 2 euros! Just kind of dumb.
Lastly, they do apparently have deals with restaurants in Bellagio center, where if you have dinner there -- they'll give you a free ride up to the hotel after your meal. Unfortunately, that was not communicated to us prior to our stay.

--Communication. In short, it was poor during our stay. The woman at the front desk spoke mediocre English.


TIPS:
--This hotel is not walkable from the Bellagio center. You can either drive up to there, or take a 10 euro taxi ride

--If you are traveling to Como by train to Perlo Panorama, go into Varenna and take the ferry over. On the day you are leaving, if you want to explore the towns around Como, leave your luggage at the information/ticket booth in Varenna (right off the ferry stop). They are open late, and then you can just go right to the train in Varenna.

--CALL (do not email) the hotel, before your arrival, with any requests you have. They did not respond to my email.

--Get a room with a lake view. It's worth it.

--Shower, in our regular room, was very small. Be prepared.

--Eat elsewhere. Food was fine, and okay in a pinch, but there are plenty better meals to be had in Bellagio or elsewhere.

--Internet was bad. We had to sit in the hallway outside our room to get it. Be prepared.

--Go earlier for breakfast. In the last hour, they ran out of food, and the one staffer they had working had trouble clearing the tables.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RedSox20042007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liege, Belgium
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Excellent location, very close to Bellagio centre (with shuttle as necessary). Very friendly staff always trying to help the customers even at late hours in the evening. Wonderful value for money in this gorgeous area on Lake Como.

Room Tip: I recommend the rooms with view on the Lake Como.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank MarianneN_1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed October 13, 2013

I was in Italy on business and added five days to the start of my trip to ride the climbs and route of the Giro di Lombardia and also take in the professional race. Thanks to Carlo, my experience was amazing. I stayed in both the hotel and in an apartment below Carlo's house. Both were perfect for my relatively basic needs. This is a two star hotel, but the location, the view and Carlo's hospitality elevated my experience above that.

Carlo also arranged a cycling tour for three days through comolagobike.com and we had ex-pro riders guide us over all of the climbs of Il Lombardia past and present. The tour also included viewing the pro race from various points along the route (including the final switchback on the Muro di Sormano) and Fabio, one of the ex-pro cyclists, managed to get us VIP passes to watch the finish from the 25m to go line! This wasn't promised as part of the tour, but a very nice surprise. Magic. Good carbon fibre bikes are available for rent at the hotel, just bring you pedals and shoes (and saddle) if you're a serious cyclist. If you bring your own bike, a gear of 34/30 is not too low for the Muro.

The breakfast is great for cyclists, i.e., lots of good food. I didn't try the evening meal. There are two good restaurants about 1 km down the hill (La Torretta pizzeria and Bella Vista ristorante). Turn right at the church and walk through a charming little neighbourhood to get to both restaurants. There is also a small bar en route where locals gather to energetically watch football. The bar also has decent food.

The only downside of this hotel is also its draws for cycling fans: it's located on the lower reaches of the climb to the Madonna del Ghisallo. Unfortunately, it sits right at the top of a 300 m section with the steepest grade (14%). Save a little in your legs at the end of your ride for the final climb to this paradise overlooking Bellagio. A beer on the veranda provides excellent post-ride recovery.

Room Tip: North-facing rooms on the first floor (one level up from the lobby) share a large balcony with table...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GPS604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugeley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We were on a trip with a classic car so parking was essential. Virtually impossible or extremely difficult in the town centre. Although out of town the views were stunning and we had a superbly located bedroom. The staff were so welcoming and spoke perfect English. Evening meal was perhaps a bit basic but welcome and we really couldn't have found anywhere better. We had no problems with the wi-fi.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank martin w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mcap56
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

You won't believe the view unless you see it. The hotel is up in the hills above Bellagio. The view is incredible. Our room was basic but very large and very comfortable. The staff was very accommodating. The one downside to staying up here is that you have to rely on taxis, the hotel shuttle or your own car to get places. But it's probably worth the trade off. Breakfast was excellent as well. We usually explored during the day but I would recommend a full day of just enjoying the view if you can spare it.

Room Tip: Choose the room around back under the patio. It's very quiet and has a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcap56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bellagio
1.1 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
1.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
1.4 mi away
Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Bellagio
#6 of 16 in Bellagio
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Du Lac
Hotel Du Lac
#5 of 16 in Bellagio
778 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel La Perla
Hotel La Perla
#1 of 8 in Tremezzina
828 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel La Darsena
Hotel La Darsena
#2 of 8 in Tremezzina
801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Il Perlo Panorama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Il Perlo Panorama

Property: Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
Address: Via Valassina 180, 22021 Bellagio, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellagio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bellagio
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bellagio
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bellagio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Il Perlo Panorama 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you looking for..a room with a view of Lake Como? Welcome to Perlo. From the ancient steam mill we have today only to he legends and an old stone-wheel in the garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Fastbooking, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Il Perlo Panorama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama Bellagio, Italy - Lake Como

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing