We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (187)
Filter reviews
187 results
Traveler rating
37
54
39
22
35
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
37
54
39
22
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsconverted monasteryminute walkfishing villagebeautiful lakeeach morningyogurtmartahillstepsbalconyviewspositionwaterfront
Filter
Updating list...
43 - 48 of 187 reviews
Reviewed July 20, 2013

I was worried about this hotel after the horrible reviews about the service; I was pleasantly surprised. The people who run the hotel are not particularly friendly, but they were fine. The hotel is clean and the rooms are bigger than many in Europe. The price was excellent. Breakfast was minimal but enough.

The location is on the other side of town from the ferry landing, so it's quiet and away from the main drag. The negative of this is you must walk up and down a big hill every time you want to go into town - if you have problems with your knees or hips, it would be better to stay at one of the hotels closer to the ferry landing.

Room Tip: The lake view rooms are worth the extra money
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

The hotel itself was pretty good and in a great position though our room was very sparse & we had a tiny bathroom and no balcony that we had booked. But that was about the only good thing I could say about it. To me there was so many things not right BUT above all it was the attitude of the owners that has made the decision to say 'don't go.' No smiles, no welcome, no apologies, huffing & puffing if we dared asked a question & looks to kill! After 3 nights we were glad to go, which was a shame as it could be a fantastic place to stay as you are on the other side of peninsular from centre of Bellagio, it was so much quieter. It was only a 5-10 min walk over the hill to Bellagio.
I could mention many more things but really, we would have been happy enough if we had felt welcome. Also compared to other places we have stayed it was overpriced for what we
had, assuming because it was in Bellagio?
One more thing you need a taxi to the hotel, unless you would like to clamber up and over the hill and steps with suitcases. Would have been really helpful to be told that by the hotel before arriving as when you arrive in Bellagio you realise that there are very few 'taxis!' A few luxury cars are the taxis BUT very hard to find one!! We had to go into a hotel & plead for them to call one for us & we were just lucky there was one in town as they do day trips etc.
So if you don't mind very unfriendly hotel staff, go.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DGtravels8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

This is a family run restaurant/hotel located on the shores of Lake Como and the rooms look out across the lake, of course, a big plus. This is a converted convent and as such is an interesting building with lots of features. We didn't realise that there was a bar to the right of entrance where we could get coffee/drinks anytime we wished. No one explained the facilities to us. The restaurant is popular and very busy at week-ends so don't expect an early night and if you arrive at this time don't expect a car park. The staff and service is dour but adequate with the exception of the younger daughter who was friendly and helpful. A typical Italian breakfast is sufficiant. The restaurant is expensive. The walk into Bellagio requires a steep climb - but of course coming back is down hill. Recommended with above reservations.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tedroMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I've seen a lot of criticism of Pergola regarding the service. Perhaps these reviews are coming from people expecting five-star service from a two-star hotel. Unfair, I think.

We had a basic double bed overlooking the lake. The staff were attentive and breakfast can be taken lakeside. The buffet breakfast itself was pretty limited, though; You should get there early to ensure the better food items are still available.

Also, note that the hotel is quite a hike from the ferry station and town center. Not for folks who aren't able to carry luggage some distance uphill. Also leaves you wanting to only leave the hotel once a day to avoid lengthy round-trips.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MackLMore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is not for the 5 star kiss my feet crowd
It is basic but clean and has beautiful views of lake and mountains Service is adequate to meet the travelers needs

The pergola is at waterside and a wonderful breakfast is served there It is a great place to sip your morning cappuccino and watch the mist rise off the water to display the mountains.
I would return in a heartbeat

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DonnaCB586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews