We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (188)
Filter reviews
188 results
Traveler rating
37
55
39
22
35
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
37
55
39
22
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsconverted monasteryminute walkfishing villagebeautiful lakeeach morningyogurtmartahillstepsbalconyviewspositionwaterfront
Filter
Updating list...
50 - 55 of 188 reviews
Reviewed June 24, 2013

This hotel is small, beautifully located and simple. The building has character and the patio ( right on the water) must have one of the best and most peaceful views of Lake Como. The price was lower than on the western side of the peninsula in the main part of Bellagio and the setting was perfect. The walk into main touristy part of Bellagio took 10 - 15mins up and over a narrow set of cobbled stairs.
The service at the hotel was very good, the breakfast's good and the room more than adequate. This is not an upmarket, luxury hotel and if you want something simple and good value for money this is the spot !

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tamara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Small authentic hotel that was a convent in it's previous life about a 15 min walk uphill in a tiny hamlet just outside Bellagio with amazing views and restaurant. Rooms large with terraces, comfortable but simple, don't expect luxe. Room 4 , 5 & 8 we can recommend. Some noise so take earplugs if you are sensitive-not a big deal. We found the family to be very nice and helpful. Had dinner in the restaurant one night and it was good and reasonably priced. Breakfast was the only disapointment, as the selection was small and never varied but the view from the breakfast/dinner terrace made up for it. Would recommend and would go back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Provencals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

I have stayed on menaggio a few times in the past but not bellagio. I wasn't expecting much from this place (I was being realistic as it was cheap by its bellagio counter parts and after all only 2 stars). It is tucked away over the back of bellagio, up and over lots of cobbled steps!!

However, I am very glad to say my expectations where so completely wrong!

Upon entering the lobby, we were very enthusiastically met by a man who took us to our room and proudly opened the doors in the middle of the room to show us our balcony. It looked directly out onto the lake. It was absolutely heavenly.

The room had everything you could ask for, but not at the expense of the villas Authentic charm.
It was cleaned every day and the breakfast was yummy.

I was in two minds not to tell the world about this little romantic hidden gem, keep it shhh!! But that wouldn't be fair.

Really hope if you read this you don't hesitate to book....enjoy!!!

Room Tip: Room 2 had a big bed and a beautiful view!
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mhairi1411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights in early May 2013. We found this hotel delightful. The staff were all friendly; Marta speaks the best (excellent) English and was very helpful. One thing they can't help with is parking. There are 11 PUBLIC spaces in the lot, none reserved for hotel guests. We arrived on a sunny Saturday and had to park illegally (along with 5 others) for 4 hours before a space opened up. A car is useless here, so we strongly recommend coming by train to Varenna, then a 10-minute ferry ride to Bellagio, and a short cab ride to get your luggage over the hill. After that, it's a 10-minute walk on a cobbled path (170' vertical rise) to busy Bellagio with its restaurants and shops. La Pergola's restaurant serves a very good buffet (cold) breakfast, taken on the waterside jetty under the eponymous grape pergola in good weather. We had dinner here twice and both meals were excellent.

Room Tip: We had room 4, a charming, large, sunny place with a stunning lakefront view and a wide private terrace.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gary_Laura42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We've stayed at Hotel La Pergola many times, including our most recent in April, 2013, and it's become our favorite hotel in Italy. The hotel is situated lakeside, on the Lecco side of Lake Como, just outside Bellagio. Rooms 1 and 4 are both large, comfortable rooms with large terraces right over the lake. It is very quiet in Pescallo, which I prefer to the noise and crowds of Bellagio, yet it's only a 10 minute walk over the hill to Bellagio. And the walk helps either work up an appetite or make you feel better about how much you just ate. It's true that the owners can get a little gruff, but if you are a returning guest, as we are, you are greeted with warmth, smiles and friendliness. The restaurant is convenient to have and also beautiful, with good food.

Room Tip: Room 4 is the largest, with a big terrace. Room 1 is a little smaller, with a bigger terrace right over the lake
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kim413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews