We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vibrant and fun location with history”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Metropole Bellagio
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Bellagio
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Vibrant and fun location with history”
Reviewed July 27, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Metropole. We chose a room with a balcony and view of Lake Como, which was fabulous. Our room was spotless, nicely decorated with modern facilities, and comfortable. Be prepared to hear the ferry traffic if your windows are open, as it is a busy location, but it adds to the fun and it is quiet at night with AC and good windows. The location is central to everything in Bellagio. The staff was friendly.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,042 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    590
    357
    68
    18
    9
See reviews for
141
669
15
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (360)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dorset
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

We stayed here for ten days and thoroughly enjoyed it. The hotel is in pole position on the edge of the lake, close to the ferries, and in among the bars and restaurants. That's the main reason why you would stay here, but the there's nothing much wrong with the hotel itself. The staff were all friendly and helpful, the rooms clean and smart, the air conditioning was quiet and effective, and the free wifi worked most of the time.
Breakfasts were so-so. The bacon and eggs were awful, fruit juice dire, and it was some days before the supply of plain yoghurt was replenished. On the other hand, the fruit was good, bread delicious, and the coffee from the machine was just the job if you like it strong.
The principal downside is that many of the rooms are tiny. There was nowhere to put our suitcases in our room, and little space to walk around. We did not have a balcony, so didn't actually spend much time in the room, preferring to hang out in the snack bar attached to the hotel. The beds were hard but comfortable. Another downside is that the hotel is noisy, a little bit because of the ferries, but also because of the other guests. We may have been unlucky, but you can hear room doors banging in the night, and the riot from the family room next door kept us awake for a couple of nights.
The restaurant is excellent and we ate there several times. The bar on the side of the hotel is alo good with exceptionally friendly staff.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DorsetDarcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

This hotel is charming and the staff are very friendly and helpful but most of all it is the perfect position in the beautiful Bellagio. We had a corner room on the third floor with views of the mountains ,lake and cobbled streets, couldn't be better. We looked at some othe hotels and were so pleased with our choice . It is close to everything and easily accesses the ferry and anything else. We would definitely stay there again. It is not 5 star but the views and position make up for it. Also it has a beautiful quiet roof terrace that on most occasions we had to ourselves.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank MelbourneSeashell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowral, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

The Hotel Metropole is perfectly located on the shores of Lake Como a couple of minutes walk from the ferry. The noise of the ferries was insignificant and actually provided some nice atmosphere.We had a large side room with a balcony and a great view of the lake for our 3 night stay. We read other reviews which noted small rooms - but our room was huge although quite basic. Breakfast in the restaurant was excellent with a very good selection. Staff were polite and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebnCraig76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

No polite welcome on arrival.

Room on fourth floor with balcony and full lake view was tiny, tired and a bit dreary. I expect more for the money. Shower: water pressure fantastic, size of shower appalling - very difficult to move without hitting sides or doors. The room is simply very/ too small for two people.The bed was very comfortable although a little short . I wanted to move hotels but was persuaded to stay. Thank God for the balcony.

The view from the balcony was absolutely stunning and the terrace on the top floor is a little haven from the hustle and bustle, and this is why you stay here.

Forget breakfast: not very appetising and surly staff - I ended up sticking to fruit.

Restaurant was always busy and the snack bar was great: attentive service and tasty food.

Giacomo at reception proved to be very helpful in organising reservations and hiring of boats.

Summary: amazing views, good location (although with all the tourists not always relaxing), don't expect much from the rooms!

Room Tip: the main reason to stay here is the view: for the extra money get a full lake view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JPXC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

We are well travelled and enjoyed many Italian holidays but our 4th floor room with side lake view has to be one of the smallest we've ever had, with barely room to swing a mouse let alone a cat. BUT don't let that put you off. The view of the lake was brilliant and so was the piazza view which had a lovely 'buzz', especially in the evenings. Yes, wardrobe and storage space was very limited-but we had free wi-fi, a free safe, great air con and a good size fridge. The room was spotless, as was the well equipped bathroom with typical Italian hand towels but proper towelling bath towels. The flat screen TV was right next to the bed, so had we wanted to watch it we would have had a crick in our necks. But that's a minor moan.
The staff were lovely, providing us with glasses of ice on request (for our room drinks). Nice touch was the receptionist who knew our room number for our key within a couple of days.
We stayed B&B, the breakfasts were bit limited in choice but I enjoyed the fruit cocktails provided each day and the omelettes made to order were excellent.
Tip: there was no mention of pool towels so we took beach towels for the sun beds on the lovely roof top terrace with amazing views. However, we were happy to find that pool towels were indeed provided- despite the fact that there was no pool.
All in all we would definitely recommend this hotel in the very lovely resort of Bellagio, and we're sorry we had only booked a one week stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynneybell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

This was a return visit to a splendid hotel on the lakeside of Como. They have recently refurbished the first two floors of the hotel and they have done an excellent job.( the other two floors next year )

Booking was efficiently done and the welcome was reasonable. Our room was on the small side but with a mini balcony looking over the lake it was fine with wide panormic views. The bathroom was modern and well lit . A/C worked o.k ( not tested in hot weather)

We happen to like the sight and noise of the ferries which didn't pose any problen.

Wifi didn't work so well with intermittant signals dropping out and you need to get the encrytion key from reception.

We had half board and the food ( 4 courses) was well prepared,and generous taken in the terrace restaurant just metres from the lake with the passing ferry and other boats to watch-. ever moving views with the added value of very speedy service under the hawkeye of the head waiter ( ex London)

Staff were friendly and helpful some having worked there for many years.

The downside ( nothing to do with the hotel) is the parking of your car. In high season very limited near the hotel for which you now have to pay €1.50 per hour every day. Free parking is available several minutes away but the fight for spaces on the weekend is a real nuisance.

In spite of the bizarre weather for early July ( storms, rain and then sun) we used Bellagio to visit places such as Villa Balbianello ( worth the visit) and wandered arounf the back of the town with its surprising little alley ways and typically italian sights and sounds.

They have a roof terrace which in the evening ( or very early morning) is a great place to be

Hope to return another year

Room Tip: ask for lakeside view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank notnefLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bellagio
0.3 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
0.1 mi away
Hotel Du Lac
Hotel Du Lac
#5 of 16 in Bellagio
779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Bellagio
#6 of 16 in Bellagio
742 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
#2 of 16 in Bellagio
884 reviews
1.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
#3 of 8 in Tremezzina
1,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metropole Bellagio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metropole Bellagio

Property: Hotel Metropole Bellagio
Address: Piazza Giuseppe Mazzini 1, 22021 Bellagio, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellagio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Bellagio
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bellagio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Metropole Bellagio 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently restored, Hotel Metropole is situated in the center of the village and is the only one with restaurant and terrace directly on the lake. The rooms have a beautiful view, full or side, some with balcony or terrace; all have private facilities with bath or shower, air conditioning, electric fans, telephone, TV satellite, mini-bar, hairdryer. On the nice solarium you can admire the spectacular panorama of the Como lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Metropole Bellagio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Metropole Bellagio Italy - Lake Como

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing