We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Views!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Metropole Bellagio
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Bellagio
Certificate of Excellence
Aylesbury, England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful Views!”
Reviewed July 18, 2008

We stayed for 3 nights at the Albergo Metropole as part of a 3-week motorbike tour of Europe. We arrived on a very busy Sunday afternoon in 32 degree heat, very hot & sweaty in our leathers after a 250 mile ride, and the staff were excellent at making us feel welcome. We were able to park the motorbike at the front of the hotel free of charge which was great. We stayed in a standard room on the 4th floor with a view directly on to the lake which was just beautiful. The room was very clean and tidy with comfortable beds. There was only a ceiling fan in the bedroom and no air conditioning, so the room did tend to get fairly warm which was a little uncomfortable as the nights were very humid. The bathroom was quite big and had a huge shower which was very nice, although the water temperature always seemed to fluctuate between scalding and freezing! We had breakfast at the hotel each morning which was plentiful, although fresh coffee as opposed to machine coffee would have been nice. Had a couple of drinks in the bar one evening which were the kind of prices you would expect in a hotel. The service throughout the hotel was excellent. The rooftop terrace was an unused paradise - comfy sunloungers with fantastic views of the lake. I would definitely recommend this hotel as a wonderful place to relax and admire the views of the beautiful Lake Como.

  • Liked — amazing views of Lake Como
  • Disliked — room got quite hot as it had no air conditioning
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RedHeadTraveller-76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,027 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    580
    352
    68
    18
    9
See reviews for
140
659
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (354)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire,England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2008

We have just spent two weeks at this hotel, where we found the Staff, Cleanliness,food and location, excellent.
We recommend this hotel to all visitors to Bellagio..

Kathy and Bernie Southworth
Blackburn,Lancashire, England.

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank Spotcat8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2008

This hotel is in a great location in Bellagio. The views are wonderful and the rooms are clean but what made it really special for me was the helpfulness and friendliness of the staff.

We booked it as part of package which included half board. Our flight was delayed so we arrived at the hotel after 9.00pm but we were greeted with warmly and quickly assured we got still get dinner. We spoke to others who were on the same flight but stayed at different hotels and they did not have the same experience. The efficient and friendly service continued throught our stay and we always felt that nothing would be too much trouble.

Highly recommended!

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank SnorkleQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2008

We stayed at the Metropole for one night and got a room on floor 1 with a large terrace. Unfortunately, we weren't there long enough to really enjoy the terrace. Our room was small and past it's "best by" date but clean and quiet. The powerful shower nearly caused a flood because the drain wasn't as capable as the shower. The lobby is not a place to spend any time. Breakfast was disappointing, with machine coffee (press a button for coffee, press another button for cappuccino...) and nothing warm other than toast. The location is great, however, with beautiful views of the lake from the rooms and the breakfast room. Parking adjacent to the hotel is metered public parking at a rate of 1.5 euros per hour between 8 AM and 8 PM. The staff was nice but the overall feel of the hotel was more of a casual, family-run hotel than of an upscale, professional hotel. We didn't eat dinner at the hotel but did have a very nice meal (steak) at the Swiss restaurant next door.

People arriving by car and using a GPS should note that my Garmin database did not have the hotel or any other hotel in Bellagio. I entered a hotel 4 miles from Bellagio (in a town I didn't recognize) and found myself on the other side of the lake from Bellagio! The woman who checked us in at the hotel said that everyone who uses a GPS to get there seems to get lost. Note also that the Garmin will take you to a ferry terminal and tell you to "board ferry." The take home message is to check the route on the GPS before heading out.

Overall, the Metropole provides comfortable but not extravagant accommodations. The terrace is nice if you're spending a few relaxing days there but otherwise save your money.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — could use renovation
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ctmb-traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2008

There's not much I do right (my wife tells me), but booking the Metropole for our two nights in Bellagio was! Our travelling companions who trusted my choice of hotel after a tricky drive from Venice were impressed. What a location!, what a hotel. If you ever get to Lake Como, stay in Bellagio and stay at the Metropole. Our room had the view, not "a" view, "THE" view. If you don't have smile on your face when you visit Bellagio, your dead. The hotel was superb. I want to go back!

  • Liked — Location, location, location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nokia99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2008

I do a lot of research prior to selecting a hotel. The Hotel Metropole is located directly on Lake Como. From my research, I believe it is the only hotel on the lake in Bellagio having rooms with terraces. I was lucky enough to be able to reserve a lakefront room at the Metropole with a large terrace. The location is perfect - just a short walk from the dock.

I call this hotel room "The Room with a View." It was spectacular (not the room - the view!). The room itself was spacious and clean, but simple in decor with "French" doors leading out to the terrace.

Our bathroom was large and clean also with "French" doors leading out to the terrace.

The hotel common areas were not particularly special. The front desk personnel was always courteous and helpful.

The continental breakfast was typical of what we usually are offered in Italy, plus a variety of coffee.

I highly recommend the Hotel Metropole.

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
3 Thank DameKane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2008

We stayed at the Metropole for a week in May. We chose this particular hotel because of its location (right on the lake) and were not disappointed - the views from our room were magnificent. Although the room itself was quite small, it was more than adequate and had a little balcony where you could sit in the afternoon/early evening sunshine enjoying the scenery and watching the ferries coming and going. The bathroom seemed to have been newly refurbished and had an excellent shower, washbasin, toilet and bidet.

We found all the staff to be very helpful and friendly. Francesco (the head waiter) couldn’t do enough for us and was always smiling and laughing. Bar staff and reception staff were also very amenable and pleasant.

The buffet breakfasts were pretty good serving a selection of meats, cheeses, cereal, fruit along with rolls/croissants and toast. At dinner there was always a choice but, sadly, the food was very average. The potatoes were sometimes undercooked, the fish/ meat course was often overcooked and the Risotta Milanese one evening was inedible. The rice was hard! Fancy not being able to cook a decent Risotta Milanese in Italy!!

Overall though, we enjoyed our stay. If only the cuisine could be improved somewhat, it would be excellent value for money.

  • Liked — The location / views
  • Disliked — Food
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bellagio
0.3 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
0.1 mi away
Hotel Du Lac
Hotel Du Lac
#4 of 16 in Bellagio
763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Bellagio
#6 of 16 in Bellagio
722 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
#2 of 16 in Bellagio
867 reviews
1.9 mi away
Royal Victoria
Royal Victoria
#1 of 6 in Varenna
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metropole Bellagio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metropole Bellagio

Property: Hotel Metropole Bellagio
Address: Piazza Giuseppe Mazzini 1, 22021 Bellagio, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellagio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Bellagio
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bellagio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Metropole Bellagio 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently restored, Hotel Metropole is situated in the center of the village and is the only one with restaurant and terrace directly on the lake. The rooms have a beautiful view, full or side, some with balcony or terrace; all have private facilities with bath or shower, air conditioning, electric fans, telephone, TV satellite, mini-bar, hairdryer. On the nice solarium you can admire the spectacular panorama of the Como lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Metropole Bellagio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Metropole Bellagio Italy - Lake Como

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing