We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Fioroni(Bellagio)(Great Value!)
$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Residence L'Ulivo(Bellagio)(Great Value!)
$192
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Suisse(Bellagio)
$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Silvio(Bellagio)(Great Value!)
$157
$143
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$202
$133
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Du Lac(Bellagio)
$234
$205
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Bellagio(Bellagio)(Great Value!)
$165
$144
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Metropole Bellagio(Bellagio)(Great Value!)
$181
$163
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$828
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$455
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (973)
Filter reviews
973 results
Traveler rating
610
277
51
24
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
610
277
51
24
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshis motherbike hotelshuttle servicelake comobike shopamazing viewsthe hotel offersenjoy the viewshuttle busfamily roomtown centreglass of winefamily runstayed longercorner rooma lake view roomyogurt
Filter
Updating list...
615 - 620 of 973 reviews
Reviewed December 22, 2010

We booked what I thought was the best room in the house- a "suite" with a sitting room and terrace looking out on the lake. It may very well have been the best room they had (based on the price we paid, about 110€), but that's not saying much. The room was dingy, cheaply furnished, with a miserable bed, and a cramped bathroom. The sitting room was such a depressing little space with paint peeling off the walls and terrible lighting. Thin, exposed, bare wires ran everywhere. Indisputably, the view from the terrace is magnificent.

Breakfast was unspeakably bad, and the coffee undrinkable. It was a sad collection of cheap cheese, and cellophane wrapped "things." There were stale, dried-out cakes to go with the coffee, but that's about it.

Many reviewers compliment the young-ish (early middle-aged?) owner for his hospitality, and in fact he was friendly, gracious and helpful, if not complete, with information. But we only saw him at our late night check-in, and then he vanished for the rest of our stay. That meant dealing with the older woman (the mother?), for whom every request, every question, everything was a problem that couldn't be resolved. The paucity of the breakfast was "our problem" for coming down late, being charged for two hours of internet instead of the one I'd requested couldn't be fixed, arranging a special shuttle ride into town was impossible, checking out in the morning and leaving our luggage there for the day was a "difficulty"-- like they'd never had this request before from a guest . . . Everything you do, or use, is a supplemental charge, so be prepared for your final bill to be about 10% to 15% higher than the base rate. Economically speaking, this makes it downright uncompetitive with some of the B&Bs in town.

We chose this hotel because of the view it offered, but that alone doesn't make it a desirable place to stay. Combine that with the inconvenience of having to get in and out of the town proper once or twice a day, and the dreadful, impossible lady running the show, and you are MUCH better off staying anywhere down in town, even at a place with no view. Keep in mind that from inside Bellagio proper, no place is more than a two minute walk, or a peek around a corner, to a magnificent view. Your in-town itinerary can always include a 10 minute stroll to La Punta Spartivento at the very northern tip of the peninsula, for a view equally spectacular to that from the hotel. We did it twice each day.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alfonso14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilsanchi, Proprietario at Hotel Il Perlo Panorama, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2011

Dear Sir we are so sorry about this bad experience you had here!
Our policy is not to reply on comments travellers write on tripadvisor and your case is going to be very special.
I think I do remember your case and I remember that night, when you checked in very late after a very long trip: I soon thought we were not going to be your hotel.
Unfortunately every year we have to face this: non corresponding expectations!
we would Iike to advise all customer that yes, we do have the best views and panoramas on Lake Como, our location is very special, but we still are a 2 stars Hotel and this is what you should expect.
Of course, we do our best to satisfy travellers needs but you shouldn't expect a 4 or 5 star hotel since you see our location...
We want to offer everybody the way to enjoy what our wonderful lake is offering in terms of landscapes, panorama and special feelings. Hotel il Perlo is a small simple family run hotel that would like to be kind of Home welcoming friends more than a classical formal glamour hotel. Bellagio and Lake Como are offering that kind of things a lot: we do offer our simple and sometimes basic home, trying to do our best.
We are so sorry you were not feeling this and that you felt every request was a problem not to be solved, we do hope your last part of the trip on Lake Como was responding your expectations and you had a good memory of it, ing you will be coming back in the area in the future.
Thanks anyway to give us the way to return on this for a while!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2010

My friends and I stayed here during our time in Bellagio. The hotel has the best views of the lake and an amazing porch area with comfortable chairs. The staff was very nice and even accommodated our request when we arrived for an extra bed. The room was very spacious and had a large window overlooking the lake (there is no screen so bugs do get in). The beds were very comfortable therefore making it easy to sleep. Our room even had a little deck area that was attached. The guests were older than us and one night we got told to be quiet three separate times so I would not stay here if you have a large group and know you tend to stay up late talking. The breakfast at the hotel was decent- pretty standard for Italy. As I have mentioned, the hotel has amazing views- which means it is higher up the mountain. We did not have a car which made getting to/from the center a little difficult but definitely doable. The walk down was not terrible- about 30 mins to get to the “beach” part of Bellagio and 45ish to get to the center of town. The walk up-hill back to the hotel was pretty steep and very tiring; would not recommend unless you are in decent shape. There is a shuttle to the town but it only happens like 3 times a day and the hours did not always work for us. Overall, I am very glad we stayed here and if I am back in Bellagio I will definitely stay here! You will not regret the beauty this hotel has to offer!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blr5004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2010

Owners were lovely, spoke good English and very helpful. Shuttle to town (3km) was cheap (EUR1) and handy (got a taxi back at night for EUR10). We had the corner room which had an amazing view - the only downside was the sound of the waterfall/river at night, but it did not keep us awake. Bellagio is gorgeous but dominated by older clientele in Sep/Oct. Only need a couple of days there but well worth it.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JJ360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2010

One should always bring out negative points about an establishment, here it was the local rooster that could not tell time and had to let us know when it was 2 AM (then he shut up).

Our stay was fantastic. The room was large, clean, quiet (other than at 2 AM) and comfortable. Breakfast provided a large array of choices. A glass of wine in the late afternoon was a nice way to relax after sightseeing or shopping.

The staff was super helpful providing tips on where to go, suggesting where to eat or talking about cycling.

Bellagio is stunning, what more can you say.

We wished we did not have to leave and want to return to Il Perlo!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liferaft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2010

Liked: the wonderful owner, Carlo, and his staff who were always helpful, full of good information and available. Liked the international newspapers to read over breakfast.
Liked: the views, the property, the BnB quality/atmosphere, the availability of evening meals if one is too tired to go out.
Didn't like so much: the location for people without a car. Though the hotel runs a shuttle in and out of town 3x per day, it's really not sufficient. After 6pm you're reliant on either a restaurant that will pick you up and bring you back or a private taxi that will charge 10 euro one way (if they show up). Of course, Carlo will send someone to pick you up if you get stuck, but we disliked being subject to the schedule of the shuttle. Please note: walking into town is insane, perhaps suicidal on these narrow mountain roads with so much traffic.
Didn't like so much: breakfast which was uninspiring. Would be nice to see some yoghurt, more herbal teas, decaf coffee.
Room was plain but quite sufficient (garden view). Bed could be better.
Carlo said they aim to be a 2 star hotel and as long as people know what to expect, everything's ok.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marre5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews