We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“A stunning location but that's not all.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Pergola

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
La Pergola
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Bellagio
Melbourne
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A stunning location but that's not all.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

This is a family run restaurant/hotel located on the shores of Lake Como and the rooms look out across the lake, of course, a big plus. This is a converted convent and as such is an interesting building with lots of features. We didn't realise that there was a bar to the right of entrance where we could get coffee/drinks anytime we wished. No one explained the facilities to us. The restaurant is popular and very busy at week-ends so don't expect an early night and if you arrive at this time don't expect a car park. The staff and service is dour but adequate with the exception of the younger daughter who was friendly and helpful. A typical Italian breakfast is sufficiant. The restaurant is expensive. The walk into Bellagio requires a steep climb - but of course coming back is down hill. Recommended with above reservations.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tedroMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    45
    24
    19
    30
See reviews for
20
70
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I've seen a lot of criticism of Pergola regarding the service. Perhaps these reviews are coming from people expecting five-star service from a two-star hotel. Unfair, I think.

We had a basic double bed overlooking the lake. The staff were attentive and breakfast can be taken lakeside. The buffet breakfast itself was pretty limited, though; You should get there early to ensure the better food items are still available.

Also, note that the hotel is quite a hike from the ferry station and town center. Not for folks who aren't able to carry luggage some distance uphill. Also leaves you wanting to only leave the hotel once a day to avoid lengthy round-trips.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MackLMore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is not for the 5 star kiss my feet crowd
It is basic but clean and has beautiful views of lake and mountains Service is adequate to meet the travelers needs

The pergola is at waterside and a wonderful breakfast is served there It is a great place to sip your morning cappuccino and watch the mist rise off the water to display the mountains.
I would return in a heartbeat

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonnaCB586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

As a frequent traveller this has to be the worst hotel experience I have had. The family that own and run this hotel fail to extend any sign of warmth and welcome to guests. Despite the reviews my wife and I thought we would give it a try given its location on the water
That's about all it has going for it
It's like being in a boarding school. Guests are locked on at night and we were actually told not to turn the hall lights on as it cost money. Breakfast was poor compared to others
I wouldn't recommend this property. Better off paying a little more and staying in the town centre

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank keentotravelsydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bellagio hotels

windhoek
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This hotel is small, beautifully located and simple. The building has character and the patio ( right on the water) must have one of the best and most peaceful views of Lake Como. The price was lower than on the western side of the peninsula in the main part of Bellagio and the setting was perfect. The walk into main touristy part of Bellagio took 10 - 15mins up and over a narrow set of cobbled stairs.
The service at the hotel was very good, the breakfast's good and the room more than adequate. This is not an upmarket, luxury hotel and if you want something simple and good value for money this is the spot !

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tamara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saignon, France
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Small authentic hotel that was a convent in it's previous life about a 15 min walk uphill in a tiny hamlet just outside Bellagio with amazing views and restaurant. Rooms large with terraces, comfortable but simple, don't expect luxe. Room 4 , 5 & 8 we can recommend. Some noise so take earplugs if you are sensitive-not a big deal. We found the family to be very nice and helpful. Had dinner in the restaurant one night and it was good and reasonably priced. Breakfast was the only disapointment, as the selection was small and never varied but the view from the breakfast/dinner terrace made up for it. Would recommend and would go back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Provencals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

I have stayed on menaggio a few times in the past but not bellagio. I wasn't expecting much from this place (I was being realistic as it was cheap by its bellagio counter parts and after all only 2 stars). It is tucked away over the back of bellagio, up and over lots of cobbled steps!!

However, I am very glad to say my expectations where so completely wrong!

Upon entering the lobby, we were very enthusiastically met by a man who took us to our room and proudly opened the doors in the middle of the room to show us our balcony. It looked directly out onto the lake. It was absolutely heavenly.

The room had everything you could ask for, but not at the expense of the villas Authentic charm.
It was cleaned every day and the breakfast was yummy.

I was in two minds not to tell the world about this little romantic hidden gem, keep it shhh!! But that wouldn't be fair.

Really hope if you read this you don't hesitate to book....enjoy!!!

Room Tip: Room 2 had a big bed and a beautiful view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mhairi1411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bellagio hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
0.3 mi away
Hotel Metropole Bellagio
Hotel Metropole Bellagio
#3 of 17 in Bellagio
4.5 of 5 stars 898 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Bellagio
#4 of 17 in Bellagio
4.5 of 5 stars 636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Silvio
Hotel Silvio
#10 of 17 in Bellagio
4.0 of 5 stars 518 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Du Lac
Hotel Du Lac
#6 of 17 in Bellagio
4.5 of 5 stars 620 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Pergola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Pergola

Property: La Pergola
Address: Piazza del Porto, 4, Pescallo, 22021 Bellagio, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellagio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Bellagio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your La Pergola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Pergola Bellagio, Italy - Lake Como
La Pergola Hotel Bellagio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing