We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience”
Review of Hotel Centrale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Centrale
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Bellagio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We stayed for two nights at this hotel and could not have been happier. The location is perfect, and the staff is so friendly and helpful. We especially enjoyed the owner and his son. The breakfast is one of the best we had in our travels...great coffee! The room was a nice size with a balcony where you can enjoy the view and people watch. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharkey16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (521)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

182 - 188 of 521 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2013

We had a great 2-night experience at this hotel. The room was clean and large (for Italy) and the moderately complete breakfast was an early-morning treat. As the name implies, the hotel is located partway up the hill, so if you walk down for a few minutes, you are at the lakefront and ferries, and if you walk up for a few minutes, you are in the "old" (borge) part of town (our preferred part of town). There are lots of stone steps in this town! Walk one direction and you hit the scenic Punta Spartivento and walk the other direction, and you hit the amazing Villa Melzi gardens. There are great food choices minutes away.

To top it off, the 3rd-generation, polymath owner Giacomo couldn't have been more helpful, welcoming, and interesting. His family runs the hotel and cares that it runs well, and it shows. Another bonus: there is a phone at the front desk that can be used to call the US for free. Just dial the 10 digit US number. Free WiFi too.

Would I stay here again? In a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brad R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

I stayed at this hotel based on the positive reviews on TA and am glad I did. The location was ideal as it is only a 5 minute walk from the ferry dock. There are some steps leading up to the hotel but we did not find them very difficult as we were only carrying small bags. Our room was clean and comfortable and the service was excellent. The hotel has a nice terrace with a partial lake view. The breakfast buffet was good with adequate choices. For a 3 star hotel, we found the rate very reasonable. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moosemizzou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I stayed at Hotel Centrale in Bellagio for pleasure and really liked the property. The staff is super friendly and helpful - calling places for reservations, giving directions to site-seeing spots, etc. Wireless internet and breakfast included in the very reasonable room price. Room was just right, clean and comfortable. Just a couple of minutes walk to the ferry and downtown Bellagio. When arriving, if rolling suitcases, take the longer way around to the left to avoid the stairs that lead directly from the city center to the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We spent 6 nights at this hotel, and loved every minute of it. Our room (101) was spacious, clean and quiet, plus it had a huge terrace with a view of the lake where we could sit and soak up the sun or have a relaxed meal as night fell. Our hosts were always friendly and helpful but never intrusive. Like anywhere in Bellagio that isn't absolutely on the lakeside esplanade, this has stairs to climb, but it's literally only 30 seconds down to the lake (and we're both 60+). The ferries, bars and restaurants, and beautiful little shops are all very close by. Breakfast is a very substantial cold buffet - lots of choices: cereals, fruits, yoghurts, cold meats and cheeses, rolls, a variety of sweet homemade cakes and good coffee. If you're looking for a room with a panoramic view of the lake and mountains, be prepared to look elsewhere and pay a lot more for it. Otherwise, this is a top little hotel and great value for money.

Room Tip: Room 101 is spacious and sunny, and opens onto a big private terrace with a view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Aussieabroad007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Super friendly staff, clean nice rooms, beautiful small garden: i enjoyed my stay in this hotel. Small negative observation: now way to reach it without climbing 62 stairs from the main street which can be a problem for some people. And noise-isolation is not perfect between the rooms. Other than that I definitely recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Denis_111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

I would recommend this hotel if staying in Bellagio. Although not directly on the lake front it is only a 1/2 minute walk away and extremely convenient for all the amenities that this lovely town offers, including the ferry terminals.
Hotel Centrale is a family run business and they are extremely welcoming, friendly and helpful with advice about the area, plus even teaching you some Italian phrases if you wish! They do not provide a cooked breakfast, however there is enough choice for anyone, including cereals, yoghurts and fresh fruit for the health conscious. They also provided low fat milk on request and were very accommodating with any additional requirements. I was actually thankful that a cooked breakfast was NOT provided otherwise it would be too tempting (and waist expanding) to have each day!
Our room, on the top floor, was looking towards the lake and you could actually see a small view of the lake and mountains between other buildings. It was a lovely room with a large bed and a safe was provided, plus an ensuite with hairdryer. It would have been nice to have tea making facilities in the room, however this was the only negative. The cost was very reasonable, compared to other hotels in the area and seemed well worth the money. We would definitely return to this hotel if we travelled to Bellagio in the future.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 301 - it had a skylight and 2 additional windows. You could actually see a small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan1Essex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bellagio hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Du Lac
Hotel Du Lac
#3 of 16 in Bellagio
822 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Bellagio
#5 of 16 in Bellagio
773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
1.5 mi away
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
#2 of 16 in Bellagio
943 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Excelsior Splendide
Hotel Excelsior Splendide
#11 of 16 in Bellagio
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Centrale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Centrale

Address: Salita Plinio 7, 22021 Bellagio, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellagio
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Bellagio
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bellagio
Price Range: $112 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Centrale 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Centrale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centrale Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Centrale Bellagio, Italy - Lake Como

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing