We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good but staff...”
Review of Hotel Florence

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Florence
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Bellagio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 13, 2011

We stayed here for two nights. It is a very nice and perfectly located hotel in front of the Lake Como, even though we didn´t get rooms with lake view, there are a few and were occupied. The hotel is a very quiet hotel with a very nice restaurant by the lake. The staff was really not helpful at all, and in most cases they treated us with great indifference even making us feel like we are bothering when we ask something. But rooms were fine and breakfast very good also. You can take the vaporettos very near to go to the other villages. But something about Bellagio. It was a very nice village but at 10 at night it is very quiet. Besides, to get there is not easy, you have to go by car in a very winding road and you can not find taxis at all in this side of Bellagio. Next time if I want to go to Lake Como, I will stay in the city of Como itself.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ana María
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (621)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

369 - 375 of 621 reviews

Reviewed June 7, 2011

We spent five nights at the Hotel Florence and thought it was perfect for Bellagio. The views from our room were amazing, and we really liked the location. It was close to the ferries, and the front of the hotel had a patio where we had drinks and/or cappuccino. Breakfast was good, the croissants were wonderful. Eggs, etc were just okay.
The staff was great and very helpful. Internet spotty, only worked in the lobby after some interesting set up.
The rooms were airy and had beautiful french doors looking out to the lake. The beds were comfortable, and we were surprised that there was turn down service. The only drawback in my opinion was the bathroom. I understand the difference with European (and old) hotels, but I had a little trouble with the lighting and the lack of a proper (American) shower, and the weird (old timey) hair dryer. But when in Rome...(or I should say Bellagio)...
That being said, I would highly recommend this hotel, particularly if you can get a lake view. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Definitely a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MommaSuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2011

There is a reason why Karen Brown recommends this hotel. It is a beautiful hotel, gorgeously decorated, with each room and hallway being different. From the moment Timothy came bounding out to the car to take our luggage we felt welcomed. Everyone couldn't have been nicer or more helpful - from the people at the reception desk, to the staff at breakfast and those at the restaurant/bar. Their indoor dining room where we had our breakfasts is absolutely stunning. And the breakfast buffet was plentiful. Their outdoor restaurant right on the water is a great place for a refreshing afternoon spritz or prosecco. We had a delicious dinner there one night. The food was truly gourmet and it is a beautiful setting. Thanks to other TA reviews, I knew that Rm. 43 was the room that I wanted. I loved the furnishings and the corner top floor location with 2 small balconies was fabulous. One looked directly lakefront and the other looked north up the lake and over Hotel Villa Serbelloni (whose music we enjoyed listening to while preparing for dinner every evening). I tried to book for mid May back in the beginning of August but they said they weren't accepting reservations for then until October, at which time I reserved my dream room. We didn't have any problem with the lack of a shower. You just have to understand that you need to sit in the tub to use the sprayer. My only small complaint is with the hair dryer which took forever to dry my hair. We loved the Hotel Florence and wouldn't want to have stayed anywhere else.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank iaatf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2011

Bellagio itself is out of this world beautiful. Hotel Florence continues this theme, and although this was the most expensive part of our Italy trip, it was definitely worth it. The rooms are clean, bright, airy and the lake view rooms are spectacular. The staff are friendly and super helpful, including planning our next leg of our trip.

Room Tip: ask for lake views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bec057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2011

My wife and I absolutely loved this hotel. The rooms were gorgeous, with a very spacious bathroom (our room did not have a shower, but a bath tub which seems to be fairly standard and not unique to this hotel in Bellagio). Our room had a stunning view of the lake, with a very large outdoor balcony with tables and chairs from where you can relax and take in the serenity of the great lake. The only complaint was one that seemed common to most hotels in Italy, that the beds were a little too hard for our liking but I would not consider this to be something that should detract from the hotel's charm. It was a truly lovely hotel with excellent breakfasts. Would absolutely stay here again!! Hotel offers 10% discount for payment in cash which we happily took them up on.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Griswalds007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2011

We first went to the Hotel Florence in July of 2007, after seeing the reviews on Trip Advisor. We loved it so much -- the location (right on the lake!), the beautiful rooms (tastefully and classically decorated), the service (willing to help with anything from fabulous restaurants in the area to boat rental), the wonderful breakfast (incredible cappuccinos!) and especially the lake view -- that we chose the Hotel Florence for our honeymoon. Since then, we've recommended the hotel to anyone staying on Lago di Como, and it never disappoints. You simply cannot get a better atmosphere, location and feel for the price. My only advice -- be sure to splurge for the lake view room. You will not regret it.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EWL2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2011

We stayed 4 nights in the Hotel Florence. We were in room 23 with a side lake view and small balcony, which was quite pleasant. The breakfast offered some of the best croissant/brioche that we have ever had, along with scrambled eggs and bacon/ sausage. The front staff was especially accommodating, making dinner suggestions, reservations, suggesting the lovely excursion with Luca and Janine at the Bellagio Water Taxi, helping with the various ferry schedules and tours, all with a very pleasant attitude. Unfortunately the Internet provider prevents sending emails except from web-based mail and was generally frustrating if you needed to do anything specific, so just relax and enjoy Lago di Como! We were quite satisfied with our stay. We were lucky to find a parking space near the hotel with white markings (free, 24 hours) and left our rental car there for all 3 days.

Room Tip: Any room with a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cal_Travel_Lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bellagio hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
0 mi away
Hotel Du Lac
Hotel Du Lac
#4 of 16 in Bellagio
831 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Bellagio
#5 of 16 in Bellagio
784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
1.5 mi away
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
#2 of 16 in Bellagio
954 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Centrale
Hotel Centrale
#8 of 16 in Bellagio
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Florence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Florence

Address: Piazza Giuseppe Mazzini 46, 22021 Bellagio, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellagio
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bellagio
Price Range: $183 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Florence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Florence Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Florence Bellagio, Italy - Lake Como

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing