We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem of an hotel in a gem of a small town”
Review of Hotel Florence

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Florence
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Bellagio
Certificate of Excellence
Lake District, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A gem of an hotel in a gem of a small town”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

When we arrived at Hotel Florence in the early evening, we were very tired from a long journey by car from Cortina d"Ampezzo. However, the tiredness left us as soon as we walked through the front door and were greeted enthusiastically by the owner, Timothy. Following a big hello, he grabbed our bags with both hands and took us to our rooms, refusing any sort of tip, telling us that "carrying our bags was all part of the service". From there, it just kept getting better.

Our room was 1, and our friends' room was 3, with both rooms sharing a spacious terrace looking out at Lake Como, with a table and chairs for each couple. Inside, the bedrooms were colourful and stylish, as were the bathrooms. Yes, we knew we had made the right choice in booking in at the Hotel Florence. Excellent buffet breakfasts provided us, with drinks being served by the delightful Giorgia, was a great start to every day. Inside the hotel, there are numerous lounge areas, both large and small, and all furnished with great flair. Service from Timothy, Christian and other members of staff was always friendly and helpful - a great team. The hotel also has a lakeside restaurant across from main hotel. As we came to expect, the food and service was excellent.

What more can I say? Perhaps a few words about Bellagio itself. A handsome town bordered by the lake on one side and the hilltops behind - beautiful and atmospheric, with some high quality shops and restaurants. From Bellagio, you can hop on and off ferries that take you to other lovely towns and villages on Lake Como. All very easy and most enjoyable. My sense is that it is better not to have a car, as parking is at a premium and driving a bit difficult for we tourists who don't know the area well enough to drive with ease.

Room Tip: One & three with a large and shared terrace are good for couples travelling together, but I woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bigfish44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    341
    170
    48
    12
    12
See reviews for
70
350
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne Victoria
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

The only thing I can say about Hotel Florence is fantastic. Paola the young girl on the front counter was amazing so helpful. We had just finished an eight bus tour of Sicily so was looking for a more leisurely pace and we got this in Bellagio. We had room No 3 which was really two rooms with a shared balcony. The view was amazing the room was amazing. Breakfast was great. Paola recommended a lovely boat trip with Bellagio water taxis where we were taken around lake Como. The boat only takes a small amount of people so a nice easy trip. On another day we had the best lunch at the famous Locanda dell"Isola Comacina. We had booked this from Australia. What an experience highly recommend this lunch. We also used Cars on Time to collect us from Milan airport and take us back they were reasonable and very good drivers. Highly recommend them. We absolutely loved Bellagio and hope we can get back there some day. Thank you to Paola for making our stay so enjoyable.

Room Tip: Choose either room three, one or five they have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eddie59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
59 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We were recommended this hotel and so happy we chose it. This hotel was PERFECTLY situated on the crux of Lake Como. The bedrooms and baths are charming (though the beds were just two smaller beds pushed together to make a larger bed - common in Europe). Reception was very nice (but not always readily available). We had dinner at the Hotel Florence restaurant, not knowing what to expect from a hotel restaurant but it was hands down our favorite meal for the 2 days we were in town. Would definitely come back to the hotel and the restaurant!

For more details on our trip and things to do: http://stormypeach.com/mystical-lake-como/
http://stormypeach.com/bellagio-lake-como-italy-part-ii/

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stormypeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Florence from the 4th July for 2 nights. The Reception area and staff were lovely and the location of the hotel was also perfect. Overlooking the Lake, at the start of the waterfront, with the quaint hotel Bar just outside. This was a wonderful place to sit, people watch and take in the wonderful view. Bars/Restuarants further down the road had live music in the evening which could get rather load at times. We took a walk down after dinner one night and couldn't hear each other speak so being up one end allowed us to listen at a distance, which was great.

Our room (41) was a Side Lake view but we were more than impressed as we could see all the way to the top of the Lake. It was good in size and the hotel had kindly provided a fan in the room, so not having air conditioning really is not a problem.

I celebrated my Birthday here and it was also the place in which my partner chose to ask me to marry him. The engagement was followed by a wonderful meal in the Hotel Restaurant over looking the Lake and I wouldn't have chosen a better location to have celebrated this. I will 100% be back to Bellagio again and will not be looking at anywhere else to stay apart from the Hotel Florence.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoClarke1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 27, 2013

My family and I stayed for 2 nights at the Hotel Florence in July, following a week in Tuscany. There is no better location, and the views of Lake Como and the mountains are breathtaking. The owner was more than helpful (even making sure our meter was fed!) and accommodating. the staff was friendly and the cocktails - delicioso! Our family of 5 has already decided we are coming back to spend more time in Bellagio at the Hotel Florence.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view room. It is well worth the extra fee.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Monica & Fabio provided the best service of my trip so far, they were friendly and courteous but above all they knew their craft and excelled at it - this place is a must to visit especially if you like a cocktail!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jamiebenjamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margate City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Hotel Florence is a wonderful boutique hotel on the lake in Bellagio. We started our 18 day Italy vacation at this hotel and it was a perfect way to immediately relax and enjoy the best of the the lakes area. Note, the rooms are small but I would challenge anyone to find a large room in all of Italy! This is family run and they are very responsive to requests. They have a great sitting area right in front of the hotel for morning or late night cappuccinos:)

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view - almost all have one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dominic S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bellagio hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
0.1 mi away
Hotel Metropole Bellagio
0.0 mi away
Hotel Du Lac
Hotel Du Lac
#3 of 16 in Bellagio
763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Bellagio
#6 of 16 in Bellagio
721 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
#2 of 16 in Bellagio
863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Florence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Florence

Property: Hotel Florence
Address: Piazza Giuseppe Mazzini 46, 22021 Bellagio, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellagio
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Bellagio
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bellagio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Hotel Florence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Florence Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Florence Bellagio, Italy - Lake Como

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing