We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel for cyclists”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Bellagio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 13, 2013

I was in Italy on business and added five days to the start of my trip to ride the climbs and route of the Giro di Lombardia and also take in the professional race. Thanks to Carlo, my experience was amazing. I stayed in both the hotel and in an apartment below Carlo's house. Both were perfect for my relatively basic needs. This is a two star hotel, but the location, the view and Carlo's hospitality elevated my experience above that.

Carlo also arranged a cycling tour for three days through comolagobike.com and we had ex-pro riders guide us over all of the climbs of Il Lombardia past and present. The tour also included viewing the pro race from various points along the route (including the final switchback on the Muro di Sormano) and Fabio, one of the ex-pro cyclists, managed to get us VIP passes to watch the finish from the 25m to go line! This wasn't promised as part of the tour, but a very nice surprise. Magic. Good carbon fibre bikes are available for rent at the hotel, just bring you pedals and shoes (and saddle) if you're a serious cyclist. If you bring your own bike, a gear of 34/30 is not too low for the Muro.

The breakfast is great for cyclists, i.e., lots of good food. I didn't try the evening meal. There are two good restaurants about 1 km down the hill (La Torretta pizzeria and Bella Vista ristorante). Turn right at the church and walk through a charming little neighbourhood to get to both restaurants. There is also a small bar en route where locals gather to energetically watch football. The bar also has decent food.

The only downside of this hotel is also its draws for cycling fans: it's located on the lower reaches of the climb to the Madonna del Ghisallo. Unfortunately, it sits right at the top of a 300 m section with the steepest grade (14%). Save a little in your legs at the end of your ride for the final climb to this paradise overlooking Bellagio. A beer on the veranda provides excellent post-ride recovery.

Room Tip: North-facing rooms on the first floor (one level up from the lobby) share a large balcony with table...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GPS604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (955)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

400 - 406 of 955 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2013

We were on a trip with a classic car so parking was essential. Virtually impossible or extremely difficult in the town centre. Although out of town the views were stunning and we had a superbly located bedroom. The staff were so welcoming and spoke perfect English. Evening meal was perhaps a bit basic but welcome and we really couldn't have found anywhere better. We had no problems with the wi-fi.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank martin w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

You won't believe the view unless you see it. The hotel is up in the hills above Bellagio. The view is incredible. Our room was basic but very large and very comfortable. The staff was very accommodating. The one downside to staying up here is that you have to rely on taxis, the hotel shuttle or your own car to get places. But it's probably worth the trade off. Breakfast was excellent as well. We usually explored during the day but I would recommend a full day of just enjoying the view if you can spare it.

Room Tip: Choose the room around back under the patio. It's very quiet and has a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcap56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Stayed here for two nights in September and wished we could have stayed more days. The view is unbelievable and I doubt you could find much in the world to beat it. We had a first floor room leading out onto a shared balcony. The rooms are comfortable and very clean, and we were lucky enough to have a room with another side area to sit. The only downside to our stay was the tiny shower cubicle where you could barely turn around. The terrace balcony on ground level was where we sat mostly and watched the action on the lake and in the sky with the plane vapour trails. Breakfasts are very adequate with the usual array of ham, cheese, cereals and a nice touch of a home made frittata one morning and pancakes the next. Breakfast could also be taken out to the terrace to enjoy the view. Dined in the dining area one night for their home cooked pastas, but it was not planned as we had planned to visit a farm higher up on the hill to sample their wares. But a tourist bus had an accident higher on the hill which caused chaos. Carlo very kindly offered to help ferry the tourists down to the ferry in town as we also did on one trip - just to help out. With this chaos happening on the hill, the dining room experience was probably let down a little with a little bit of misunderstanding on who was ordering what - but I will put that down to what was happening on the hill and perhaps a shortage of staff - food was very tasty. Free parking was very welcome after the high fees we had paid elsewhere on our trip. The hotel is a couple of kilometres from the centre of town, but when you get to the top of the hill, you will know why you picked this place. There seemed to be bikes for hire, but I would check this out with the hotel.
Staff were more than helpful with where to park when going to town, where to eat, shop etc. Bellagio shopping is a delight and with quality restaurants lining the foreshore it is a pleasant change from the chaos of the larger cities. Gosh I wish I was there now - I think I will have to go back soon to see the snow on the mountains and to appreciate Bellagio in winter. Bellagio is a must on your trip to Italy and this Hotel will complete your happiness.

Room Tip: Pick a room facing straight out onto the terraces.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jenbell58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

This is a great location and the folks running the place a really nice. Breakfast is good, and we really enjoyed afternoon wine and cheese on the wonderful veranda overlooking the lake. We decided to have dinner at the B&B one night, and it was very disappointing. Also, we had no WIFI for most of our 3 day stay, and even by European standards, the shower was unbelievably tiny.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichaelN127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

This was my second visit to Il Perlo Panorama. Having loved it so much on a 1 night stay, I wanted to take my parents there to enjoy the unbelievable view and relaxing environment that Carlo offers. I had very specific requirements and he did everything he could to make everything right for us, including changing our booking to get in ahead of some bad weather! The setting is unbelievably lovely, 180 degrees of stunning panorama, it's a job to tear yourself away from the terrace. We enjoyed lovely days out then a magical hour sitting there watching the sun go down. Memorable doesn't cover it. Carlo and his mum offer the warmest, friendliest family welcome. The rooms are lovely and well above the standard you would expect for its rating. The breakfast was varied and plentiful. I recommend it to anyone who prefers a comfortable and relaxing hotel to formal and impersonal grandeur. We'll be going back as soon as we can, and hope it never changes.

Room Tip: Just ask for a view of the lake......
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shewhomustbeobeyed1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We spent just over two weeks travelling Italy and this was far and away our favorite place. Without a doubt, any future plans in Italy will include a stay here. The hotel is about 2 miles out of town on the hill and the views from here are absolutely stunning! We arrived by ferry from Como, and with one phone call Carlo immediately drove down to get us. We were very impressed with our immaculate second floor room. Our room had a balcony that looked out over Lake Como. This was easily one of the most beautiful views we have ever seen, so much so we spent the next few hours sipping cappuccino on our balcony soaking up the view. We ate breakfasts and dinners here, the food was great and the atmosphere was warm and charming. Carlo and his staff are friendly, helpful and run an exceptional establishment.

My husband, with help from Carlo, booked a bike ride from a company called ComoLago Bike. His guide, Fabio, set the perfect pace for the ride, was extremely knowledgeable about the roads, and shared information about the geology, the history and other facts about the area. Overall it was so much more than just an amazing ride.

A quick summary, do not miss out on this treasure!

Room Tip: From what I could see, there is no "bad" room here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bellagio
1.2 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
1.4 mi away
Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Bellagio
#5 of 16 in Bellagio
790 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel La Darsena
Hotel La Darsena
#2 of 8 in Tremezzina
834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Du Lac
Hotel Du Lac
#3 of 16 in Bellagio
833 reviews
1.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
3.3 mi away
Royal Victoria
Royal Victoria
#1 of 6 in Varenna
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Il Perlo Panorama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Il Perlo Panorama

Address: Via Valassina 180, 22021 Bellagio, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellagio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bellagio
#1 Family Hotel in Bellagio
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bellagio
Price Range: $96 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Il Perlo Panorama 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you looking for..a room with a view of Lake Como? Welcome to Perlo. From the ancient steam mill we have today only to he legends and an old stone-wheel in the garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Fastbooking, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Il Perlo Panorama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama Bellagio, Italy - Lake Como

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing