We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go for the view!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Bellagio
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed November 26, 2006

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel Belvedere in September as part of our honeymoon. I checked out a lot of hotels and finally went with this one. Glad we did. The view is incredible. As was mentioned, this hotel overlooks the water on other side of the pennisula (Pescallo), but it is only a 5 minute walk from the harbor. The rooms were nice enough (it is Europe after all, so it isn't brand new), and it had A/C. Breakfast is included, which is a bonus, and was typical European, which I like. For the price point, I would stay there again. However, if I were on more of a budget, I might check out La Pergola. The staff (as others reviewed) seemed to be very rude, but the location can't be beat. Don't know about the rooms. Metropole is in the center of town, but a little too hectic for a honeymoon location. I'm glad we stayed at the Hotel Belvedere.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank markm99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,417)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,159 - 1,165 of 1,417 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2006

It is hard to see from the guide books and other reviews that this hotel is in a fantastic location. It is a little way from the town center and that is a huge advantage. It is quiet, yet with lovely views of the lake. You must stay in a lake view room, as we did. The hotel is a short easy walk from the main street so unless you are really decrepit location is ideal. The rooms are clean and modern if a little minimalist.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank mgoldin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2006

Checking into the hotel.. We booked a standard room with a balcony of the lake. When we arrived , we were taken to a room far from the main hotel. It was so so. The floor was old linoleum and you had to walk uphill to get to the hotel each morning for breakfast. The room looked run down. We did not like it, so the attendant took us back to the main building to view another room. That room was on the second floor with a view of the lake. The view was outstanding, and the room seemed warmer than the other room. We were paying close to $250 US a night. This room was so small that to watch TV you had to sit in the bed. There was maybe one foot on either side of the bed. The deluxe suites are what we would call a standard size hotel room but they run $300 a night.

However, each night our bed was turned down. And they had laundry service which was returned on the same day. We stayed there one week, but did not really meet anyone. No one staying at the hotel made an effort to get to know the other tourists.

We had a meals in the hotel restaurant at night so we did enjoy the meals.

The hotel is a 5 minute walk to downtown and not a difficult stroll at all. The hotel does provide free parking.

I felt the hotel was overpriced for such a small room. Some of the other villages on the lake are probably not priced so high as the hotels in Bellagio. Bellagio is not really anything but a tourist town. And you quickly tire of it.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank natasha499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2006

We recently visited Bellagio (the one in Italy, not Las Vegas) and had the most wonderful vacation, especially thanks to the staff of our hotel. From the moment we arrived at the Belvedere Hotel, the staff greeted us as if we were family. Everyone from the porter to the front desk staff to the bartender and dining staff, all made us feel at home in another country. The hotel is located a short walk from the main street of town which makes it both convenient and also quiet in the evenings. There is so much to do from shopping to taking in the beautiful local gardens to boat trips on the lake. The front desk staff at the hotel could not have been more helpful in guiding us and helping with directions, suggestions, reservations, etc. One of our favorite things was taking in lunch on the hotel's veranda overlooking the lake. We loved their specialty "Lavorello" (white lake fish). It was a quintessential Italian experience. The view from the room was spectacular, overlooking beautiful Lake Lecco. The hotel gets sun all day which makes it wonderful for sitting out in any season. We would absolutely recommend the Hotel Belvedere to anyone visiting Bellagio.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
10  Thank Happy-Travelers-II
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2006

My husband and I stayed for 3 nights at the Belvedere in September, 2004. Our reservation, which I made 8 months in advance and had a written confirmation, was for 4 nights! The day of our arrival, we had traveled 8 hours on a train from Switzerland, then taken a ferry and finally a cab to get to the hotel. We arrived tired only to find that Elena, the manager, had given away our room to someone she felt needed the room more than we did "due to medical reasons". She didn't know anything about us, physically or otherwise, how could she make a unilateral decision like that? Moreover, the hotel was booked solid so she had already booked us into a pension (2 stars, tiny room) . There were no other comparable rooms in Bellagio that week due to an annual auto race being held at the same time. She kept saying "you save money, you lucky!" I was outraged and let her know it! She couldn't understand that the issue had nothing to do with money..... Finally the next day, after much ado, she moved us into a room that she said was an upgrade but it really looked like the room we had reserved. No compensation of any kind - no complimentary dinner, no nothing. The hotel was beautiful, the view magnificent, and Bellagio amazing. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit of Lake Como and didn't let Elena's poor management ruin our visit. However, we cannot recommend this hotel since, obviously, a confirmed reservation means nothing to them. Other travelers may not be so lucky and it may ruin their vacation. Avoid!

Stayed: September 2006
16  Thank forumchatter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2006

This hotel is a short walk from town and sits on the other side of the peninsula from the main part of town. It is a nice spot that looks out on the water. We had a few issues with the staff and the room. The staff was not very friendly and seemed to want the guests to "move on" rather than provide assistance. It seemed like we were bothering them if we asked a simple question. We asked the front desk for advice on which town to visit by ferry, her response, a very short, "where do you want to go?" On arrival at the hotel at about 2.30pm we asked if we could get a light lunch. A very unfreindly barmaid brought us a cold dry ham and cheese sandwhich, when I asked for mustard she gave me a strange look and walked away. We asked that reservations be made at a restaurant, after making the phone call she simply said they are booked all night and turned her back on us. Later we found out from the same person that Tuesdays most restaurants are closed. Why didn't this person offer to make reservations at another restaurant during our first discussion. The breakfast staff went to the same charm school, barely a smile or good morning. They seemed intrested in getting the job of serving breakfast done and then hoping you'd get out of there asap. The room was acceptable, nothing special, but the bathroom was the size of a phone both. Also many of the rooms have security cameras with glaring red lights pointing at the patios. This did not add to the charm. After a period of time we grew to accept that "someone was watching", apparetly there has been some crime at the hotel and this was viewed as a deterrent. I'd try another hotel next time we visit.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank raybo55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2006

This hotel is a gem. The staff provided an excellent service and were warm and friendly, particularly the Scottish woman who was a general manager (i think). She was very helpful and provided lots of local information.

The standart of cleanliness was excellent. The towels were changed twice a day !! We got exactly the room we asked for , one with a view over lake. WONDERFUL.

This was the first hotel in our 3 x week trip to Italy. It was the best hotel we stayed in.

We felt it was great value for money and when we return to Bellagio we will be going back to the Belvedere.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Elainegiano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bellagio
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
0.3 mi away
Hotel Du Lac
Hotel Du Lac
#4 of 16 in Bellagio
829 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Bellagio
#5 of 16 in Bellagio
783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
#3 of 8 in Tremezzina
1,129 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
#2 of 16 in Bellagio
952 reviews
2.1 mi away
Royal Victoria
Royal Victoria
#1 of 6 in Varenna
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Belvedere Bellagio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belvedere Bellagio

Address: Via Valassina, 31, 22021 Bellagio, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellagio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bellagio
#1 Green Hotel in Bellagio
#2 Family Hotel in Bellagio
Price Range: $328 - $550 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Belvedere Bellagio 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect for relaxing vacations, the Hotel Belvedere offers all you need to rejuvenate body and soul. Nothing better than a peaceful holiday by Lake Como at Hotel Belvedere in Bellagio to get away from it all.Also known as the pearl of Lake Como, Bellagio is located at the tip of a peninsula which divides the lake in two arms and faces the Alps across the lake. Such a unique position has been making Bellagio a famous holiday destination since the Roman times.The panoramic restaurant and terrace of Hotel Belvedere offer stunning views of Lake Como. Additionally, the hotel features a luxuriant garden and a wellness treatment center, including an outdoor heated swimming pool, a large spa tub, a fully equipped fitness room, a Turkish bath, a sauna and much more to provide guests with a relaxing holiday in Bellagio. The hotel also offers manicures and pedicures, body scrubs, body treatments, aromatherapy treatments, massages and facial treatments. Reservations are required for massages and spa treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Belvedere Bellagio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio Italy - Lake Como

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing