We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Stay”
Review of Hotel Centrale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Centrale
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Bellagio
Certificate of Excellence
Huntingdon Valley, Pa.
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very Nice Stay”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights and enjoyed our stay here very much. The owners are very helpful. Breakfast was good and served in a lovely room. Our room, although small, was very clean. We would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CathyMPennsylvania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    331
    145
    30
    2
    3
See reviews for
72
300
19
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Upstate, Ny
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We recently returned from several days on Lake Como -- in Bellagio. We loved staying at Hotel Centrale--a wonderful family run hotel. Our room was large and exceptionally clean with a view of the water. The location was convenient in Bellagio and the breakfast was wonderful. Most importantly, the family who runs the hotel is extremely helpful and wonderful to talk with. This hotel is outstanding.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TaylorUpstate_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

On the hill in Bellagio. Since we were leaving from Lake Como to go to Switzerland, we opted to park across the lake in Cadenabbia and take the ferry to Bellagio. Good choice - parking in Bellagio is very limited. From the ferry dock, the hotel is about a 10 minute walk. Once you arrive at the hotel, you are in the center of everything! The room was nice and the baths were modern (although small). The staff was very helpful and the breakfast was very comprehensive.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RRTexasMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We booked Hotel Centrale due the the excellent reviews on TA. We stayed for one night as part of a ten day trip around northern Italy. Most part of the trip would be spent camping so we wanted a treat for our night in Bellagio. So we spent 130Euros on the room hoping for something special due to the price and reviews.

The hotel is in a great location in the centre of Bellagio. When we arrived at the hotel we discovered there was no car parking which meant that we had to drive around the streets of Bellagio for some time searching for a spot. On my e-mail booking confirmation it stated there was a parking permit provided so we assumed parking was on a street nearby but this was not the case. It is very difficult to park in Bellagio, which is worth noting if you are also planning to drive.

Our room was based in the attic. The room was small and drab! Very outdated decour. The bathroom was also very small and basic. It also had a strange odour. The room just needed a big face-lift. I spent 50euros during the trip in hostels with much better facilities and rooms. No matter what the location, if you are charging so much for a room it must be of a better standard.

Staff were very friendly and helpful, although we were given a recommendation of a closed restaurant. Breakfast was average.

Would not recommend, 50 euros overpriced in my opinion!

Room Tip: Not the attic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JH1788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longport, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

My girlfriend and I stood at Centrale in March 2012. We hit beautiful weather and had a wonderful time in Bellagio. The family run hotel is reasonable and in a great spot. Bellagio is the perfect location to explore the lake. Only minor complaint is the noise. It's a small hotel and you can hear people in the hallways. Also the wifi only works around the lobby. We would surely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ACSauce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Bellagio's Hotel Centrale is a delight. It is a beautiful old building with a charming courtyard garden and a pleasant upper terrace. The rooms are quite large by Italian standards, with lovely furniture built by the owners' great-grandfather and flower paintings done by their mother. Rooms are well air-conditioned. The breakfast buffet is quite large. The owners are unusually friendly and helpful. The bedrooms and bathrooms could use better lighting to facilitate reading, shaving, or applying makeup, but this is usual in European smaller hotels because of the high cost of electricity. The location is attractive, although a bit difficult to reach up a flight of some 70 steps (most streets in Bellagio are actually steps); there actually is a longer but easier way to the hotel involving fewer steps and those downhill instead of uphill, but it is necessary to ask directions to find this route.

We loved our stay at the Centrale and will certainly return there. We recommend it highly, and we must mention that it is an exceptional bargain at its very reasonable price.

Room Tip: Room 204 has two small balconies overlooking the courtyard and garden. It is right next to the eleva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Florencelovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatel, France
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at Hotel Centrale and we've promised ourselves a return visit. The hotel is in the perfect spot, close to the lake up picturesque, cobbled steps and within easy reach of everything. Our room was simply furnished and spotlessly clean, with a modern bathroom (no bath, but a good shower). Wi-fi worked in the bedroom. There is a shady, quiet garden area and a roof terrace. The hotel was lovely to come back to after a full day out. We enjoyed the breakfasts - pastries, cakes, yoghurts, cereals, fruit - plenty to choose from. The owners responded quickly to emails before our visit and were friendly and welcoming.
Bellagio itself is a wonderful picturesque town with restaurants and shops. The three restaurants we tried were all excellent, the best of the bunch just round the corner from the hotel - Antico Pozzo. None of them take reservations so you have to be there bang on 7pm or be prepared to wait around. Opposite the Trattoria San Giacomo (very popular so get there early) is the friendly bar Aperitivo et Al so it's easy to spend a while there before your meal.
In a short stay we visited the stunning gardens of Villa Melzi, walked over the hill to Pescallo, took a boat trip to Mennagio and Tremezzo and just wandered through the delightful streets of Bellagio.
Yes, parking is a challenge but who cares! This is an amazing place and I can't wait to come back and stay in the Hotel Centrale again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HL T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bellagio hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Bellagio
#6 of 16 in Bellagio
749 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Du Lac
Hotel Du Lac
#4 of 16 in Bellagio
795 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
1.4 mi away
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
#2 of 16 in Bellagio
895 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Excelsior Splendide
Hotel Excelsior Splendide
#11 of 16 in Bellagio
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Centrale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Centrale

Property: Hotel Centrale
Address: Salita Plinio 7, 22021 Bellagio, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellagio
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bellagio
#7 Family Hotel in Bellagio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Centrale 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Centrale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centrale Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Centrale Bellagio, Italy - Lake Como

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing