We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Excelsior Splendide
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Bellagio
Reviewed June 22, 2013

This is our second stay at the Excelsior Splendide, first time about five or six years ago and it appears to have had a bit of a tidy up since our last visit. Quite pricey but as expected for the location right on the beautiful harbour front and we hadn't pre-booked.

Only criticism is that it was extremely hot during our visit, 35 degrees plus and the air conditioning in the rooms is controlled by the hotel and despite requests it apparently could not be lowered which was a bit frustrating. What is the point of having air conditioning in rooms if you cannot control it yourself?

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NYHel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (553)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

254 - 260 of 553 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2013

Good location for the view (if you have a lake view room as we did) but a lot of street noise, particularly from scooters. There is no room service, no minibar, dreadful shower equipment, very poor food in the dining room where the coffee only comes out of a dispenser. (I'm in Italy for God's sake! From something you find in the office lunch room!)
The staff were mostly helpful and our stay was incident free. We thought with a little effort and cost they could make things a lot better. Very poor attention to detail and we can't recommend it. We think that of Bellagio as well. Certainly worth visiting but next time we would stay in Menaggio.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Parking was a little hard to find, but seeing as we arrived on Saturday afternoon that was expected. It seemed as everyone flocked to Bellagio for the day, but stayed in another village. The whole area was packed all day, it was hard to walk around. We ate at the restaurany directly in front of the hotel. I can't remember if it was affiliated with the hotel or not, but the food was unimpressive. Very bland and boring. The hotel had a great location, and the room was beautiful. Good size and a great view. Would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Shannon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

This was our second trip to Hotel Splendide as we were getting married in Varenna and a few of our guests joined us in the hotel.

Mary and Mariam are the perfect hostesses in ensuring everything went smoothly for us - including some lovely flowers and wine for our arrival.

On both visits we had attic rooms overlooking the lake with a little balcony. Spectacular views and considering the prices some guests paid at nearby hotels with the same views, this was excellent value for money.

The breakfasts were very ample and a good selection, the hotel itself is full of character and a great location right near the ferry and in the centre of town (it gets very hilly outside of the main town centre).

We really hope we can return to Bellagio again and stay in Hotel Splendide and would like to thank Mary for making our trip so special.

We will be back!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kat D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Great old lobby and entrance in a great location! Good breakfast. Room and bathroom were large in size with views of the lake :-) the downside: a computer monitor sized TV mounted high on a wall, antiquated decor and a shower with no shower curtain. So strange. Needless to say we flooded our bathroom daily. This was a royal pain in the behind. It was only two days so we dealt with it. No parking, so you have to pay meter parking or find a free spot up the hill which is tough.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank The_Viaggiatore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Great location with amazing views and right on the promenade. The main issue (and maybe it was just our room, #11) was that there was no shower curtain so when we showered water flooded the bathroom. I haven't seen any other reviews about this problem so maybe we just got the crappy room. Since it's 2013, I would assume that people would at least add a rod and shower curtain to there bathtubs so that the room doesn't flood... but that's just my opinion (and my boyfriend's). The 2 star down the street at least had an actual shower, but you have to climb up the cobblestone steps to get to that hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Not sure why there are any bad reviews for this hotel at all???!!!! Our three day stay in the hotel splendide in bellagio in may 2013 was just wonderful!
All of the staff were lovely and nothing too much trouble, Including more than adequate breakfast (if an item ran out it was replaced promptly) . A hotel full of old fashioned character , from the large marble foyer and lovely wide sweeping staircase(including a lift for luggage if needed) to the wide hallways upstairs.
Our room was clean comfortable and well appointed, with a modern bathroom and nice, hot shower (which is ok in size, unless you are a large person) looking over the ferry dock and restuarants and out to a magnificent view of the lake and mountains from our balcony.
Quaint cobbled streets full of shops restuarants and cafes only a few minutes stroll away.
Car parking is1.50euro per hour in public areas, but the hotel can show you where to park nearby for free during your stay. Getting to other gorgeous towns across the lake is so convenient by ferry and we even took a drive up to the hills behind bellagio and discovered panoramic views of lake como that should definitely not be missed and a little cafe for a wine on the way back down.
If we are ever lucky enough to visit bellagio again we would definitley stay here! Every local little restuarant was fabulous and always warm and friendly service.
Fell in love with it. After all, travelling is all about seeing other places and enjoying other cultures and their people of the world, not having a bellman or room service!

Room Tip: book early and ask for a lake view room.. The first floor has three rooms with a little lake view ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cheryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bellagio hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
0.1 mi away
Hotel Du Lac
Hotel Du Lac
#4 of 16 in Bellagio
831 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Bellagio
#5 of 16 in Bellagio
784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
1.3 mi away
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
#2 of 16 in Bellagio
954 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Centrale
Hotel Centrale
#8 of 16 in Bellagio
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Excelsior Splendide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Excelsior Splendide

Address: Lungolario Alessandro Manzoni 28, 22021 Bellagio, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellagio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Bellagio
Price Range: $123 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Excelsior Splendide 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Excelsior Splendide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Splendide Bellagio
Excelsior Splendide Hotel
Hotel Excelsior Splendide Bellagio, Italy - Lake Como

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing