We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Bellagio
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
ladyarm
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful view”
Reviewed October 23, 2011

The hotel has a beautiful view and is a very peaceful oasis. I was in a single room on the ground floor so I had the added benefit of direct access to the garden. The room itself was sufficient though a bit small. Talking to people I met in town they were able to rent an entire apartment for less than I paid. So I would suggest searching around a bit.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ladyarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    911
    300
    60
    19
    13
See reviews for
237
786
23
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (392)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2011

Earlier this year, i organised a weeks holiday in Bellagio, lake Como for my Mother's birthday. We chose to stay at the Belvedere Hotel and could not have chosen a more perfect location. Whilst the two single rooms that we had booked were quite small, both boasted the most fantastic views of the lake and surrounding mountains. Both were spotlessly clean, freshly decorated and my Mothers had the bonus of a terrace of such a size that would put most suites balconies to shame.
The staff were, polite, friendly and would never hesitate to be of service, whether in the restaurant or on one of the beautiful stepped grassy terraces where we relaxed after our daily excursions.
The meals each evening were of the highest quality and despite planning to eat in other restaurants in Bellagio over our stay, we decided to eat in the Hotel every evening as a result of the lovely food and friendly service. As a bonus the hotel manager provided a wonderful birthday surprise for my mother which involved no prior request or arrangement on my part, simply a display of their kindness and desire for my mother to have a perfect birthday.
Overall i could not fault our stay at the Belvedere and hope to return in the not too distant future. Sincerest thanks to the staff who helped make my mothers birthday so perfect.

Room Tip: ask for a lake viewk
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2011

My son booked the Hotel Belvedere for one week as birthday present. Although the single rooms were small the view was icredible. The outdoor area where we would sit after daily excursions had the most breathtaking views overlooking the lake. The level service was faultless, the food excellent and the setting perfect. I would like to take this opportunity to thank managerment and staff for the lovely surprise given at dinner on our last evening spent at the hotel. Also would like to mention that it would be worth staying here just for the extensive buffet breakfast. I loved the hotel and would certainly go back at anytime. We had a wonderful holiday in Bellagio, which is a place of outstanding beauty.

Room Tip: Request room with lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank maureenanderson34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2011

We chose this Hotel via online reviews for our trip to lake Como. We initially wanted to stay right on the waterfront in the Bellagio township but everything within our price range was booked out. We drove from Venice to Bellagio and survived the extremely narrow roads and opposite direction traffic to arrive mid afternoon. We later discovered it would have been better to catch the car ferry from Cadenabbia on the other side of Lake Como directly opposite Bellagio. The ferry trip is only 10 minutes and costs only around 11 Euro.
The Hotel itself is located just above the township within a 5 minute easy walk and the lake view rooms look across the lake towards to east. The views are breathtaking!
The hotel is very comfortable offering free WiFi internet and free transfer to Bellagio to catch a ferry service. Hotel parking is available and free.
We had the breakfast and dinner package and were delighted with the high standard of food on offer in the hotel dining room.
The service at this hotel was second to none. The hotel staff are friendly and are more than happy to offer advice and assist in booking tours etc.
I highly recommend staying at the Hotel Belvedere if you are lucky enough to visit this beautiful part of the world.

Room Tip: If you can fit it into your budget, ask for a lake view room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Poprivet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
221 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2011

This hotel was great value, booked on expedia, we paid approx $aus250 per night and that included dinner and breakfast. The dinner was not pasta buffet as I had expected but a very good 3 course meal with about 4 choices for each course. It couldn't be faulted. On the first night I mentioned I was vegetarian and from then on I got my own special menu to choose from. The service was impressive, thank you Monica. While the hotel is a 5 min walk above the village, this meant it was in a quieter location, although kids in the pool could be noisy during the day. The room was adequate and the bathroom had a view of the lake from the bath.. Beautiful, we also had the same view from our bed when we left the balcony doors open. This hotel has been the highlight of our stay in Italy so far. I heard an American woman remark to the barman that it was her fav hotel in the world and she had been there 14 times.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeonieshorncliffeQLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
155 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2011

We found this hotel when driving past (I was taken by the old Astin MArtin in the driveway) and saw they had a terrace with amazing views for a coffee. So we decided to stop and see take this in.

Complimenting the view are expansive grounds with walking paths.The hotel service was ok, but I am guessing that we had 2 small children with us and wanted to have a coffee on the terrace so we received the level of service one would expect.

The view and serenity was to die for, it was quiet, away from the tourist hordes in bellagio, and the coffee was ok. We had to hunt down staff to serve us and when we did it came over that we were an inconvenience to their day. Shame really, as we were considering staying here, but would reconsider based on the service we received.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Stu D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2011

We spent the entire night exclaiming, "I can't believe this view!" The hotel sits on a small hill and has an amazing view of Lake Como. It was drop dead gorgeous. Complimenting the view are expansive grounds with walking paths and a swimming pool/jacuzzi with plenty of seating and lake views. We have been disappointed with swimming pools on recent travels, but not so with this hotel. The jacuzzi has a disappearing edge view of the lake and a bench seat to make it quite the comfortable experience to relax and absorb the surroundings. It was truly the icing on the cake to end our Italian vacation with a bit of relaxation and quiet beauty.

The hotel service was good. They checked us in promptly, answered questions about where to eat, and brought us towels as soon as we walked into the pool area. Literally, we had just asked ourselves, "where do we get towels?" when someone walked up to us with a stack of pools and explained the pool/jacuzzi rules to us in relation to children. (They bent the rules to allow the children in the jacuzzi since the pool was freezing with it being the end of the season -- very nice and well appreciated by my munchkins!)

Our room had a view, as requested, and we enjoyed being able to sleep with the window wide open. We were traveling with our 3 children (aged 13, 11, and 8) as well as our labradoodle dog. We had asked for rooms near each other, and the hotel provided a 2 bedroom suite with a shared bathroom -- my husband and I got the view of the lake, while the kids had a street view. it was a perfect solution for us. The kids appreciated that the beds were made as three singles as opposed to a double and a single. There was definitely less bickering.

The interior of the rooms was more in line with a 3 star hotel and didn't seem to match the beautiful grounds and buildings. (I figure the star rating is an average of a 5 star exterior and a 3 star interior, but perhaps other rooms are more updated.) The furniture was outdated, and the bathroom was tiny and not well maintained. Only one person could be in the bathroom at a time -- you couldn't even squeeze past another person, not that there would be anywhere for you to stand once you did squeeze past. The toilet was shoved into a corner behind the door. The open door touched the toilet seat, so you needed the door completely closed to have enough room to use the toilet. The shower was a small square with retractable doors. By the end of the shower, several inches of water were standing in the basin. My children took showers after each other, and we were quite worried that the bathroom would flood from the standing water. The bed looked comfortable, but both my husband and I woke up with back aches. These aches could have been compounded by the drive from Florence.

Even with the basic rooms, we would return to this hotel in a heartbeat. We loved the view, grounds, pool, and proximity to town. Town was an easy 5-10 minute walk from the hotel. I had been worried when other reviews mentioned that it was an "uphill walk" but it is really a walk that anyone can do. The stairs in town are more strenuous.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank macassi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bellagio
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
1.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
#3 of 8 in Tremezzina
1,021 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Metropole Bellagio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Du Lac
Hotel Du Lac
#4 of 16 in Bellagio
763 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Bellagio
#6 of 16 in Bellagio
722 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel La Perla
Hotel La Perla
#1 of 8 in Tremezzina
812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Belvedere Bellagio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belvedere Bellagio

Property: Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
Address: Via Valassina, 31, 22021 Bellagio, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellagio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bellagio
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bellagio
#2 Family Hotel in Bellagio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Belvedere Bellagio 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect for relaxing vacations, the Hotel Belvedere offers all you need to rejuvenate body and soul. Nothing better than a peaceful holiday by Lake Como at Hotel Belvedere in Bellagio to get away from it all.Also known as the pearl of Lake Como, Bellagio is located at the tip of a peninsula which divides the lake in two arms and faces the Alps across the lake. Such a unique position has been making Bellagio a famous holiday destination since the Roman times.The panoramic restaurant and terrace of Hotel Belvedere offer stunning views of Lake Como. Additionally, the hotel features a luxuriant garden and a wellness treatment center, including an outdoor heated swimming pool, a large spa tub, a fully equipped fitness room, a Turkish bath, a sauna and much more to provide guests with a relaxing holiday in Bellagio. The hotel also offers manicures and pedicures, body scrubs, body treatments, aromatherapy treatments, massages and facial treatments. Reservations are required for massages and spa treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Hotel Belvedere Bellagio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio Italy - Lake Como

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing