We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superlative!”
Review of Hotel Florence

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Florence
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Bellagio
Certificate of Excellence
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Superlative!”
Reviewed June 6, 2011

There is a reason why Karen Brown recommends this hotel. It is a beautiful hotel, gorgeously decorated, with each room and hallway being different. From the moment Timothy came bounding out to the car to take our luggage we felt welcomed. Everyone couldn't have been nicer or more helpful - from the people at the reception desk, to the staff at breakfast and those at the restaurant/bar. Their indoor dining room where we had our breakfasts is absolutely stunning. And the breakfast buffet was plentiful. Their outdoor restaurant right on the water is a great place for a refreshing afternoon spritz or prosecco. We had a delicious dinner there one night. The food was truly gourmet and it is a beautiful setting. Thanks to other TA reviews, I knew that Rm. 43 was the room that I wanted. I loved the furnishings and the corner top floor location with 2 small balconies was fabulous. One looked directly lakefront and the other looked north up the lake and over Hotel Villa Serbelloni (whose music we enjoyed listening to while preparing for dinner every evening). I tried to book for mid May back in the beginning of August but they said they weren't accepting reservations for then until October, at which time I reserved my dream room. We didn't have any problem with the lack of a shower. You just have to understand that you need to sit in the tub to use the sprayer. My only small complaint is with the hair dryer which took forever to dry my hair. We loved the Hotel Florence and wouldn't want to have stayed anywhere else.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank iaatf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    167
    48
    12
    12
See reviews for
68
343
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 5, 2011

Bellagio itself is out of this world beautiful. Hotel Florence continues this theme, and although this was the most expensive part of our Italy trip, it was definitely worth it. The rooms are clean, bright, airy and the lake view rooms are spectacular. The staff are friendly and super helpful, including planning our next leg of our trip.

Room Tip: ask for lake views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bec057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2011

My wife and I absolutely loved this hotel. The rooms were gorgeous, with a very spacious bathroom (our room did not have a shower, but a bath tub which seems to be fairly standard and not unique to this hotel in Bellagio). Our room had a stunning view of the lake, with a very large outdoor balcony with tables and chairs from where you can relax and take in the serenity of the great lake. The only complaint was one that seemed common to most hotels in Italy, that the beds were a little too hard for our liking but I would not consider this to be something that should detract from the hotel's charm. It was a truly lovely hotel with excellent breakfasts. Would absolutely stay here again!! Hotel offers 10% discount for payment in cash which we happily took them up on.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Griswalds007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2011

We first went to the Hotel Florence in July of 2007, after seeing the reviews on Trip Advisor. We loved it so much -- the location (right on the lake!), the beautiful rooms (tastefully and classically decorated), the service (willing to help with anything from fabulous restaurants in the area to boat rental), the wonderful breakfast (incredible cappuccinos!) and especially the lake view -- that we chose the Hotel Florence for our honeymoon. Since then, we've recommended the hotel to anyone staying on Lago di Como, and it never disappoints. You simply cannot get a better atmosphere, location and feel for the price. My only advice -- be sure to splurge for the lake view room. You will not regret it.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EWL2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
158 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2011

We stayed 4 nights in the Hotel Florence. We were in room 23 with a side lake view and small balcony, which was quite pleasant. The breakfast offered some of the best croissant/brioche that we have ever had, along with scrambled eggs and bacon/ sausage. The front staff was especially accommodating, making dinner suggestions, reservations, suggesting the lovely excursion with Luca and Janine at the Bellagio Water Taxi, helping with the various ferry schedules and tours, all with a very pleasant attitude. Unfortunately the Internet provider prevents sending emails except from web-based mail and was generally frustrating if you needed to do anything specific, so just relax and enjoy Lago di Como! We were quite satisfied with our stay. We were lucky to find a parking space near the hotel with white markings (free, 24 hours) and left our rental car there for all 3 days.

Room Tip: Any room with a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cal_Travel_Lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2011

Very friendly staff and good breakfast. Rooms are a good size and very comfortable. Will definitely return.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a lake view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank me97ppp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2011

We were very happy with the Hotel Florence. We had a beautiful view of the lake from our corner room. The hotel's location is great - just a 3 minute walk to ferry but off a little so it was quieter. We didn't have a car and didn't need one in Bellagio. We'd stay here again if we get to return to Lake Como.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VTHokie81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bellagio hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
0.0 mi away
Hotel Du Lac
Hotel Du Lac
#5 of 16 in Bellagio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Metropole Bellagio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Bellagio
#6 of 16 in Bellagio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
#2 of 16 in Bellagio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Florence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Florence

Property: Hotel Florence
Address: Piazza Giuseppe Mazzini 46, 22021 Bellagio, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellagio
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Bellagio
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bellagio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Florence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Florence Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Florence Bellagio, Italy - Lake Como

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing