We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faded Glory”
Review of Hotel Suisse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Suisse
Ranked #10 of 14 Bellagio B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 27, 2010

I bet this place was incredible back 50 years ago. As it stands, it doesn't seem like it's been updated much since then. It's like Motel 6 housed in an pre-war art deco villa. On the plus side, it's smack in the middle of town, reasonably priced, clean, and the on-site restaurant is quite good. On the minus side, it feels a bit neglected, and the only hotel staff to be found are the restaurant waiters.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3nochRoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (133)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 133 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2010

This is very expensive for a one star hotel and the room and bathroom were really quite shabby but the location was absolutely superb. We booked a lake view room and we quite honestly had just about the best view/balcony in town. Inevitably any stay in Bellagio is going to be expensive and this is no exception but if you value the location above the hotel facilities then we thoroughly recommend it. The associated restaurant is also expensive but it offers a 10% discount to guests and the food was absolutely superb. Unreservedly recommend both but don't expect four star trimmings

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dexter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2010

This is the most authentic hotel in Bellagio - perfectly located, brilliant views and great restaurant.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank somebodyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2009

The hotel is easy to find....we got the ferry up from Lecco (slow boat takes 1.5hrs ) and the jetty was directly opposite the hotel which was great having flown into Bergamo that morning.

Paid extra for junior suite - big room with a double and a single bed in it.
Great bathroom with steam bath with small balcony - no lake view.
Art work on the walls 'very interesting' and slightly outdated.
Check in was effecient and imformative.
We ate in the restaurant that night (10% discount for residents) - had to remind them to take the discount off. Food was nice but not outstanding. Service was a little slow and badly managed. Breakfast was enough to break the fast but not to set you up for the day. Very nice coffee!! If you had a room at the front of the hotel, the views are lovely and there are some lovely shops around - it is a tourist trap so prices are inflated.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LouC3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2009

For the price it could not be faulted. We had a lake view room (a must) with French doors and were on the third floor. We could see the ferries coming and going across the lake and at night the lights from the other side, truly spectacular! They were very busy in the restaurant when we arrived so it was a perfunctory greeting, but that's how we prefer it anyway.

That evening we ate in the restaurant underneath. It was one of the most memorable and romantic meals we've had - the Tournados Rossini were almost perfect and the sommellier really knew his stuff without hoisting a really expensive bottle onto us! (Thank you to the Staff member who reserved the beautiful table at the front for us.)

I would say that if you're not used to Italian hotels you might be disappointed with their rustic nature (unless you're prepared to spend mega-bucks!) but we loved the character of this place.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelmad9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2009

I stayed at the Hotel Suisse in Bellagio for two reasons. 1. it's in Bellagio 2. It was the only hotel available at short notice.
I understood it was a budget hotel on booking. On arrival, I was surprised by the very central location on the Bellagio promenade. The staff are generally friendly and helpful and the rooms and halls are bohemian in decor. This really suits me as you can get bored of 4 star plushness and this had charm.
I loved the original old pieces of furniture in our room and the simple decor was fine. Whar was not fine was a sparsely clean bathroom (albeit with copious towels), fitted with a poor quality shower cube. This is a shame as the staff obviously enjoy working here and it is a nice place. Just the bathrooms could do with cleaning properly and probably modernising, though to be fair everything worked. Our bathroom was not even cleaned before our last night. Breakfast is laid out in the restaurant abd is a nice place to eat, though food choices are limited. We weren't even told about breakfast on check in, which was a bit relaxed.
If it was truly a budget place, I would not have expected to pay over 100 Euros per night so that is my main gripe. Also beware no phones in rooms and loose carpets on the staircases (the rods work loose).
All in all, I probably would recommend it. Just.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank historyneverrepeats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2009

Our Hotel Suisse experience was so friendly and welcoming. After a long journey from Nice, we arrived on the bus from Como (what a ride!) and were unsure where to find the hotel, but wandering down by the lake front for a 100 metres or so and it is easy to find. The hotel doesn't have a formal reception as such and you go into the restaurant, but the hotel manager is easy to find.

This is a family business, it is professional and the service was great. Yasmin, who looked after us and has perfect English, was not only welcoming to the hotel, she also gave us all the information, maps and tips we needed for our 2 days on Lake Como. A mini tourist office without having to go to the sometimes crowded ferry terminal across the road.

The restuarant was great, and though there is a Michelin star restaurant in the village, we chose to eat at Suisse and were very happy. We reserved our table in the late afternoon and could choose the perfect spot overlooking the lake. The calm and efficient service provided by the same people who poured our coffee that morning at breakfast. Bonus is that guests receive a 10% discount on meals at the restaurant.

The rates for lake view rooms are more, but the view is worth it! Bellagio is an expensive spot, and a view like this one was worth three times as much in nearby hotels. Make sure you book carefully so not to miss out!

The furniture and decor in the hotel are older in style, but it only added to the atmosphere and experience for us. The bed was comfortable, the marble-topped dresser beats something from Ikea, and the room & bathroom were spotlessly clean. And the double windows opened wide to show off the view. Lovely.

The hotel has only 1 star, but the owners recently bought the hotel and are gradually updating the facilities. The service, view and comfort were all above what I expected and more akin to the 3 star places we stayed in elsewhere. They are making a real effort, so this is a lovely place to stay. And Bellagio, as with much of Lake Como in general is just beautiful.

Note: No lift, there are only stairs.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison_Pete-Syd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bellagio hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Bellagio
#5 of 16 in Bellagio
784 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Du Lac
Hotel Du Lac
#4 of 16 in Bellagio
831 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
1.4 mi away
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
#2 of 16 in Bellagio
954 reviews
0.2 mi away
Residence L'Ulivo
Residence L'Ulivo
#12 of 16 in Bellagio
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Suisse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Suisse

Address: Piazza Giuseppe Mazzini 8/10, 22021 Bellagio, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellagio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Bellagio
Price Range: $95 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Suisse 1*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Suisse is located in the historical center of Bellagio, just 10 metres far from the lake. Its good position gives the guests a direct access into the center of the town with all its services.The domestic tenancy offers an informal and cosy atmosphere.The rooms, recently renewed, remind the historical significance of this hotel. It was, indeed, the secret meeting point of the owner, Bice Gobio Melzi, and the famous writer Ippolito Nievo.Some rooms boast a wonderful view of the lake, all of them have a private bathroom and a characteristic furniture. The junior suite, the latest renewed, has also a steam room.The restaurant is located on the ground floor, right on the promenade, and on the first floor, on a striking lake view terrace. Classical and international fusion cuisine are served. The best Italian and international wines are available on the wine list. The restaurant is also available for banquets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Suisse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Suisse Bellagio, Italy - Lake Como

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing