We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“charming, great location and practical” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Centrale

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Centrale
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Bellagio
Certificate of Excellence
St. Maarten-St. Martin
Level Contributor
201 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“charming, great location and practical”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

This hotel is located in the middle of the town. The rooms are small but they have everything that you need. Breakfast in the morning is nothing special but convenient, as everywhere the coffee is outstanding. we enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: small rooms, ok beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rpo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    139
    28
    2
    2
See reviews for
68
285
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

We very much enjoyed our short stay at the Hotel Centrale. The service was outstanding, the room was very nice, and we loved the hotel's location.
We arrived late in the morning. Michele was on duty and offered us something we were glad to accept - ice cold fruit drinks. Afterward, he did something we weren't expecting; he showed us rooms on the first and third floor and let us pick which one we wanted to stay in. We opted for a very nice first floor courtyard room.
Our room was well appointed, the bathroom looked new, and the air conditioning was working fine; a welcome relief from being out in the hot sun. While the Hotel Centrale doesn't offer lake views it offers a great location in the heart of Bellagio. You're surrounded by restaurants and shopping - two things Bellagio offers in abundance.
Breakfast was in an attractive sun room located just off the small lobby. We had a nice choice of fruits, yogurt, cereal, breads and juices. When we were ready to leave Michelle answered our questions about boarding the train in Varenna and then offered to help us carry our bags down the steps. We appreciated his thoughtfulness but said that wasn't necessary. But, he insisted. He happily took my wife's luggage and we all walked down the steps to the downtown harbor area.
Would we stay here again? Absolutely. This is the kind of small hotel that treats its guests like family. We thoroughly enjoyed our experience at the Hotel Centrale and would recommend it to other visitors contemplating a stay in beautiful Bellagio.

Room Tip: Ask for a courtyard room. The first floor room we stayed in offered a very pleasant view. Plus, we l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England
Level Contributor
42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

We can echo the views of other reviewers, this hotel is very clean and the the service from the family team running it is very friendly and helpful.

Don't expect ultra modern Italian style, but the TV and wifi work well, with personal service to ensure internet connection was up to scratch [they put an extra wifi extender in our room to help us! ]

Well located, as others have written but other hotels must have better views of the lake, something we knew when booking. It is possible the best view is of Bellagio from the lake, not the other way round!

Overall, good value, pleasant breakfast, excellent personal service.

Room Tip: Room 101 has a shared terrace and a thin view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tonyj01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
125 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

Bellagio is an expensive city but well worth a visit. The other towns on the lake are also expensive. Hotel Centrale, while not cheap, was a good value in an expensive area. They specifically say there is no lake view from the rooms, but there is a sliver of one from our balcony and from the 2nd floor terrace. Our room was small but comfortable with a balcony overlooking the small grounds of the hotel. Its furnishings make if feel more like you are visiting your Italian Aunt. A very large tree offers shade in the hot summer days. Service by the owner and sons is very friendly and helpful. Breakfast is good, smaller than some we had but with hot croissants. Great location right in town with very good restaurants within 1 block.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1Worldwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

Had a great time staying in Bellagio, the hotel is very centrally located. Despite us arriving quite late in the evening, the hotel staff were really accommodating and friendly. The room was nice, very clean and with good air con which was needed for the time of year. Bed was comfortable and breakfast was nice with a good selection.

Overall had a great stay here, would definitely recommend this for anyone going to Bellagio.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Will R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

We absolutely loved this place! Friendly and welcoming staff and a great breakfast. Room was spotlessly clean, and location was good - close to everything in Bellagio including the ferry. I didnt mind that the rooms did not have a lake view - plenty of time to stroll near the lake during day and night time. Would definately stay at the Hotel Centrale again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IMH-Rdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Perfect location, mere meters from the ferry and shopping, restaurants and everything. Quaint with ambiance, great breakfast, air conditioner, and a very pleasant front desk/breakfast staff (family, I understand) who gave great recommendations. I would absolutely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shortcircuit601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bellagio hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Bellagio
#5 of 16 in Bellagio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Metropole Bellagio
Hotel Metropole Bellagio
#4 of 16 in Bellagio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 982 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Du Lac
Hotel Du Lac
#6 of 16 in Bellagio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
#2 of 16 in Bellagio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Centrale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Centrale

Property: Hotel Centrale
Address: Salita Plinio 7, 22021 Bellagio, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellagio
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bellagio
#7 Family Hotel in Bellagio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Centrale 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Centrale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centrale Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Centrale Bellagio, Italy - Lake Como

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing