We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“***Hotel Silvio*** Great Hotel, even better Restaurant”
Review of Hotel Silvio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Silvio
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Bellagio
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“***Hotel Silvio*** Great Hotel, even better Restaurant”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

The hotel was our first stop on a trip to Lake Como and what a good choice it was. It is located 10mins walk outside of the heart of the lovely town Bellagio. The hotel is very smart, rooms clean and lake view rooms have a lovely balcony with chairs and a sun lounger and amazing view of the lake. The hotel offer a free shuttle into the town or you can walk but the walk back is all uphill. There is a 'Lido' 5mins from the hotel where you can swim, sunbath, eat and drink.

The restaurant in the hotel is lovely, hugely recommend eating there, I would book as it gets very busy.

Every member of staff was extremely friendly and helpfull, would 100% return.

Room Tip: If you haven't booked a lake view ask if you can pay for an upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    178
    71
    27
    19
See reviews for
86
376
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Greece
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

The most positive thing in "silvio" hotel is the staff.
Incredibly helpfull reception, always smiling, very good english, i was amazed about all of them.
The same about the breakfast's staff, they were all quite helpfull.
Shuttle service to Belaggio center

the rooms were new, nice bathrooms, plenty of towels and very clean, the have toothpaste, shaving equipment, nice soaps. 10/10

i didnt like the fact you couldnt open a window, as they were locked

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dimitris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 7, 2012

I stayed here for one night on a tour of Italy, and I wish I could have stayed longer! Incredibly kind and helpful staff, a really excellent restaurant, and lovely rooms. We paid a little extra to have a lake view and it was so worth it. The staff is so friendly and there is a shuttle service that goes to downtown Bellagio. Amazing views of the lake, and close to some nice gardens and a public beach. I wish I could go back! My only warning is that if you eat outside at the restaurant, you will have to deal with lots of little gnats, but that is the only problem we had.

Room Tip: Get one with a balcony! Lovely view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tess D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

My husband and I have just come back from a short stay at Lake Como and I cant stop smiling! It was our first trip away without the children in 17 years and we couldn't have chosen better.Firstly, we got cheap flights into Bergamo and spent a fabulous 24 hours soaking up everything Italian in the Old City and then we used the very efficient public transport up to Bellagio and to the lovely Albergo Silvio... the guy who said it had no wow factor cant have stayed in a room on the front with a lake view as that was the best wow factor I've ever seen! The staff were fab especially the lovely ladies on reception and were happy to make phone calls or run us into town when we were too weary to walk or carry cases.The hotel is 3 star but feels really special owing to its fantastic location, lovely fish restaraurant and such friendly and efficient staff.... can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Side rooms are very pleasant but you must spend a little more and get that fantastic lake view at th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peter e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Our 4th visit here in June 2012 was as pleasant as ever. The location is stunning with great views across the lake, helped by our room with balcony on the front. The restaurant is very good with plenty of fish on offer. All staff members were warm and friendly and in particular Sabrina and Silvia on reception could not have been more helpful. The whole atmosphere is very relaxed. We shall keep coming back.
James & Marie-Claire Delaney - London UK

Room Tip: Ask for front room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamesdelaney1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We have just returned from another lovely 3 night stay at the Sylvio. My best friend first brought me here for my 30th birthday and I have since brought my husband and then the latest trip with my husband and his parents. The hotel was refurbished since my very first trip. The rooms are fairly basic, but have air conditioning and are super clean. The bathrooms are lovely and new. There is plenty of storage space and the beds were really comfortable. The outdoor shutters mean that it's nice and dark until you want to get up in the morning too - so you don't get woken up with the birds! My mother and father in law absolutely loved the fact that there were tea and coffee making facilities in the rooms too. The views from the lake view rooms are absolutely remarkable - you could never get bored of them. We didn't eat at the hotel with the exception of breakfast but lots of people said that it was lovely.

Breakfast was a little restrictive, with mainly just cereals and bread rolls/croissants and cakes.

All of the staff at the hotel are lovely though. We really like Sylvia - she is really kind and helpful. She took us into town and offered to bring us back. She also had lots of good recommendations - including walking through the villa gardens to get into town - a really beautiful walk.

The hotel has a real family feel and we really love it, it just depends if you're after luxury - in which case you'll pay at least 5 times the price of the Sylvio and if you read the reviews - it doesn't sound like it's worth it.

I think it's great value for money, lovely homely service and somewhere that we have already gone back to and will continue to do so.

Only word of caution would be that it's fairly steep to walk to the sylvio, so if you have older or disabled relatives, then you will probably want to use a taxi to get home at night. This cost us about 10 euros per trip.

Some amazing restaurants in bellagio too - I've reviewed them on here - we would really recommend them!

Room Tip: We had a lake view room with a big balcony - I'd recommend paying a little extra for the view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank k_ratcliffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
636 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012 via mobile

Lots of positives about this hotel, room lovely and light and airy, free parking available which is not the case for a lot of hotels in bellagio, receptionist very helpful and welcoming. On the downside breakfast average and service at breakfast the first day not great, waiter not attentive at all. Located slightly outside bellagio, during the day there were some stunning gardens you could walk through (9 euros for a 3 day ticket) but they closed at night meaning you had to walk down a busyish road if you didn't want to drive. Hotel had a lido, free access, which was nearby but we didn't use it. On balance we would still have stayed here given the positives but just a bit lacking in some areas.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tony and Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bellagio hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
0.8 mi away
Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Bellagio
#6 of 16 in Bellagio
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Du Lac
Hotel Du Lac
#5 of 16 in Bellagio
779 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
#2 of 16 in Bellagio
884 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Fioroni
Hotel Fioroni
#10 of 16 in Bellagio
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Silvio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Silvio

Property: Hotel Silvio
Address: Via Paolo Carcano 12, 22021 Bellagio, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellagio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Bellagio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Silvio 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each of the 21 comfortably equipped rooms offers an en suite bathroom with shower; private telephone; satellite TV set; hair dryer; safe; air fan and heater. "Mansarda" level rooms are also air conditioned. At the disposal of each Guest, there is also Sun Terrace; open air, free Parking; Garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Silvio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silvio Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Silvio Bellagio, Italy - Lake Como

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing