We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little jewel...”
Review of Hotel Silvio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Silvio
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Bellagio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Our guidebook recommended it... and it said that Bellagio was quiet and lovely in the spring... they were right!!!The hotel is very clean, the staff is friendly and you feel very welcome. Rooms are small but spacious with a little terrace where you can see the lake. The walk to the town is short and very nice if you walk through the gardens at Villa Melzi (beautiful!!). The breakfast, which is included, is huge and delicious (fresh orange juice, coffee, tea, croissants, bread, cheese, meat, eggs, cereals, fruits, cookies and pies)and the view in the diningroom is simply amazing! We'll go back! The bus to Como stops there too...

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank G T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (608)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Silvio
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

190 - 196 of 608 reviews

Reviewed May 16, 2013

We booked this hotel for one night as it had air conditioning. When we arrived our room was like an oven with no shutters or curtains. We could not get the AC to work so went to reception. They said they control it by computer but it still didn't work,not even the fan option. We were the. Told a technician was coming tomorrow but we needed it now. We were then told it wasn't working as we had a window open. All windows were in fact closed! At 10.30pm we spoke to the duty manager who said there was no air conditioning allowed in the hotel until the authorities allowed him to put it on! We asked for a fan and they said they had none. Many guest had a terrible night. The restaurant had a good view but our food arrived cold. The restaurant and reception had AC!!!!
Breakfast was a fiasco for all. One server who was run off here feet and the food had run out on the buffet. So many people were complaining in reception but no reduction on the bill.
We then moved to another hotel for 6 nights which was perfect in every way. So be warned about this hotel and do not take the risk

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 9elliot999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

I didn't dislike this place, but I expected a lot more from the other reviews. Firstly, on the positive side, the fresh orange juice at breakfast is a really nice touch and did much to increase the positive factor in this review. The restaurant and breakfast area also has a fantastic view of the lake (although we didn't eat anything but breakfast there). So that's the good bit. We expected the hotel to be far more central, but it's a 10min walk at least to the centre of Bellagio. Which is ok if you're prepared to pay €6.50 to walk via the lake and the Meltzi gardens (which are nice), but if you walk along the road it's fairly unpleasant as there's no sidewalk and the road is busy. We found out later that the hotel can shuttle to you the town centre. But the room was a disappointment. Our room was decorated in a lilac-silver theme, which wouldn't be to everyone's taste. The floral lilac/pink bedspread was littered with fuzz balls (something I wouldn't condone in my own spare bedroom at home), and our ceiling fan's one blade was broken off. It just gave me a really tatty impression. Bathroom was ok, the place was clean, and from peeping into other rooms it seems that some have been refurbished or at least their bedspreads have been replaced with nicer white ones. Our room also faced the road (it was advertised as garden/part lake view), and it's a fairly busy road. So if you're sensitive to noise, especially joy riding motorbikes on the weekend, it could be a problem for you. Wifi was also not free, which is a really silly thing not to do these days. It makes one feel like they're trying to squeeze an extra euro or 2 out of guests. So overall, if you're prepared not to be totally central, if you can get a proper full-on lake facing view in a newer room, you might be ok. And get to breakfast well before the 9:45 cut-off, else you might find your choices have been reduced.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonComfortseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Positives - overall a positive stay with a few quibbles. The rooms are clean and the balcony is a nice touch. Definitely recommend walking through the gardens to the town centre: very beautiful.

Negatives - we may just have been unlucky but the service at the restaurant was incredibly slow so much so we felt we were being ignored. Additionally on our last day we had to leave early to drive to the airport. We went down for breakfast at 7.45 but were told it wasnt ready despite breakfast being advertised from 7.30.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mariposa899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

It may not be in the harbour and core of the Bellagio, but it is walking distance and the bit off the busy track is a really good thing here. Very warm welcome and very helpful. Once we found it by walking from the ferry port, they advised us that we should have called them for a complimentary pick-up - did not know this - perhaps something they can let their guests know ahead of time. We did however take them up on their offer to return us.

I spent a lot time studying where on Lake Como to go and then which place to stay - I have to stay that I hit the nail on the head both times. Lake Como and Bellagio is absolutely stunning, one of the most picturesque place on earth - bar none.

The staff was very helpful in giving us ideas and what to do - all very good. The room was a bit on the small side, but extremely clean and the view (you must get a lake view) was stunning - small veranda to sit, drink wine and gaze. They even gave us a complimentary bottle of wine. BTW, they also make their own ginger beer - which was very nice. The restaurant for dinner was fantastic. Hubby enjoyed the best fish he ever had and you must (absolutely must) try their wild boar pasta - OMG so so good. And the restaurant has a lovely view of the lake to boot!

Hands down, if I return there - and I would love to - I'll be reserving this place.

Room Tip: Highest room you can get - and you MUST take a lakeview room.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jjdh-y64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

We stayed 2 nights in early fall. We had 2 rooms. Our first stop in Italy, 1.5 hr drive from Malpensa airport. This was the most perilous drive of our trip thru northern Italy! Driving is intense! Cars are going both directions with stone walls along the edges of the roadway and mere inches of space on each side.

The hotel is a few minutes drive from the shopping area in Bellagio but there are no sidewalks on the road between the hotel and the town so it is not safe to walk. The hotel offers a shuttle service to get to/from town and we used this several times. You simply call for a ride back. Or there is parking in town.

The hotel is a gem. The property overlooks Lake Como, which is down one flight of stone stairs. Silvia is very helpful and kind and we felt very welcome. Dinner was very good, upscale. The breakfast buffet was lovely with yummy cappuccino, fresh croissants, a little machine to make soft boiled eggs, all sorts of good treats. The rooms are small and extremely clean. The shower was very small. Our kids were treated kindly.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gypsy999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for two nights during our honeymoon. We had a top floor room facing the lake. The views from the spacious balcony were awesome. The breakfast was delicious -- grab a couple oranges from the bowl on your table and toss them into the juicer for some of the best o.j. you'll ever have, and enjoy some really fresh, tasty food! And the staff were super helpful -- driving us back and forth from the hotel to the center of town and providing recommendations on where to eat and visit.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LisaMMStone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bellagio hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
0.7 mi away
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
#2 of 16 in Bellagio
925 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Bellagio
#5 of 16 in Bellagio
760 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Du Lac
Hotel Du Lac
#4 of 16 in Bellagio
808 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Fioroni
Hotel Fioroni
#10 of 16 in Bellagio
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Silvio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Silvio

Address: Via Paolo Carcano 12, 22021 Bellagio, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellagio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Bellagio
Price Range: $130 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Silvio 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each of the 21 comfortably equipped rooms offers an en suite bathroom with shower; private telephone; satellite TV set; hair dryer; safe; air fan and heater. "Mansarda" level rooms are also air conditioned. At the disposal of each Guest, there is also Sun Terrace; open air, free Parking; Garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Silvio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silvio Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Silvio Bellagio, Italy - Lake Como

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing