We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (192)
Filter reviews
192 results
Traveler rating
39
55
39
23
36
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
39
55
39
23
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviews converted monastery main town wonderful lake minute walk fishing village hotel is situated croissants each morning a wonderful stay breathtaking views marta hill steps balcony position lakeside ferry
Filter
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 192 reviews
Reviewed June 5, 2014

We stayed three nights at La Pergola, and noticed on reviews prior to arriving, that staff were reviewed as unfriendly. In actual fact, they are a lovely group of three generations of family members, where the business has been in their family for decades. At first impressions, they are not smiley at all, but we found they were very generous and would do anything for you. We noticed that those guests who mirror the family's demeanour did not enjoy their meals nor stay.

We tried something different and smiled at them and greeted them warmly, and what seems like brusqueness evaporated. For whatever reason, they don't smile as much as other restaurant/hotel owners as they are a gentle and somewhat shy family, but don't ruin your visit thinking they are unfriendly, as they have a heart of gold.

All that aside, the building is amazing, approximately 500-600 years old, and they are positioned right on the lake itself. Views to die for.

We both had trout and vegetables the first night. Delicious and well priced at €14. If you like gooey chocolate cake with moist hot sauce flowing from the centre, try the chocolate pie for €9. Yum.

Breakfasts overlooking the lake were delicious also. Rooms clean and very comfortable.

Please understand that this hotel is located in a stunning little hamlet called Pescallo within Bellagio, but you must walk over the hill (about 10 minutes of steps) to get there.

I would definitely stay/eat there again.

Room tip: The most stunning suite is on the lakefront with grape vines covering your large balcony, but any lake front room still has a great view.
Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jodi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014

A family run hotel. It felt like an old family villa. Very comfortable rooms and firm beds. The small bathroom did not detract at all from the beautiful old world feeling of the decor.
All staff friendly and helpful. We had a first floor room with a hug balcony overlooking Lake Como.
We ate at the restaurant one evening and enjoyed a fine meal. The wine list is a bit sparse.
Pescallo is on the other side of the lake to Bellagio and is a 10-15 min picturesque walk to the main town. You do have to ascend a cobblestone hill which helps burn the calories of all the pasta and gelato consumed.
I would highly recommend this hotel. It is economical and well located for a leisurely visit to Bellagio.

Room tip: Make sure you request a balcony room. There are no elevators so be prepared for stairs
Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank helenlac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

We felt very fortunate to be shown to our lovely room with a balcony overlooking beautiful lake Como. Marta who checked us in was welcoming and efficient and the hotel is in an idyllic spot. Breakfast every morning was very good, particularly with the inclusion of muesli! The room was clean and well-equipped, even containing a small fridge, but the mattress was hard and cheap. We have a couple of reservations though. The first is that one of the best things about the hotel is its lake views. Unfortunately the restaurant terrace has the same position so that noise and cigarette smoke can be an issue. The French doors are very well sound-proofed, but then you sacrifice the views you're paying for. Secondly the hotel is not in the most convenient position for those who spend a lot of time in the town centre or catching many ferries. The walk to the town and ferries is steep and up many steps, those with mobility problems would have a tough time. Lastly parking is not ideal. We were lucky to bag a spot right outside the hotel which we then just left the car in, but otherwise parking is quite a distance away.

Room tip: If noise from restaurant might bother you, ask for a room without a lake view, the lane has very little traffic and would be very quiet.
Date of stay: April 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Stunning views, beautiful location, great price... However, there's nothing quite like arriving at a hotel to be met by scowls and sour expressions, especially when you've travelled literally half way around the world. No lift, that's fine, I'll carry my wife and baby's stuff upstairs, I'm used to that. I'm not used to trying to get a baby through a spring loaded door in a pushchair while the proprieter observes me from his seat 2 metres away... I was doubly impressed when a couple of Italian nationals rocked up and he carried their bags upstairs for them.
Breakfast was dreadful that's all there is to say about that.
In short a beautiful hotel in a beautiful spot wholly spoiled by people who clearly didn't enjoy running it, or interacting with visitors. I would be the first person back following a change of management.

Date of stay: August 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel on the shores of Lake Como. The rooms themselves were beautiful and had an authentic old italian feel with beautiful large armoires and dressers. Marta was warm and accommodating when we discovered our rooms were not exactly what we had expected from booking.com website as only one room had a full view of the lake while the other was a partial view.The restaurant on site had a gorgeous view of the lake however and the food was delicious. Breakfast the next morning was plentiful with lots of choices and again with the stunning views of Lake Como. It was a very short pleasant walk to the center of Bellagio and the value of the hotel being just a short walk away was so worth it. The decor was lovely, the beds comfortable and the view out our window was priceless. Thank you Marta for your excellent service!

Date of stay: September 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank desertgirl1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews