We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Does the job” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Excelsior Splendide

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Excelsior Splendide
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Bellagio
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Does the job”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

Nice hotel, close to wharf and easy access to all. Good breakfast bar...but be quick.
Great outdoor bar area. Cheap wifi - bargain the price down €3 for 5 days... Pretty good!...................................................

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AUS_Jase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    183
    114
    46
    32
See reviews for
78
263
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

We have just returned from a week at this hotel booked as a half board package via Inghams - we have travelled to the lakes for over 15 years and this was the worst experience we have ever encountered. Our room on the 3rd floor with a lake view was extremely cold on the days that the sun did not shine, we had to ask for extra blankets and requested some form of heating that did not materialise - we took the chill off by leaving all the mediocre lights on all the time when not in the room and when we were there the travel iron went on as well!
The room was clean but tired, painted walls and no pictures - view across the lake only bright point when the low cloud was not there. The bathroom was reasonably clean but very tired with
broken fittings in cramped shower cubicle with overhead shower ; no soap dish or grab handle - having a shower was fun on the slippy floor ! 1 broken towel rail and a broken loo paper holder in the basin area. Plenty of hot water though ... The exit from the glazed tiled floor bathroom was down a 225mm high step onto a highly polished vinyl dark brown and slippy floor into a unlit passage leading to the bedroom - the lighting as stated was really dim and it was no surprise that my wife suffered a heavy fall when exiting the bathroom in slippers - we had to place a dining room chair in the passage as there were no grab handles to assist on either into or out of the bathroom. We reported the fall to the Inghams Rep - Tedora.
Clean towels every day and regular bed linen change only plus points
Moving downstairs - the Hotel Management were quite intent on giving their guests the ' fresh air
treatment' at all times - every day the front door and restaurant door were pinned open and on the dull rainy and windy days outside temp of 15Deg C made no difference - the dining room was freezing and we had to dress accordingly !
Breakfast was adequate but the staff wanted you out poste haste and dont try and get a coffee more than 10 mins after the latest breakfast time of 09.30hrs as the machine was on a timer and would not dispense !
Dinner food was typical of the area and some meals were very basic - my main course of grilled anchovies was just that - a heap of grilled fishes, half a cherry tomato and a single slice of zucchini ! Bon appetite! Dont expect an excess of vegetables as they will not arrive - we did get a baked potato once !
We got a free lunch as part of our package and surprisingly this was quite acceptable although we did insist on some french fries to complete the grilled lake fish meal - got some strange looks but we won through on that one - good job the surly head waiter was off that day as on another day when i requested i was told ' not possible' - that guy definitely was not happy - possibly he was stressed out as it was the final week of their 'holiday season'. The assisting staff were quite helpfull and even better when 'head' was not around.
The Hotel Management - hardly evident and not a welcome or greeting in sight

Well thats about all - we will still travel to and through the lakes but our hotel choice next time will certainly exclude the Splendide !

PS - If you are likely to be there in the heat of summer - there is no A/C in room - just a portable fan that must be out of a museum!

GS
Tiger800rider

Room Tip: Dont Stay there !
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happytiger_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bellagio hotels

Gosport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

We purchased a late deal (2months before our trip) via Expedia.co.uk at a very good price. The stay at the hotel was excellent value for money and we would certainly be happy to come here again.

We had a loft room which was ample in size for two of us and had stunning views from the rooftops overlooking the lake.

Service was very good. All staff are courteous, friendly and speak very good English. Breakfast was also good-continental variety buffet style and we will miss waking up to the smell of fresh croissants!

Great location in the heart of town near bars, restaurants and shops. Very close to the ferry service for access to the other lake towns.

Excellent hotel - very happy with the stay here and look forward to returning in the future.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kat D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

We were very fortunate to have one of only three rooms that had a large balcony at the front of the hotel overlooking the lake. Our period room was quite large, nicely decorated with adequate furnishings, but the bed was a bit lumpy. It also had a large shower room. The views of the lake were breathtaking. As the windows were not double glazed there was some road noise but were are both heavy sleepers so this did not bother us. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The food was very italian i.e. four courses, salad, pasta, main with fish or meat and dessert. Always more than enough to eat.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel have breathtaking views but if you are a light sleeper would suggest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janis8248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wil, Switzerland
Level Contributor
108 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

Nice Hotel, room was a bit small as also the balcony. but the view was fantastic. very friendly staff. breakfast buffet limited with offered food, but quality was ok. as mentioned the room was small, but clean. bathroom was clean to. Elevator is very slow. Only negative point is, that the hotel doesn't offer any free parking.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hamacas78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

We and our two friends each had a lake view room on the 3rd floor. The rooms are clean and fresh linen each day. They are a little tired and the soap dish and towel holder were broken in bathroom of room 37. there was lashings of hot water and the shower was powerful and fixed (no bathtub and hand shower like other reviewers had). If you want a modern 4star hotel then do not come to this hotel. We found this 100+year old hotel charming, lovely character and a beautiful marble staircase. The staff were great, most able to communicate with us dispite our lack of italian. The maitre de Perry was amazing and very friendly, nothing was too much trouble, and like other reviewers, we ordered gelata (ice cream)for last course of dinner which was homemade and delicious. Food was good and breakfasts were continental but sufficient. Wine and Prosecco were reasonably priced. As it was a birthday for both of our ladies during the holiday, we asked the lady on reception if she could book Salice Blu restaurant one night and to be collected from the hotel, which she did willingly. (See my review on Salice Blu). If, like us, you like the double glazed balcony windows open at night, expect to be woken by the first ferry of the day if a light sleeper but we did not find that a problem. I could write lots more but suggest you come to Bellagio (probably the best Como resort) with Inghams and the let their charming rep Teodora guide you. Stay at The Hotel Splendide, and one evening have some fabulous cocktails in the bar in front of the hotel, while you can listen to Randy Cohen sing and play The Blues. He was playing there Friday and Saturday during out stay! Voice like a cross between Richie Havens and Joe Cocker!

Room Tip: Choose a Lake view room if you don't mind the noise of the boats
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EssexJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinez, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Excelsior Splendide in September and really the only good things I can say about this hotel is that the views were spectacular as we were in a corner room and had three windows in the sleeping area and one in the bathroom and the location is convenient to the ferry. The negatives are: no shower just a hand held sprayer in the tub (great for washing the walls), one wall of the bathroom had glass doors that adjoined the corridor outside our room (OMG...Thank goodness they were painted on both sides!!), the curtains had holes in them and were half hanging from the rods, the third bed was swayback, noisy and uncomfortable. They had an average continental breakfast and we felt we were being rushed out. Needless to say were not impressed.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mills50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bellagio hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Metropole Bellagio
Hotel Metropole Bellagio
#4 of 16 in Bellagio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Du Lac
Hotel Du Lac
#6 of 16 in Bellagio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Bellagio
#5 of 16 in Bellagio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
1.3 mi away
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
#2 of 16 in Bellagio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Excelsior Splendide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Excelsior Splendide

Property: Hotel Excelsior Splendide
Address: Lungolario Alessandro Manzoni 28, 22021 Bellagio, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellagio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Bellagio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Excelsior Splendide 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Excelsior Splendide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Splendide Bellagio
Excelsior Splendide Hotel
Hotel Excelsior Splendide Bellagio, Italy - Lake Como

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing