We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bella metropole bellagio”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Metropole Bellagio
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Bellagio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We enjoyed staying in this hotel with its wonderful old world style and views. A lake front room is certainly the best view in town with small balconies to watch all the action on the lake. We love boats so watching the passenger ferries and car ferries, hydrofoils and speedboats was a boaties dream come true. Service was excellent and hotel restaurant was very good. Great set off point for other parts of the mid lake area as well

Room Tip: Ask for lake front room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank botot_alpha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,103)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

501 - 507 of 1,103 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2013

Booked this for a couple nights while staying in Bellagio. We had a room with a side view facing the streets. The view is absolutely breathtaking. It was a bit noisy at night with the musicians outside but I think it added to the ambience of being in Italy. We enjoyed a couple dinners within a short walking distance. It's a great location in the middle of everything.The staff was great. The food at the hotel was fantastic. In fact, we ate there twice! Breakfast was a plus at the hotel with gorgeous views of Lake Como. I would stay here again in a heartbeat!!

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Beachbum71412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

This is one of the more difficult reviews I have written as there are so many plus and minus points that a conclusion is difficult.
Firstly the location. Well, if you want Como and a bit of life, Bellagio is the place to be and the Hotel Metropole is right in the middle of it. It is close to the shops and restaurents and is also close to the ferries. The latter point has a downside as the car ferry starts at about 7.15am and lets everyone know about it. There is also noise from the kitchen extractors to consider if you are at the South end of the building, as we were. At night there is frequently live music at the nearby bar and although it finishes around 11.00pm if you want an early night, forget it. We mostly joined others in the bar or otherwise shut the windows, put the earplugs in and turned on the air conditioning. Overall, noise was not a problem but one problem we did note was the cooking smells from the extractors. Depending on the wind direction and location of the room it can be offensive. These smells are also noticeable on the roof garden at times.
The rooms are very small for a double and having just returned from a week driving around Europe I can safely say that they are the smallest I have seen. We could only get the side lake view rooms and with no balcony the size (or lack of it) is all the more noticeable. On the other hand the rooms are spotlessly clean. The 'bathrooms' are snug to say the least and although there is a very, very good shower it is small and there is no bath. We found that we were constantly under each others feet when in the room but it did not really matter as apart from sleeping we spent very little time there.
The staff were first class and very helpful. Breakfast was pretty good although sometimes various items ran out and were slow to be replenished. For the last two days there was no fresh orange juice but one of the waiters kindly fetched me some from the bar when I pointed out that I do not like carrot juice or pineapple juice! The restaurent is as good as any we tried whilst in Bellagio and has a super location on the edge of the lake.
All of the above must be taken in context with the price. This is a 3 star hotel and for Bellagio it is not expensive. Bottom line, would I stay there again? The answer is yes, most definately but I would insist on a lake view room with balcony, preferably on the North end of the building.

Room Tip: Insist on a lake view room at the North end of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Critical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Located right on the lake, no doubt best location for a hotel in Bellagio. The best rooms are those facing the lake, side rooms still Good with street views and partial lake views. Staff are very accommodating and the breakfast was great. We ate in their restaurant that is right on the lake and had a good meal that we have reviewed separately. Their terrace bar is a great location for a cocktail at the end of the day. We would certainly stay here again.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank francophilestwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

You cannot beat the position. Wonderful front facing rooms with awesome views!! Rooms are basic but spotless. Comfortable beds and a small mini bar for emergencies!! All round a great little place to stay and very central. Breki was also great with a good selection.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clifton6301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

The room we stayed in was basic and clean, and was situated on the lake side of the building with a balcony. The 180 degree view both day and night was simply stunning. The breakfast was very good, and the staff were always welcoming and helpful. A great place to stay.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank L S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

This historic, elegant hotel in the picturesque seaside village of Bellagio modestly rates itself as 3***, but it is actually much closer to 4**** standards, and we had a very comfortable and enjoyable four nights stay there. The hotel is in the heart of the town, in an attractive location right on the lakeside, and while having lunch or dinner in its patio restaurant you can enjoy lovely views across Lake Como. We had dinner in the hotel’s restaurant on two occasions and the food was excellent, and the service warm and attentive. The breakfast buffet was also good (They did run out of croissants on a couple of mornings, but that was a minor blip!)

Our room had a sideview of the lake and was equipped with just about everything you might want, and also had good air-conditioning. The room was attractively furnished with good beds. The front-desk staff were friendly and courteous throughout our stay.

Tip: If you are coming by train, Como San Giovanni is the main railway station (for trains from/to Milan and Switzerland), the other is Como Nord Lago station (for trains from/to Milano Centrale or Milano N.Cadorna, and from Milan Malpensa Airport, but involving a change at Saronno to take a Trenord train), and from there you can either take the bus or a boat to reach Bellagio. The C30 bus to Bellagio has frequent daily departures from Como San Giovanni station and the trip takes about 1hr. 10mins. You must purchase tickets in advance from the ‘Tabacchi’ at Como station or, vice-versa, from a ‘Tabacchi’ selling bus tickets in Bellagio. The fares are very modest, but beware that during the main holiday seasons the buses can be very crowded. On both our journeys to and from Bellagio several passengers had to stand for all or part of the way. So you might want to consider the luxury of taking a taxi from Como San Giovanni. The hotel will be able to recommend you a taxi service that won’t try to rip you off!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank flowerofscotland10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bellagio hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
0.1 mi away
Hotel Du Lac
Hotel Du Lac
#3 of 16 in Bellagio
833 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Bellagio
#6 of 16 in Bellagio
791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
1.4 mi away
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
#2 of 16 in Bellagio
954 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Florence
Hotel Florence
#7 of 16 in Bellagio
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metropole Bellagio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metropole Bellagio

Address: Piazza Giuseppe Mazzini 1, 22021 Bellagio, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellagio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Bellagio
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bellagio
Price Range: $120 - $271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Metropole Bellagio 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently restored, Hotel Metropole is situated in the center of the village and is the only one with restaurant and terrace directly on the lake. The rooms have a beautiful view, full or side, some with balcony or terrace; all have private facilities with bath or shower, air conditioning, electric fans, telephone, TV satellite, mini-bar, hairdryer. On the nice solarium you can admire the spectacular panorama of the Como lake. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Metropole Bellagio Italy - Lake Como

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing