We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel in a Beautiful Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Excelsior Splendide
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Bellagio
Reviewed May 20, 2010

I have to totally honest with you, On reading the previous reviews of this hotel my heart was filled with dread and a certain amount of fear but i shouldn't and nor should you take any notice of some of the previous reviews.
On arriving at the hotel (we travelled from Como to Bellagio by bus) i was instantly hit with the beautiful location the hotel was situated, looking straight out over Lake Como.
The lobby to the hotel is special and is filled with sofa's and chairs which are in keeping with the style of the hotel.
We were allocated a Lake view room on the 1st floor which was massive and had a large double bed and 2 single beds, the bathroom was a good size as well.
The breakfast we received was ample and plentiful, on each table there is a basket with bread or rolls, there is also a an area in the corner of the dining room which has a good selection of cold meats, cheese, cereals, cakes / croissants, Yoghurts and finally fruit.
There is also a juice dispenser and a hot drinks dispenser which i have to agree the coffee is terrible but the hot chocolate was very nice as was the tea.
I found the staff very helpful even when i managed to lock the safe in the room and forgot what number i had entered, nothing was too much trouble for them.
We came early season and it was very quiet which was a benefit as we had the place pretty much to ourselves.
In front of the hotel is the ferry terminal which has ferries going all over Lake Como, we bought a day ticket at travelled all over the centre of the lake which was brilliant.
All in all we all had a wonderful time and i would recommend this hotel and i will definitely return in the future

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank toonarmy71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (540)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Excelsior Splendide
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

332 - 338 of 541 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2010

...and given the other options in Bellagio...you should other options as well. I know that sounds harsh, but I would have been happer knowing we could have done better in Bellagio. First if all, let me say that the staff is excellent and very friendly. They are not the issue in any way.

The issue that this hotel is just old. Very old. And not well maintained or updated in any way. The not being updated part is totally fine. No issue there. But the maintained part is clearly an issue and something that all hotels should maintain and keep up with. The room we were given was large, but it was in very bad shape. The floors creaked and felt pretty weak (like a very old farmhouse) and the beds were not super comfortable. For those of you that may say: "you sign up for a 3 star hotel, this is what you get." That may be so, but we just traveled SE Asia for 2+ months and have been in Europe previously and this was not a 3 star in my opinion. The shower was not really existent(shower was a tub with hand held shower head).

The location is excellent and from the outside it looks awesome. Very close to the ferry stop and a truly awesome location for Bellagio. But you can certainly do better for the same price or roughly 10-20 Euros more. The walls are PAPER THIN and be prepared to literally hear everything in the rooms next to you. I have read that in many reviews and never really been impacted by it (too much), but here it was incredible how thin the walls were.

Not that I am in the business, but I would update this place pretty quickly because the location alone is not going to keep this place going with the other options in Bellagio.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 44cuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2009

very very tired decor bedroom facilties very poor. the restaraunt should be avoided at all costs

Stayed: October 2009
Thank Kevsaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2009

Although we did not have a reservation, the hotel staff was very accommodating and friendly. The room was very clean and quiet, and the price was very reasonable.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BurritoA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2009

reading negative comments before we went we were very apprehensive, however it was fine,although faded glory it had great character ,clean,friendly staff,the food was o.k.we would certainly use this hotel again.Como was beautiful, the best of the lakes.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank norton7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2009

I write this review purely to comment on the meal I had here a week ago. I have a holiday home in the area and we dine out quite a lot. As a result, we experience a wide range of the food available and the various presentations of some standard menu favourites. The old 'cocktail di gamberetto, is one such 'standard'. Basic in it's concept, it should be pretty hard to mess up such a dish and when charging €10.50 a time you should be sending out a good one; a good quantity of fresh prawns on a bed of crispy lettuce with a proportionate amount of dressing would be a minimum requirement. Therefore, to receive bowls of seafood sauce with a few 'micro prawns' and a sliver of lettuce buried within was disappointing to say the least. To be blunt, a primary school cookery class would have produced way better for €2.
If you stay here, I hope you find the chef on better form than we did. If you are looking to dine and are taken in by the beautiful surroundings and lakeside tables.....there are a wealth of fine alternatives within fifty metres!! Sorry to say but this meal left a bad taste in the mouth in more ways than one!!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Trooper22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2009

For a hotel in such a fantastic location and in a wonderful old building this was very disappointing.
The front desk was not very helpful and were unable to offer any internet access.
The breakfast was very poor, as noted in other reviews, watered down fruit juices and dreadful coffee from vending machines, overseen by disinterested 'waiters' who ignore you on entry and only make contact to demand your room number.
We couldnt bring ourselves to try dinner, eating out each evening in the delightful town.
The hotel desperately needs redecorating and some investment in new fixtures and fittings to replace the current formica furniture in the bedrooms. Also more enthusiastic staff would provide some atmosphere. They currently seem more interested in each other than their clients.
The karoake in the bar opposite was everything that we dislike about Eurovision and our car was parked on the opposite side of town as the hotel had no allocated parking spaces.
If we return to Bellagio we would select one of several attractive hotels also on the waterfront.

Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
2  Thank laPievina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bellagio hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
0.1 mi away
Hotel Du Lac
Hotel Du Lac
#4 of 16 in Bellagio
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Bellagio
#5 of 16 in Bellagio
759 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
#2 of 16 in Bellagio
921 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Centrale
Hotel Centrale
#8 of 16 in Bellagio
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Excelsior Splendide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Excelsior Splendide

Address: Lungolario Alessandro Manzoni 28, 22021 Bellagio, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellagio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Bellagio
Price Range: $122 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Excelsior Splendide 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Excelsior Splendide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Splendide Bellagio
Excelsior Splendide Hotel
Hotel Excelsior Splendide Bellagio, Italy - Lake Como

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing