We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in a perfect little town.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Metropole Bellagio

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Metropole Bellagio to your Saves list
Hotel Metropole Bellagio
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Mazzini 1, 22021 Bellagio, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Advance Booking October
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Bellagio
Certificate of Excellence
Lexington, South Carolina
Level Contributor
169 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in a perfect little town.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011

I wanted to stay in Bellagio on this trip to Lake Como, and I chose this hotel due to the favorable reviews on Tripadvisor. I was not disappointed! I was only here for one night, and I really lucked out, as I was given a walk-out terraced room, with 2 lounge chairs and table facing the lake. I liked my room location so much that I tried to stay a second night, but they would have to move me to a room without a lake view, and I decided that I would move to my next location in Lugano.

My room itself was very average and basic, but the bathroom and bedroom both had walk-out french doors onto the terrace, which made all the difference. I felt like I was in my own private lake house. The room was also amazingly affordable.

The location is perfect and within walking distance to the entire town, which is picture perfect. The shopping is fantastic, with many boutique shops, and a locals feel overall. I will make sure I can stay longer next time, and I will definitely request the same room that I enjoyed on this trip.

Room Tip: Ask for a terraced room or balcony room on the lake-side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

890 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    502
    303
    60
    17
    8
See reviews for
115
577
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

We had a lovely stay here. Important to get a full lake view room. Our room was small but perfectly formed, with a balcony on to the beautiful lake view and very good bathroom. Very good breakfast on the delightful terrace overlooking the lake. The staff were helpful. Dinner on the terrace good, but Bellagio is full of good places to eat! There is a nice sun roof which proved to be an asset

Room Tip: Ask for full lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank davidr018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

This has to be the best place to stay in Bellagio. Just returned from a 6 night stay at the Hotel Metropole and it couldn't have been better. The position on the edge of the lake is superb. Pay a little bit more for a room on the lake with a balcony, the view you wake up to every morning is worth the extra. If you can get a room on the first floor with a large terrace, even better. It was great to watch the ferry come and go. The staff are very helpful and friendly with lots of advice. We arrived by car and were shown exactly where all the 24 hour free parking was. The free wifi throughout the hotel is an added bonus. The roof top sun terrace has the most amazing views and is a real sun trap. Breakfast is included in the room rate and is all you need, from fried egg and bacon to various breads hams and cheeses, along with fruit, cereals etc etc. This is a great place to stay, I would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Lake side rooms have view to die for !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TimJames22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

Lovely hotel in picturesque setting, convenient for transport, dining and shopping. Good food, first rate, friendly, English speaking staff and clean, well appointed rooms. The best Italian hotel we have stayed in.

Room Tip: Superb lake views from the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Glevumblues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

Excellent hotel, superb location in the centre of beautiful Bellagio.

Three of us stayed 10 nights up to last Friday in Double Room with balcony plus Single Room which had double bed. Both rooms had plenty of space, comfortable big beds, big wardrobes, flatscreen TVs, and splendidly modern and spacious bathrooms.

Views were superb from our top floor rooms, and the spacious and well-fitted Roof Terrace was magic. Reception staff were efficient and helpful in all regards. Bar staff were most obliging and helpful throughout our stay : Kim is a gem. Terrace Restaurant overlooking Lake Como was exceptional, with excellent food at all our Dinners some of the best we tasted during our heavy-eating and well-lubricated stay – and each morning, we enjoyed one of the best European Buffet Breakfasts we have ever experienced. Maitre d’ Ivan was world class, mixing the right level of friendship with efficiency : decades of experience at top London restaurants including San Lorenzo shows.

Full marks all round – and the bill at the end of it all was correct to the Euro, and surprisingly economic for such 5-star Service and Quality in a 3-Star Hotel.

Well done, Hotel Metropole. We will be back !

Oh, and a hint. Don’t just arrive via Milan Malpensa like the crowd. Fly out to Zurich, catch the EuroCity EC6 Express to Chur, stay overnight – and then travel to Italy on the Bernina Express on one of the world’s most impressive and scenic rail lines.

Change at Tirano onto Italian Railways to Varenna, and then take the ferry for your final approach to Bellagio, dropping you right in front of Hotel Metropole. A memorable journey, to a memorable place and a memorable hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StygerTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2011

We came with my daughter and her husband. They gave us both an extra room attached to our room which was great for suitcases and clothes. The dinners on the front balcony of the restaurant was great with the maitre D, Ivan, entertaining us with his quick wit.
The reception staff was always very helpful and friendly. If you cant afford the Serbelloni, this is an excellent choice with lovely views.Make sure to visit the towns on the lake by ferry. Barbanello is not open on a Monday and Wednesday.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karin12-54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011

The hotel was brilliant! The room we had was huge and lovely with a little balcony with a side view of the lake. The bathroom was a little small as was the shower, but it was still very good and very clean. The bed was 2 single mattress put together on one base and a little hard (but we found this is most hotels we stayed in for our honeymoon)

The staff were very friendly and helpful. We had breakfast included and it was excellent. Yummy, fresh and a wide variety to choose from. You also had a great view of the lake while enjoying our breakfast.

We would definitely stay there again. Great view, great hotel, great location.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yuki2703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bellagio
0.3 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
0.0 mi away
Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Bellagio
#4 of 17 in Bellagio
4.5 of 5 stars 630 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Du Lac
Hotel Du Lac
#6 of 17 in Bellagio
4.5 of 5 stars 613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
1.4 mi away
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
#2 of 17 in Bellagio
4.5 of 5 stars 771 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel La Perla
Hotel La Perla
#1 of 8 in Tremezzina
5.0 of 5 stars 710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metropole Bellagio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metropole Bellagio

Property: Hotel Metropole Bellagio
Address: Piazza Mazzini 1, 22021 Bellagio, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellagio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Bellagio
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bellagio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Metropole Bellagio 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently restored, Hotel Metropole is situated in the center of the village and is the only one with restaurant and terrace directly on the lake. The rooms have a beautiful view, full or side, some with balcony or terrace; all have private facilities with bath or shower, air conditioning, electric fans, telephone, TV satellite, mini-bar, hairdryer. On the nice solarium you can admire the spectacular panorama of the Como lake. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Metropole Bellagio Italy - Lake Como

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing