We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Metropole Bellagio
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Bellagio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 2, 2014

Just returned from a great week at this hotel. The location is the best in town and the rooms are very clean and well appointed. The restaurant has fabulous views across the lake but the food could be better, although breakfast was really good and the service was excellent.
There is a great roof terrace with seating where you can enjoy spectacular views of the lake.
We also used the outside terrace cafe for lunch which was very reasonable and the food really good and It is also a great place for people watching.
The best thing for me was that the staff were all very friendly and helpful and could not do enough for you.
Would not look to book any other hotel in Bellagio as this one ticks all the boxes.

Room Tip: we had a side room and the views of the lake were still good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grumpystickboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,103)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

424 - 430 of 1,103 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2014

You will not go wrong with this one. After extensive research, I settled on this hotel. Though its listed as 3 star, I was hesitant since I typically select higher rated hotels. This place is amazing, recently underwent remodeling. I booked on hotel website at reasonable rates. Rooms are spotless, beds comfortable and linens excellent. Location is the best, right in the center of town. The only hotel truly on the water (the rest are across the street). Chose a corner room with lake front and side views, excellent choice. Breakfast is plentiful with indoor and outdoor seating. Dinner is very good though a bit pricey, but hey you're in Italy....Ferry to nearby towns is a few steps away... Do not hesitate to stay here

Room Tip: Choose corner room with sweeping views of lake front and side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Irene K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2014

Just stayed at this hotel after doing extensive research on where to stay. Wanted the best lake view for the money. We arrived in Bellagio and the first thing I noticed that this hotel has the premier location in all of Bellagio and located in the exact middle of town. We were debating on whether to get a lake front room with a terrace or go with a higher floor room and decided on the 1st floor terrace room. So glad we did that as the view is amazing with no obstructions. No other hotel gets you this close to the water. We were also concerned about the noise from the ferry's coming in and the street noise but both of those are non issues. It's actually great to sit on your terrace and watch the boats come in. The upper floors have great views but have very small balconies. We ended up spending so much time on the terrace which comes with a small table, umbrella and chairs as well as two sunbathing chairs. As gay travelers we wanted the best experience since it was our first time to Lake Como and we hit a home run staying at this hotel. Make sure to book early and get a lake front room. It's well worth the extra $$$. We also flew into the Milan Linate airport and took a private car that drove us to the ferry. He wanted to drive us to the hotel but we insisted going on the slow ferry to see the view and get oriented with the lake. The slow ferry is the way to go and does make a couple more stops than the fast ferry but really gives you a chance to see all the amazing homes on the lake. Make sure to sit on the third level for the best views.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank San_Clemente_Sam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2014

We stayed for 8 nights and was pleasantly surprised on our arrival. The reception lacks any style but the rooms with stone balconies with breath taking views, light coloured contemporary furniture, large bathrooms and feature wallpaper make up for it.

Our room was on the top floor over on the corner of the building which was wonderful. Not only did we have a breathtaking view from the balcony of Lake Como but we also had two Juliet balconies, one in the bedroom over looking the promenade and another in the bathroom with the same view.

On arrival on Friday night I was over the moon to hear a Jazz quartet from a local restaurant were playing and the soft music was drifting into the bathroom as I got ready for an evening in Bellagio... Wonderful!

The rooms are clean (cleaning staff are excellent and friendly) free wifi, a good size with comfortable beds. Stylish lamps, large writing desk and large bathrooms. There is a sunbathing roof terrace with jaw dropping views. The lift is tiny, it's like something out of the film 'The Grand Budepest Hotel' but it adds to the hotels charm.

Breakfast is a substantial continental breakfast with the additional delights of scrambled eggs, mini pancakes, bacon and fried egg. Friends at other hotels were very jealous of this as othre hotels don't offer it. Also, cappuccino from the machine is very nice.

The staff... There is a man on reception who is incredibly helpful, a younger chap who is very smiley and a women with light blonde hair who helped us loads with sorting out tourist bits, she is really fab! One negative comment... steer clear of the receptionist with dark hair, she is a little younger than the other two, I had to cancel a booking I made Kayaking due to bad weather and too be honest I was a little scared of her afterward!? She slammed the phone down and gave me a condescending smile, I think she actually hated me.

That aside, we had friends that stayed in Hotel Bellagio, Hotel Belvedere, Hotel Spledid and a BB in Pescello. Our room was larger, cleaner, more stylish, in a better location and with a better view. For the money, it's the one to book!

Room Tip: Lake view room, on the side of the building. You get three balconies!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank GemiWinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2014

Stayed at Metropole in July with family. We had 2 rooms overlooking Lake Como. The young man at reception was very helpful even apologizing for the rain. The rooms were very clean with a balcony for two with an amazing view of Lake Como. Breakfast was good with a variety of choices.
The ferry is within walking distance and as we drove from Switzerland the passenger ferry was a great and quick way to get to Bellagio. Would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for lake view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Georgia2511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2014

We have just returned from a 2 week stay and would thoroughly recommend this hotel. We had a top floor room with a side view, we tried to get a front room but they were all booked, however we were pleasantly surprised with our side view which gave a good view of lake and mountains but also allowed us to people watch. The room was comfortable and tastefully decorated. It was nice to have tea/coffee making facilities and a fridge. The roof top terrace was perfect for relaxing in the sun and was quite quiet with stunning views. It also made a good place for a late night drink to star gaze. The location is perfect for exploring Como. We bought a 6 day ferry ticket and hopped off to nearby towns as much as we liked. Bellagio offered a great selection of restaurants however the hotel restaurant should not be missed. We ate there 4 nights and sitting lakeside watching the sunset is amazing. The food is very good and I would definitely recommend the king prawn starter and sea bass main. It is not overly expensive and you do get 10% discount as residents just remember to let the staff know you are staying there. It seems usual to leave your room key on the table for the staff to see. Breakfast was good and the lady who looked after the breakfast was very efficient and friendly as were the restaurant staff. Also reception staff very helpful. I had good wifi access. We did the trip to St Moritz on the Bernina Express and it was a brilliant day out and would definitely recommend this as well. Will return.

Room Tip: Top floor lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Lynne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

It you are going to stay here, it is worth paying the extra to get a room to the front with a balcony. It is a small balcony but you get a GREAT view of the lake. It is spectacular. The room was clean, spacious and quite. WIFi was included. Bathroom came with complimentary shampoo, soap, hair dryer. No complaints on the rooms at all. Breakfast was very good with a lot of selections. We did not eat in the restaurant as we walked around the small town and found places to eat there. Front desk was very helpful about other places to eat and grocery stores, etc. It is a very short walk to the dock where you take the ferry to Verona.

Room Tip: There is a patio area on the roof top which you can see the whole area. There are lounge chairs, tab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank slfrickle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bellagio hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
0.1 mi away
Hotel Du Lac
Hotel Du Lac
#4 of 16 in Bellagio
831 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Bellagio
#5 of 16 in Bellagio
784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
1.4 mi away
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
#2 of 16 in Bellagio
954 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Excelsior Splendide
Hotel Excelsior Splendide
#11 of 16 in Bellagio
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metropole Bellagio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metropole Bellagio

Address: Piazza Giuseppe Mazzini 1, 22021 Bellagio, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellagio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Bellagio
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bellagio
Price Range: $161 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Metropole Bellagio 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently restored, Hotel Metropole is situated in the center of the village and is the only one with restaurant and terrace directly on the lake. The rooms have a beautiful view, full or side, some with balcony or terrace; all have private facilities with bath or shower, air conditioning, electric fans, telephone, TV satellite, mini-bar, hairdryer. On the nice solarium you can admire the spectacular panorama of the Como lake. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Metropole Bellagio Italy - Lake Como

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing