We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Residence La Limonera
Ranked #4 of 14 Bellagio B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Great location and lake view. No service or reception upon arrival or checking out. Had an early morning departure 8am so had to make arrangements to pay bill night prior. To our surprise woke up to no hot water nor heat in middle of February, was not very pleased. On a positive side the apartment was clean and spacious but service not up to our standards with very very limited office hours nobody was at property.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lynda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (197)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 197 reviews

Reviewed January 24, 2014

We stayed at La Limonera for 5 nights in September, 2013. The pros are that this is a very nice and clean property in the middle of Bellagio. We spent quite a bit extra money to get the top floor with a large balcony that was above the adjacent buildings to have a beautiful sunset view of Lake Como. I believe that there is just one other room on the top floor of La Limonera and it has a partial view of the water. The other rooms in the building don't have views of the water. Overall, this was a good value.
Conns: There is no breakfast with this "Bed and Breakfast". This is really just an apartment building. There were problems trying to connect with the owner/management, who only has very limited and somewhat unpredictable office hours on site. Also, when you arrive by ferry, be prepared to carry your luggage up a few of hundred steps of stairs. Bellagio sets on a hill and La Limonera is up the hill about a hundred yards or so. My wife and I are pretty fit, but we had large bags, which made for quite a hall. Taxis are almost non-existent in Bellagio and La Limonera does not provide transportation to their facility. Honestly, the bed was very hard, the room was hot and the surroundings in the evenings were noisy.
We spent a lot of time researching where to stay and visit on Lake Como. Having seen and toured most all of it, I strongly recommend staying in Bellagio. None of the other little towns on the lake hold a candle to it!

Room Tip: The lower level rooms are a better value and are cooler than the top floor, that has the water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IndianapolisFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

My husband and I, and our two daughters stayed for 1night in La Limonera. The place is very well located and we could walk around and explore Bellagio very easily. The accomodations were very confortable and spacious. Everything spotless and looking new. Our apartment had a balcony with a view to an internal patio which was very nice. I would certainly come back to this place!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnnaTheodora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

Very friendly Service , wonderful location! stayed for 2 nights and enjoyed the accommodating and great personal service . Apartment was very clean and spacious with great view to the lake. Would definitely come back next time in Bellagio! Highly recommended !

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Orly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

La Limonera apartments are set in the centre of Bellagio, and our apartment overlooked the Lake, so picturesque, it was truly a wonderful experience to awake to this scene every day. We stayed there for 6nights, wish it had been longer... everything about the accommodation was perfect, self contained, linen very good quality, and the bed very comfortable with beautiful antique furniture in our bedroom. Also, the lift to our 2nd floor was wonderful, no steps to worry about, and the Security was top- notch with shops at your doorstop!!!
Daniella, a very special lady (owner of La Limonera) made us feel very welcome and treated us like 'family', very fluent in English, recommending many places to visit, and also with helpful advice, wonderful lady ....we will definitely revisit again in a few years time, to catch up with a lovely new found friend. I recommend these apartments to other Aussies visiting Bellagio and Lake Como....I promise you.... you will not be disappointed! There were other Aussies staying there as well whilst we were there too!!!
Keep up the good work Daniella, you are a Gem!!! xx

Room Tip: We stayed in room 30 on the 2nd floor, beautiful view of the Lake, with a lift to your door, great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MARION S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We stayed a week in La Limonera in October. We had a lake view apartment with a spectacular vista across the lake. The apartment was spacious, clean and very comfortable and ideal for exploring Bellagio and around the lake generally. Daniella is a welcoming and helpful owner, with terrific recommendations for eating out. There are a couple of alimentari very close by for stocking up on lovely food to eat in, and a supermarket about a 30 minute walk away (not ideal for carrying heavy stuff). It's worth doing the walk 'bellagio suburbs' - map available online or from the tourist office.
Getting to Bellagio from Malpensa is relatively easy without a car - Malpensa express train to Milano Centrale, train to Varenna, then ferry to Bellagio. Getting to La Limonera from the ferry with luggage can be a bit tricky - either fairly steep steps up the hill, or easier (but a bit longer) along the road/footpath)

Room Tip: Lake view is worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lucy6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Having been to Bellagio before we decided to choose an apartment as some of the smaller hotels have quite small rooms. We chose Residence La Limonera based on its location – which is right in the centre of the old town, its facilities and the reviews on Trip Advisor.

Booking direct with Daniella was easy and she was very helpful on queries regarding parking to unload our bags. If you plan to take a car you need to know that parking in not easy in Bellagio and you must be prepared to drop you bags then go and find a free parking space on the outskirts of the town and walk back 5 or 10 minutes. Its is easy to drop off your bags as there are 2 spaces outside the gate to the apartments for unloading.

The reception is not manned all the time but as we had informed Daniella of our expected arrival time, she had left the keys in an envelope on the reception door.

We chose the spacious and bright 2nd floor apartment which faces the town. Through the 5 sets of windows, it caught the sun in the morning and has a small balcony where we would sit and have breakfast or lunch. On entering the apartment, you had a kitchen area will a good selection of utensils. It had everything we needed for light breakfasts and lunches, but as Bellagio has such a great selection of restaurants we didn’t cook a meal. The living area had a table and 4 chairs, coffee table, TV and a sofa (sofa bed if more than 2 of you) and behind a shelved screen / wardrobe was the bed, which was big and comfortable. Beyond the bedroom was the shower room. Everything was very clean with the bin emptied daily. The free wifi had excellent speed and good reception throughout the apartment.

The gardens are well kept and you can see the lake from the sun terrace at the top of the building.

These apartments are an excellent choice and it was nice to have a garden or balcony to sit in. Access through the gate and to the apartment block is by keycard, making it very secure and at night the whole area is very quiet, making it an ideal location to stay.

Room Tip: Get one of the rooms facing the town as they are bright and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KennyG57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bellagio
0 mi away
Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Bellagio
#5 of 16 in Bellagio
784 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
1.9 mi away
Hotel La Darsena
Hotel La Darsena
#2 of 8 in Tremezzina
830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Du Lac
Hotel Du Lac
#4 of 16 in Bellagio
831 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
#2 of 16 in Bellagio
954 reviews
11.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Imperiale
Grand Hotel Imperiale
#1 of 2 in Moltrasio
849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence La Limonera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence La Limonera

Address: Via Bellosio 2, 22021 Bellagio, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellagio
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Bellagio
Price Range: $106 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence La Limonera 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Residence La Limonera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence La Limonera Hotel Bellagio
Residence La Limonera Bellagio, Italy - Lake Como

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing