We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel i've ever stayed in”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Metropole Bellagio
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Bellagio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We booked this hotel after using trip advisor to compare hotels in this area. We booked a side view room but we were upgraded and had a big balcony which had a good lake view. The room was amazing, there was a little sound from the street below but I slept so well it was almost as good as my own bed!

We've never encountered such friendly staff, everyone was so helpful and went out of their way to provide advice & make sure all the guests had a good stay.

The food was good, good selection at breakfast and breathtaking views from the terrace. Evening meal was possibly the best I've ever had - panzerotti in white truffle sauce - i highly recommend it and discount for hotel guests was the perfect finishing touch. The only negative was the coffee at breakfast wasn't very hot but this seemed a common theme at the hotels on the lake front and the selection of juices compensated.

Good transport links with frequent ferries, busses and a train station in nearby Varrena made this a good base for exploring the lake and nearby Milan. We also went to the F1 at Monza which took about an hour via ferry&train.

The perfect base we cannot wait to return, you won't regret booking this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kimshads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,103)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

647 - 653 of 1,103 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2012

Stayed 4 nights at the hotel Metropole on lake Como at Bellagio. When I say on the lake this hotel is right next to the lake giving uninterrupted views. Our room on the second floor was relatively spacious, newly redecorated and very clean. It had a small balcony with French doors leading on to it and good storage and hanging space for clothes. The view was amazing and overcame the rather bland room decor. It is also worthwhile noting that the hotel faces west so in the afternoon it is too hot to sit on the balcony. Another point to note is the tiny elevator. Being claustrophobic i could not bring myself to use it but the stairs are wide and easy to negotiate and i reasoned it was good to work off the food and drinks i was having.The breakfast is served in a lovely large dining room overlooking the lake. It was of reasonable standard but not exceptional. The hotel has a lovely rooftop sitting and sun baking area which would be even better if you could buy drinks there. We ate in the restaurant twice and enjoyed our meals overlooking the view. The staff in the hotel were pleasant and friendly. Overall I would recommend this hotel as, for the price, it offered a comfortable way to enjoy the area.

Room Tip: I would pay extra to get rooms on first floor with a terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judy06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stayed at the Metropole for 4 nights the end of August. We were absolutely satisfied with this cute boutique style hotel. It is clean, well located and a very good value. The staff is very kind and helpful. Buffet breakfast is great! Our room was very clean and modern. The room was a bit small, but not a problem. Internet in the room is fine.
We loved Bellagio and the surrounding lake towns. I highly recommend the Metropole!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

This hotel is absolutely on the lake's edge - there is no road in between the hotel and the water's edge, and this makes it quite unique. I can only reiterate what others have said - if views are important to you - and to me they are an essential part of the Lake experience - do book a lake front room. We were very fortunate to have a corner room - this meant there were two sets of French doors from the bedroom, and a set from the bathroom, which offered a lakeside view of its own. The rooms are not large, but ours was so light and bright, and to open the shutters in the morning and see the incredible view was just magic. The service is very good - helpful with any information you might require regarding ferries and visits to the many absolutely stunning villas in the vicinity.

Room Tip: Lake front rooms have stunning views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vicolivia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

this is a fantastic place to visit and be treated as royalty... situated on Lake Como it is inviting and place right in the village of Bellagio lake como possessed a lot of history it infuse the italian landscape and the wealth of Europe

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johngeorgeamann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Only place I would ever stay in at Bellagio, as you could not get such a central, wonderful and waterside hotel that has such great service and food. say a big hallo to the restaurant manager Ivan(say Eevan) and he will look after you. From the moment you check in the staff are polite and friendly and very helpful. Great restaurant on the waterfront, great prices, great food and great portions. Even the lunch snack bar and staff, overlooking the right side of the waterfront, are pleasant and friendly. Best rooms for Romantic couples are the 4 rooms overlooking the front on the 1st floor. Don't forget to visit Villa Monastero in Varenna, going out to the right of the main sqaure, views are amazing. Great Lunch place is Hosteria del Platani in Fiumelatte, a short walk from Varenna, you will be shocked how good the food is.

Room Tip: a simple 5 euro tip will get you 5 star service, don't be mean, reward the great service of all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gordonbelgraviaplace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Just returned from a fabulous week at Hotel Metropole. We stayed on the fourth floor with a side lake view which was stunning. Room was spacious and immaculately clean with fresh towels everyday. Breakfast on the lake is a pleasure and the bacon and eggs were well received by my husband, lovely continental selection also. Would recommend the restaurant but there are also other fab ones around ie Hotel Suisse with excellent pasta dishes and also tucked away Ristorante Grotto is a hidden jem, 8 euros for a litre of heineken and 5 euros for a half litre of wine ! Definitely cheapest drinks in Bellagio :) Also go to Menaggio and hire a speedboat and live the celebrity lifesyle 65 euros for an hour !

Room Tip: All good everyone has a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yorkshirelass12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bellagio hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
0.1 mi away
Hotel Du Lac
Hotel Du Lac
#3 of 16 in Bellagio
833 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Bellagio
#6 of 16 in Bellagio
791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
1.4 mi away
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
#2 of 16 in Bellagio
954 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Florence
Hotel Florence
#7 of 16 in Bellagio
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metropole Bellagio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metropole Bellagio

Address: Piazza Giuseppe Mazzini 1, 22021 Bellagio, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellagio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Bellagio
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bellagio
Price Range: $120 - $271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Metropole Bellagio 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently restored, Hotel Metropole is situated in the center of the village and is the only one with restaurant and terrace directly on the lake. The rooms have a beautiful view, full or side, some with balcony or terrace; all have private facilities with bath or shower, air conditioning, electric fans, telephone, TV satellite, mini-bar, hairdryer. On the nice solarium you can admire the spectacular panorama of the Como lake. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Metropole Bellagio Italy - Lake Como

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing