We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location for our 30th wedding anniversary!”
Review of Hotel Centrale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Centrale
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Bellagio
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect location for our 30th wedding anniversary!”
Reviewed August 5, 2009

We wanted an affordable place to enjoy Lake Como and fortunately, due to the reviews here, chose Hotel Centrale. Giacomo is very welcoming, the room was cozy, romantic and comfortable. The breakfast room was lovely (coffee was brilliant!). Our oh too short stay in Bellagio was pure magic ! We visited other locations around the lake by ferry but Bellagio was the most romantic! Plenty of choices for lovely food on the lake and yet the rooms were very quiet. The location was ideal with a 2 minute walk to the ferry station. Lake Como is exquisite and Hotel Cetrale was a lovely place to come back to after a perfect day and evening spent enjoying it.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank newbieAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    145
    30
    2
    3
See reviews for
72
301
19
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2009

We arrived quite late in the evening to find a very friendly reception and welcome.

We were offered a choice of rooms which we could view first (a very nice touch) and settled on a room with a balcony. The room was nice, elegant I guess you'd describe it as.
The breakfast was yummy and throughout our stay the service was excellent and help was given at every turn.

The only gripe I would have is that we booked in advance and were quoted a rate, but when we went to check out we were told a price that was 20 euros more (which isn't a lot). However on showing the booking printout confirming the earlier price, there was no problem from the staff in honouring it.

There is a wine bar on the same street as the hotel which was a bit rubbish (although good meats given for free), but there is a wine bar a few streets over (next to the wall with the famous people pictures - you'll know what i mean if you go there), where the service is excellent and the wines are fantastic.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwiUKtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2009

I join the other reviewers in their praise of the hotel and its management. Both my husband and I were delighted. Giacomo, Silvana, Michele and Marcello are a beautiful family who made our stay at the hotel our best travel experience.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElenaRif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2009

Just wanted to add to the great reviews Hotel Centrale deserves. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay there. Great location and room. Lovely garden. Plus, the nicest staff who went out of their way to take care of our needs.

Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank cullenc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2009

Precious hotel halfway up one of the pedestrian "steps/streets" of Bellagio. We travel light so it was easy to get our luggage to the hotel. The location made us feel like we actually lived there. Had a neighborhood feel with clean, cozy rooms. Breakfast was very good. Owner is friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eleviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2009

Service was faultless and very friendly. The family made us feel very much at home from the moment we arrived to the breakfast tray they prepared for us on our departure date (because we were leaving before the dining room opened for breakfast. The room was simple & clean and more than adequate for our needs. Internet (wired in the room, wireless downstairs) at no charge was an added bonus. Truly "Centrale" to the entire village, 2 minutes from the ferry dock and within easy reach of the restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2009

What a find in beautiful Bellagio! The owner Giacomo and his family made us feel extremely welcome and went WAY out of their way to find parking spots for our car and later for our friend's car when the village was extremely busy with a Veteran's celebration.
Location is ideal, steps away from the waterfront and shops but quiet and has a beautiful courtyard where we enjoyed a few picnics/ happy hours. Breakfast is in a beautiful light filled room with wonderful array of choices and they make delicious cappucinos. Everything was super clean, tidy and charming. Our room was cleaned everyday when we were at Breakfast....the entire staff was extremely friendly and helpful with suggestions, Especially Giacomo who enjoyed speaking about music with my husband.
We paid 130 Euros/night which we thought was good in high season. .

Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ISunflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bellagio hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Bellagio
#6 of 16 in Bellagio
752 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Du Lac
Hotel Du Lac
#4 of 16 in Bellagio
797 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
1.4 mi away
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
#2 of 16 in Bellagio
897 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Excelsior Splendide
Hotel Excelsior Splendide
#11 of 16 in Bellagio
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Centrale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Centrale

Property: Hotel Centrale
Address: Salita Plinio 7, 22021 Bellagio, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellagio
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Bellagio
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bellagio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Centrale 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Centrale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centrale Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Centrale Bellagio, Italy - Lake Como

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing