We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful views but breakfast and service was hit and miss” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Il Perlo Panorama

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Bellagio
Certificate of Excellence
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Wonderful views but breakfast and service was hit and miss”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2011

Bellagio was the first stop for our honeymoon - we had booked a 3 night romantic break superior lake view room. On arrival, check in was fine, but no information was offered about breakfast times. Fair enough, we could work it out. Our package included prosecco in room on arrival and free entry to Villa Melzi Gardens. Sadly, no prosecco was in the room on arrival, nor made available during our 3 night stay, nor were the Villa tickets. I don't think the owners registered the package we had booked and we were just another booking. The first morning's breakfast experience was interesting - we arrived around 9.30am to find nothing left, other than a few slices of bread. We spotted a coffee machine and were then rudely shouted at by the kitchen staff "Wait, Wait" who proceeded to take over the machine and wasn't keen on us using it. Having managed to get 2 cups of coffee, and with no sign of any food we sat outside, as the breakfast room is very narrow and awkwardly laid out. (despite there being a free dining room behind...) we went into Bellagio and had breakfast there. We also didn't bother on day 2 - to avoid a similar experience. On our final morning, we asked for breakfast in our room as we had a very early taxi - this was the best breakfast of our stay - the other kitchen staff provided plenty of food and a kettle which we really appreciated.

The bedroom had a fantastic view - We didn't like the look of the balcony from a safety point of view, but we happily sat at the doors admiring the Bellagio and moutain vistas. Things that spoilt the ambience - yapping dogs nearby (thoughout the night) and a building site down the valley (the noise carried). The bed was comfortable and clean, the bath was short and narrow, and the shower was impossible to use without sitting in the bath (if you could sit) - much better if they had provided a shower curtain round the bath so you could at least stand and enjoy a shower.

The shuttle service was reliable and good, and we were dependent on this for trips down to town. We also used a taxi once or twice which was also reliable. We dined at Silvios upon their recommendation and this was excellent. We also ate at Bilacus which was fantastic.

Would we stay at il perlo again? Whilst they have the view, there are many improvements - service and internally - that could be made easily to make this place fantastic. So, probably not - we would opt for somewhere in the town centre.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DINKYBoyandGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

825 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    495
    251
    46
    23
    10
See reviews for
121
505
25
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2011

My friend and I really enjoyed our stay here and thoroughly recommend it! View was amazing room with balcony was equally amazing and room decore was delightful. Bellagio was a truly beautiful place, and the hotel definately worth the ride in their shuttle car everyday just for the spectacular views once you are there. Staff are helpful, friendly and efficient.If we go back I would not consider staying anywhere else!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anne m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemmen, Holland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2011

Excellent stay in Il Perlo, fantastic view, very clean rooms, very friendly people. Only breakfast was on some days a bit poor, no fruit, no croissants,.... that was a pity. But the rest was really excellent!

Room Tip: There are at night sometimes barking dogs from a neighbour..... maybe you don't notice this whil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2011

My husband and I loooved this room! It had an amazing view of the lake and Bellagio. The room was very up to date, clean and comfortable. There were about 2 flights of stairs we had carry our luggage up but it was worth it- and this was the case at most of the Hotels and Bnbs we stayed at in Europe! We were driving from France and got late ibcs of Italy's traffic- which is crazy (especially near Milan)!!! We got lost finding the hotel at night in Bellagio so we asked a local pizzaeria and a local was kind enough to drive ahead and lead the way there! We arrived late at night but found a wonderfully sweet old lady at the front desk, Pierra, who was very kind, professional and spoke perfect English. She showed us areas to eat on the map and had a whole check list she went through for checking us in. We appreciated the professionalism and time she took to explain everything since we had stayed at Hotels/Bnbs where the front desk offered nothing more than key to the room. Since we arrived quite late at night she informed us that most of the restaurants would be closed. The dinner at the hotel was also closed but she asked her cook to reopen her kitchen and prepare something for us. The cook was kind enough to stay a little longer for us and we really appreciated that as well. Usually they have a dinner buffet for 15 euros or so but we never tried it... In the morning we woke up pretty early to catch the sunrise from our balcony- even though it was behind the mountains it was still a pretty breathtaking view and we really enjoyed it! Breakfast was buffet style and really delicious including local honey, bread and ofcourse croissants and cappucinos. The room itself was also advanced in that you needed to insert your key card in the slot to make the electricity work. We absolutely loved this place and would definitely stay here again! It was romantic, lovely and well worth the price!

Room Tip: Get a room with a Lake view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank uc84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Dorado Hills, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2011

We had a wonderful stay at Hotel ll Perlo Panorama. The service was friendly and helpful. They were always willing to take the time to answer any questions we had about the area. The hotel man that drove us to and from the hotel always met us with a smile. It was so nice to have his services available. The room we had faced the lake and as the name of the hotel implies we had the most beautiful panoramic view of the lake from our balcony. It was one of the most beautiful views I have ever had from a hotel room. One night we had dinner on the terrace. It was so relaxing to just six, eat and enjoy the lights across the lake.The room itself was clean and comfortable. We enjoyed our stay there very much.

Room Tip: The room we had facing the lake had a phenomenal view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gena_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, AL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2011

This hotel has got to have one of the best views in Bellagio. We stayed for 4 nights in a room with a view of the lake which had a french door that led out to a terrace. It was unbelieveably beautiful with a spectacular panoramic view of mountains, lake, and Bellagio. The common area of the hotel also had a great view with tables and chairs on a terraced area where you can sip your cappicino and eat breakfast while enjoying the view. This is not a fancy hotel. It is basic, a bit dated, but very clean and comfortable.
Breakfast is included and is quite good. The staff working there is wonderful and are English speakers.
The hotel is up away from the town center but can be walked if you are in very good shape (very steep hill). Also there are no sidewalks. But the hotel runs a very conveinient and reliable shuttle that we used with no problems.
We would not have wanted to stay anywhere else. Love this place!

Room Tip: Room with a lake view is a must/
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KKlovestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomingdale, New Jersey
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2011

Great experience. No complaints. We have to find out more about their mattresses. They were heavenly!

Room Tip: Great experience. No complaints. We have to find out where they got their mattresses!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daisy142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bellagio
1.1 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
1.4 mi away
Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Bellagio
#6 of 16 in Bellagio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Metropole Bellagio
Hotel Metropole Bellagio
#4 of 16 in Bellagio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Du Lac
Hotel Du Lac
#5 of 16 in Bellagio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
1.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
2.4 mi away
Hotel La Perla
Hotel La Perla
#1 of 8 in Tremezzina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Il Perlo Panorama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Il Perlo Panorama

Property: Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
Address: Via Valassina 180, 22021 Bellagio, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellagio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bellagio
#1 Family Hotel in Bellagio
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bellagio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Il Perlo Panorama 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you looking for..a room with a view of Lake Como? Welcome to Perlo. From the ancient steam mill we have today only to he legends and an old stone-wheel in the garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and ACCOR so you can book your Hotel Il Perlo Panorama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama Bellagio, Italy - Lake Como

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing