We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Breathtaking views!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of La Pergola

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Pergola
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Bellagio
Fountain Hills, Arizona
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Breathtaking views!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel on the shores of Lake Como. The rooms themselves were beautiful and had an authentic old italian feel with beautiful large armoires and dressers. Marta was warm and accommodating when we discovered our rooms were not exactly what we had expected from booking.com website as only one room had a full view of the lake while the other was a partial view.The restaurant on site had a gorgeous view of the lake however and the food was delicious. Breakfast the next morning was plentiful with lots of choices and again with the stunning views of Lake Como. It was a very short pleasant walk to the center of Bellagio and the value of the hotel being just a short walk away was so worth it. The decor was lovely, the beds comfortable and the view out our window was priceless. Thank you Marta for your excellent service!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank desertgirl1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    49
    31
    20
    32
See reviews for
22
79
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

We've stayed several times at La Pergola. Our tastes include: the Beauty of Nature, Authenticity, Simplicity, Serenity & Wellness. La pergola is a 15' hike from the village and well worth it. We enjoy to eat well and the short walk is a pleasure after dinner or any time of day. It's stunning actually with those ancient steps. And the possibility to swim directly from the hotel (away from ferry boats) is a plus. The rooms are simple and the VIEWS spectacular.

Hope this review is helpful. And we would love to hear from you when you find simple jems! We love it because our Chalet in Wengen, Switzerland is such a place. Wengen is similar to Bellagio in that it dates back to the Belle Époque, also very well preserved. Let us know if you'd like info on Wengen or our chalet (available on occassion for rent. We screen our renters carefully) dating back to 1885, with unobstructed views, sunny southern exposure, private gardens, balcony, winter gardens & spectacular views. If you like La pergola, be sure to plan a skiing or hiking vacation in Wengen. We also loved Cinque Terra, especially staying in Monterosso al Mare.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SwissSanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hertfordshire
Level Contributor
86 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

We have just returned from an eight-night stay in the heart of Bellagio. On our second day whilst out exploring we came across La Pergola, a beautiful little hotel right on the edge of the lake. Such a beautiful location that we almost talked ourselves into returning to Bellagio later in the year and staying there. We wont be! We went through to the terrace just to sit and admire the view and have a coffee, the owner was extremely unfriendly, not a single word of greeting to us, and very hostile stares, and we felt really uncomfortable. However, we thought maybe she was just having a bad day, so decided to return a couple of days later to give it another try. Oh dear, we arrived about 10.30 and ordered our coffee and asked if we could have croissants. No, there aren't any! My husband then ordered a pannini, which very grudgingly arrived about 30 minutes later, (after reminding the pleasant little waitress that we were still waiting), by which time our coffee was cold. I have never actually come across such an unwelcoming place, everywhere else in Bellagio was the total opposite and we had a wonderful stay there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank polly66Hertfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bellagio hotels

Auckland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

Gorgeous lakeside location, go to sleep to the lapping of the waves! Oh and a wee bit of restaurant noise! Bellagio itself is a "few step-es" away (according to the very helpful young waitress) - make that 180 steps! We stayed 5 nights and loved it - very clean, spacious room, and breakfast on the terrace was a treat. To get there we hired a taxi which was an hour's trip with the great Claudio who gave us a commentary - so much easier than getting a bus from Linate, a train from Milan, a ferry from Varenna!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulianaNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

I was worried about this hotel after the horrible reviews about the service; I was pleasantly surprised. The people who run the hotel are not particularly friendly, but they were fine. The hotel is clean and the rooms are bigger than many in Europe. The price was excellent. Breakfast was minimal but enough.

The location is on the other side of town from the ferry landing, so it's quiet and away from the main drag. The negative of this is you must walk up and down a big hill every time you want to go into town - if you have problems with your knees or hips, it would be better to stay at one of the hotels closer to the ferry landing.

Room Tip: The lake view rooms are worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

The hotel itself was pretty good and in a great position though our room was very sparse & we had a tiny bathroom and no balcony that we had booked. But that was about the only good thing I could say about it. To me there was so many things not right BUT above all it was the attitude of the owners that has made the decision to say 'don't go.' No smiles, no welcome, no apologies, huffing & puffing if we dared asked a question & looks to kill! After 3 nights we were glad to go, which was a shame as it could be a fantastic place to stay as you are on the other side of peninsular from centre of Bellagio, it was so much quieter. It was only a 5-10 min walk over the hill to Bellagio.
I could mention many more things but really, we would have been happy enough if we had felt welcome. Also compared to other places we have stayed it was overpriced for what we
had, assuming because it was in Bellagio?
One more thing you need a taxi to the hotel, unless you would like to clamber up and over the hill and steps with suitcases. Would have been really helpful to be told that by the hotel before arriving as when you arrive in Bellagio you realise that there are very few 'taxis!' A few luxury cars are the taxis BUT very hard to find one!! We had to go into a hotel & plead for them to call one for us & we were just lucky there was one in town as they do day trips etc.
So if you don't mind very unfriendly hotel staff, go.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DGtravels8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

This is a family run restaurant/hotel located on the shores of Lake Como and the rooms look out across the lake, of course, a big plus. This is a converted convent and as such is an interesting building with lots of features. We didn't realise that there was a bar to the right of entrance where we could get coffee/drinks anytime we wished. No one explained the facilities to us. The restaurant is popular and very busy at week-ends so don't expect an early night and if you arrive at this time don't expect a car park. The staff and service is dour but adequate with the exception of the younger daughter who was friendly and helpful. A typical Italian breakfast is sufficiant. The restaurant is expensive. The walk into Bellagio requires a steep climb - but of course coming back is down hill. Recommended with above reservations.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tedroMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bellagio hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Bellagio
#6 of 16 in Bellagio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
0.3 mi away
Hotel Metropole Bellagio
Hotel Metropole Bellagio
#4 of 16 in Bellagio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
0.4 mi away
Hotel Du Lac
Hotel Du Lac
#5 of 16 in Bellagio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Excelsior Splendide
Hotel Excelsior Splendide
#11 of 16 in Bellagio
3.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Pergola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Pergola

Property: La Pergola
Address: Piazza del Porto, 4, Pescallo, 22021 Bellagio, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellagio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Bellagio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your La Pergola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Pergola Bellagio, Italy - Lake Como
La Pergola Hotel Bellagio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing