We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Metropole Bellagio
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$523
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Centrale(Bellagio)(Great Value!)
$155
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$248
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Du Lac(Bellagio)
$321
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$136
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Silvio(Bellagio)(Great Value!)
$144
$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama(Bellagio)(Great Value!)
$144
$116
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Bellagio(Bellagio)(Great Value!)
$138
$133
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Florence(Bellagio)
$183
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (1,107)
Filter reviews
1,108 results
Traveler rating
618
388
73
18
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
618
388
73
18
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop terracelake comocar ferrysmall balconyview roomperfect locationcoffee machinevilla balbianellofirst floorthree starfantastic viewslovely hotelfrench doorsmiddle of townwater frontsun loungerstop floor
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
950 - 955 of 1,108 reviews
Reviewed April 30, 2007

I contacted the Hotel Metropole through their website in early January 2007 to organise an Easter break there. Although the hotel was officially closed I got an immediate response from Martina on behalf of the management. With a few emails I was able to book one of the lovely terrace rooms for our Easter holiday. Martina organised the airport transfer for us, at an extra cost, with Fabio Fantoni taxi service from Bellagio.

Our welcome at reception was both warm and efficient, and it expedited our holiday mood. Franco and Rocco in the dining room were most helpful, and looked after us very well for the duration of our week's stay there. We decided to go for the half board option and found the meals to be very good, with good variety on the table d'hote menu. The dining room service was swift and efficient and we honestly didn't experience the delays others have mentioned in reviews here. It is a good idea to try and get down to breakfast by about 8.30 because after that it can get quite crowded and the queue at the coffee machine can demand some patience! The breakfast menu was very good, with lots of variety and many calorific temptations.

We were fortunate in having truly lovely weather, and the fine large terrace of our corner bedroom was like an extra living space for us. Contrary to other reviews we didn't find the noise of the ferries to be obtrusive, and we had no need to test the air conditioning system because of the moderate temperatures during our stay there. Room service was efficient and well-organised, and reception staff, under the guidance of manager Michaela, and Martina and Cinzia coped well with all our enquiries and were most helpful. The hotel's situation is very central and extremely convenient to the ferry embarcation points. We were able to visit many of the lakeside towns, and also enjoyed visiting Villa Melzi, a short 10 mins walk from the hotel, Villa Carlotta, a direct boat trip across the lake, and an intriguing guided walk through the grounds of the Villa Serbelloni. A trip to the city of Como via the rapid boat service was very enjoyable, as were morning visits to Varenna and Menaggio.
The Saturday, Sunday and Monday of the Easter Weekend were very busy in Bellagio, with lots of visitors thronging the narrow streets. But there was a great sense of dignified enjoyment of the surroundings.
We really enjoyed our stay there, found the staff friendly and helpful, our room very comfortable. April was the beginning of their season and it was a good time to be there.
The hotel website is very good, and gives a true picture of what the hotel is like. Other tripadvisor reviews helped me to choose the best room and the best time for our break there. Many thanks to all.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank MaireDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2007

We stayed at the Metropole due to reviews on this site. We were not disappointed, as it’s truly is a waterfront property. After a long drive from Milan getting lost many times, we finally arrived around 9pm. Staff were very welcoming and laughed after hearing our story about the LENGTHY drive. They told us we had come into Bellagio the wrong way and actually there is a much shorter drive from Milan …..Minus the endless single windy lanes around Lake Como, (An Amalfi Coast experience).

Our room 226 was on the 2nd floor with direct water views of this stunning area. The room was very basic but comfortable with a double bed, two small bedside tables, mini bar, desk, and two French doors leading to a small balcony. The bathroom was again basic but clean and spotless.

The rooms below us had fabulous terraces and I wished we had booked one of those. If staying here make sure you book one of these and validate your booking, as I was under the impression I had actually booked a terrace room. (too tired to argue!)

Staff are very friendly, helpful and polite. The lifts are small but are in good working order. We found no noise regarding ferries. The views are outstanding and you are basically a few metres from the water. The building is basically Italian in style and needs some more renovations done in the breakfast and lobby areas, both are looking a little tired.

Breakfast was simple and offered a basic but sufficient breakfast but to me the coffee was terrible which came from a machine. I would have preferred a fresh hot pot of Italian coffee. Luckily, I had brought with me a little travelling kettle and opted to have a cuppa on my balcony.

The best thing about this hotel is the location. It’s on the flat within a few seconds to many wonderful little cafes and restaurants. It’s a short walk to Hotel Serbelloni and to the steps up to the romantic village of Bellagio. The little town is full of interesting shops, and is truly gorgeous and quaint with petite cobble lanes and steps meandering through the wonderful display of historic houses. (It reminded us of the Italian town Assisi)

The ferry to other locations around Lake Como can be located just two minutes from the hotel.

We had a lovely meal at Hotel Florence and also had a very expensive meal at the Hotel Serbelloni which was okay but really not worth the money.

I have given this hotel a 5 star rating for its truly wonderful waterfront location and value for money.


  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Ellemay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2007

My husband and I just stayed at the Hotel Metropole for 5 nights and overall found the hotel to be quite nice, clean and pleasant. Nothing special, the room we stayed in was quite small but perfectly adequate for the amount of time we spent there and a tiny balcony - just enough room for 2 chairs! Bathroom was clean (if a little dated), towels changed on a daily basis and overall we had no complaints.
We ate breakfast there on just 2 occasions - its nothing special - I would recommend heading to a pattisserie instead (there are at least 2 right beside the hotel) for some pastries and coffee and a real Italian experience.
Never ate lunch or dinner there as there are some very tempting options available elsewhere in Bellagio (I would recommend Far Out on Salita Mella and another restaurant (can't remember the name) further up the same steps on the right).
Staff were always very polite and helpful (although we did have to figure out the parking situation ourselves... more later!).
But the overriding factor for booking this hotel would have to be the location - right on the lake in the centre of Bellagio. There have been comments here that the hotel is too close to the ferry dock but I have to say we had no issues with the noise. In fact it was very interesting looking at the ferries coming in and out while sitting out on the balcony in the evenings. But if you've had one too many glasses of vino the night before I can imagine that the horns etc may not be too welcome!
Bellagio is beautiful -perfect location on the centre of the lake with lots of ferry/boat options for exploring further. We went to Como, Varenna, Mennagio all on the ferry and would definitely recommend the traveller to explore further afield should they have the time.
Back to the parking situation. Traffic is generally not allowed through the old part of the town and remember - blue spaces are metered parking. There is an attended car park 2 mins walk before the town but this will cost you. The white spaces are free and if you're spending the night(s) in Bellagio try to find one of these in the evening when the place quietens down. Go right up the hill before the town and its free parking all the way to the top. Some more spaces on the downhill past the church (you have to go through the town though - not for the faint hearted during the day due to the number of tourists and the narrow lanes!)

Had a fabulous holiday in Bellagio and Lake Como - will definitely have to invest in a villa there when I'm rich and famous!

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
8  Thank Bellavista_001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2007

We stayed with family for 6 days in early September in 1 lake view room and 1 side lake view.

Location: Excellent for wandering around Bellagio and for catching ferries. However, Bellagio is tiny and anywhwere is not a long way from the lake. But at least staying here means there is not too much going up and down steps which is a blessing with kids and pushchairs!

View: Excellent and directly on the water.

Rooms: Small but comfortable. Rooms vary greatly. You need to get the renovated rooms and try to go for one of the 4 airconditioned ones which are very big with HUGE terraces overlooking the lake. We were not so lucky. Rooms without a/c can be very hot even in September and the ceiling fan would certainly be of no use in the summer. Also the fan can be quite noisy. Opening the window can also bring in the noise from the ferries in the early mornings.

Service: Receptionists were great. Would like to thank them all especially Cinzia! Breakfast room service was good. Tried the restaurant for lunch. Waiters were very slow and confused.
Food: Hotel ice cream parlour is the BEST in Bellagio and we should know as we tried all the ones we could find! Restaurant food we tried once and it was less than average. Breakfast is adequate. Buffet does not change from day to day but can't say anything wrong about it.

Value for money: Very good and if you get one of those airconditioned rooms with a terrace, it would be excellent. Paid around 140 euros average.

Best tips:

1. Hotel Florence for dinner. Tried all the recommended ones on this site as wella s the ones recommended by the hotel and this one wins. Generally, the food in this area is not as great as in other parts of Italy ,Tuscany for instance. Average cost ofmeal with wine for two is 60 euros.

2. Villa Carlotta for a walk in the gardens and a picnic is a must. (Not at the picnic area by the lake which is quite awful but at the one up in the gardens)

3. Visit Varenna, Como, Menaggio & Lugano. (I am listing them in order of the towns I thought to be the nicest)

4. Next door to the hotel is a shop which sells sterling silver for very reasonable prices. Bought some frames.

5.If you can't stay in Bellagio, then go for Varenna. Go for Menaggio if you don't want lots of climbing up and down steps as it is much flater than Varenna. Try to Tremezzo and Cadenabbia as they are on a highway and very noisy especially because of the motorbikes passing.

All in all this area is great and although it's not the first place that springs to mind for a young family, we all enjoyed it and found it to be relaxing and full of things to do. Would stay there again? Yes but only in airconditioned rooms unless going in May/October.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
18  Thank Maringo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2006

My husband and I have just returned from a weeks stay at The Hotel Metropole Bellagio. The location is perfect, views from our room stunning. We were on the second floor,front lake view with small balcony. Our room was quite small, the bathroom had been refurbished and both were very clean. Breakfast was enjoyable coffee although out of vending machine very acceptable. We ate at the restaurant on two occassions.

The food was excellent my only critisism was that I felt there could have been more staff. We were in no hurry, but it did take a long time to be served, while we were there we saw one party get up and leave as they were fed up of waiting, The staff who were working were rushed off their feet, but were still smiling and friendly. The noise of the ferries caused no problems for us. We had the ceiling fan going at night so kept the window shut and heard no noise at all . When sitting on the balcony in the day it was lovely to just watch all the goings on. All in all we had a wonderful holiday and would recommend the hotel to anyone

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Abbeygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews