We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking views!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Bellagio
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Breathtaking views!”
Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is fantastic and extremely memorable. It is the best hotel we stayed in all of Italy.

We had originally booked the garden view room but upon arrival asked to view the lake view room and immediately upgraded. The view is incredible!! After settling in, we were surpised to have champaign, grapes (grown on the property), bread, and cheese delivered to our door.

The rooms are extremely clean, the wifi is fast, and the service is impeccable.

The breakfast was the best we had in Italy and included pancakes, homemade frittata, regional cakes, eggs, and more.

The hotel is owned by a mother and her son. They are very interesting to talk to and extremely knowledgeable. For example, the gentleman has every ferry and train schedule memorized!

Although the hotel is located about 2-2.5 miles from town, they will drive you to town for a minimal charge. The walk to town is scenic and manageable. We also hiked around the trails that start right out the hotel door and saw beautiful countryside and homes. At one point I looked out on a field of cows with the lake and mountains in the background and the sound of a rooster in the distance and felt as if I were in a scene from a movie.

Overall we had a wonderful stay here and recommend it to people of all ages and interests. I hope to one day visit lake como and this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hilary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

863 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    524
    260
    46
    23
    10
See reviews for
127
525
26
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Are you looking for a hotel with a magnificent view of Lake Como?
Are you looking for a hotel in Bellagio that you can afford?
Welcome to Il Perlo Panorama!
A family business, Il Perlo sits 3 kilometres from the town centre, overlooking the lake, with a spectacular 180 degree view.
The hotel was once a mill, as were many of the surrounding houses. They served to produce concrete in abundance. Now, all that remains of the mill are the old stone wheel in the garden and the stories handed down through the generations. Especially we are told the stories of Toscanini coming to sit and speak with Grandfather, while sharing a drink in the shade of the old Linden tree, which even now stands in the front garden.
But the view is still the same- the beautiful lake, stretching out its blue-green arms, while the giant mountains, often capped with snow, frame the breath-taking scene.

At Il Perlo there is accommodation for every budget.
From the delightful rooms overlooking the gardens, those looking out onto the lake, or the panoramic suites that give a full 180 degree view, you will enjoy everything that the hotel offers.

Every room has its own private balcony. Each room also has its own ensuite, telephone, satellite TV, and free wi-fi.

A delicious continental breakfast can be enjoyed inside or out, and tea or coffee can be taken on the terrace looking out over the wonderful vista of the lake.
Being set so high, the air of peace and tranquility ensures a restful stay, whether you seek simply to unwind, or go shopping in the famous village below.
The hotel has a shuttle service to take you to and from the village, a restaurant, should you wish to remain in for the night, carpark facilities and a friendly host, Carlo, with lots of local knowledge of the area.

Based at Il Perlo, you also have access to the ferry service, which will enable you to visit the surrounding towns with their brilliant gardens, shops and walks, and for intrepid hikers, there are mountains to climb and sights to see.

Meaning "The Pearl", Il Perlo is like a hidden gem in the heart of Bellagio. We hope that you will become part of our family. A balcony on the lake is waiting for you at Il Perlo Panorama.

Room Tip: All of the rooms have a balcony and a view. Depending on your budget, you can overlook the garden, t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janeandpeter995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

We had booked in April requesting a room with a review, arrived in September and were allocated a very small room with no view. This hotel must be a front runner for the award for the smallest shower in Europe. The room was roughly painted a large hole in the corner skirting , incomplete grouting at the corners over all very rough. I requested a change of room and we moved to a larger room with a beautiful view. we were changed back again to another room as another couple with children had also requested a view, so it would seem you can request a view and you may get one for a night or two, to keep you happy, so we moved three times in 4 days. In hind sight We should have left as soon as we saw the first room. The shower size was the same , I am by no means large , so would hate to think how some people would manage a shower there. The breakfast was limited and they often ran out of items. There was always watermelon and grapes that had seen better days, fruit juice that tasted like watered down cordial . We ate dinner at the hotel , very ordinary. The house white was the worst wine I have tasted in my 8 week trip certainly not worth what they charge.
The shuttle service to town was good and that is just as well because the alternative is walking on the edge of the road as there are very little pavement areas for pedestrians so it is quite dangerous. The staff speak good English. overall the place needs a major refurbishment , some consistency with bookings instead of room juggling, don't promise what you can't deliver and the breakfast needs to be totally reviewed. We could not wait to go out each day.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilsanchi, Owner at Hotel Il Perlo Panorama, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Madame, thanks a lot for your review that looks so bad but gives us the opportunity to make a few things easier for all customers booking at the hotel.
I am really sorry you had this bad experience that brought you writing such a "revenging" review: really I am really sad when I see this kind of missing of expectations going through!
It is quite clear from what you write that you were choosing our hotel for the views we can offer you: at the same time in april you were surely attracted by a very interesting rate and booked, I suppose through Booking.com a Double French Bed Room garden side, the cheapest at the hotel.
This is the point I would like to remark on for everybody: when you book through all booking systems remember to control very well DESCRIPTIONS of the room you are choosing, especially when you make your search with a BEST RATE filter. This is very important to avoid an unpleasant situation like this.
Madame, unfortunately this is what it happened you: you booked through Booking.com a Double french bed room for a cheap rate and you were expecting a lake view room...
Then on arrival is always difficoult, especially on high season like September on the lake, to make upgrades for 3 or 4 nights.... We were trying to make our best assiging you different rooms in different nights, but it was obviously not enough....
We are really sorry!!!
Carlo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

This place is not worth staying at despite the great view. Everything about the place is below average to poor. A shower that could win an award for the smallest shower ever. Impossible to wash your hair because you can't bend your arms. Better hope your not staying on the 1st, 2nd or 3rd floor because you will have to carry your heavy luggage up there all by yourself. The breakfast is the worst I have ever had. There is plenty to choose from but everything tasted horrible. The whole hotel and everything in it is getting run down and old. Big regret for booking my holiday here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank motherfahey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
71 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

the view from this place says it all really!
located about 5 minutes drive up the hill from the main centre of Bellagio, it is with a picturesque and quiet location.
The B&B is run by a mother and son, and they are very friendly, welcoming and helpful.
The rooftop terrace for a drink is a must for the view.
The room we stayed in, the junior suite which isn't attached to the main building, has a balcony also. This room has bedding for four (it is a bit of a squash but not too bad). However there are no tea or coffee making facilities ( this can be ordered in the coffee shop) but is a bit inconvenient.
The breakfast which is included is great, including freshly made croissants.
We have already recommended this place to family visiting Bellagio, we don't think they will be disappointed!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MOJO_aus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilsanchi, Owner at Hotel Il Perlo Panorama, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Sir/Madame, thanks a lot for this wonderful review.
Your comments are a real suggestion for us and you confirmed something we are thinking about:
adding some coffe and tea facilities in the rooms...
We will surely do for next year!
Still your review makes me leave the note for everybody: we are a 2 star family run hotel, please do not forget this!
Hotel is more a home hosting rather than a Classical fancy and big hotel.

Thanks a lot and hope to welcome you back here in the future!
Carlo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Loved the large room with a balcony and marvelous view over Bellagio, Lake Como and the south Alps. Staff was very helpful, the breakfast was OK, and the simple evening pasta buffet actually quite nice. Definitely a good place to stay if you are heading to Bellagio, rather than staying in the expensive hotels down in the village with limited views.

Room Tip: The rooms with a view are definitely worth the extra price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IndoTrader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

The view from this place was insanely beautiful. I've never been so taken away by anything like it. There are no words to describe the feeling of astonishment each time you wake up in the morning and see that view just outside your window. The room was extremely clean. The owners were pleasant and the breakfast was a nice bonus. Of all the places we saw in the area, Il Perlo had the best location in terms of view and accessibility to the center of town - just 5 minutes by car. Plus, they provide free parking. Bellagio is the best part of town to stay in on Lake Como. Don't waste your time anywhere else.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveler2679
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bellagio
1.1 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
1.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
1.4 mi away
Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Bellagio
#6 of 16 in Bellagio
721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Metropole Bellagio
1.4 mi away
Hotel Du Lac
Hotel Du Lac
#3 of 16 in Bellagio
763 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel La Perla
Hotel La Perla
#1 of 8 in Tremezzina
811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Il Perlo Panorama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Il Perlo Panorama

Property: Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
Address: Via Valassina 180, 22021 Bellagio, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellagio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bellagio
#1 Family Hotel in Bellagio
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bellagio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Il Perlo Panorama 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you looking for..a room with a view of Lake Como? Welcome to Perlo. From the ancient steam mill we have today only to he legends and an old stone-wheel in the garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Il Perlo Panorama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama Bellagio, Italy - Lake Como

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing