We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Location, view, value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Du Lac

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Du Lac
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Bellagio
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Location, view, value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Hotel could not be better located, right across from the ferry wharf from Como.
we had room 43, lake view with balcony. The catch with balcony rooms is that the old French doors don't keep out the rain. There is a motorised shutter that does stop the weather, but then there is no lake view - and, on our first night, the shutter got jammed closed. very helpful staff got a tradie in who pushed and pulled and muttered curses in Italian. End result, after a couple of hours the shutter was open, and we could look at the lake lights all night. Some people talk about noise, being by the wharf - that didn't bother us at all.
Breakfast is adequate for Italy, and better than our experience in Venice or Como. we had 2 nights, but adding in trips to towns and villages around the lake we could easily have stayed for 7.

Room Tip: lake view rooms are far preferable - level 4 is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    241
    52
    26
    8
See reviews for
95
349
22
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
79 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Our room had a partial view of the lake when you stepped out on the small balcony and I was glad we did not choose lake front because the restaurant was very lively and I think the noise would have bothered me. This is a small hotel and it exceeded my expectations. I searched high and low for a hotel and was extremely disappointed by the traditional look of all the places. The room though was very clean, the bed was very comfortable and the linens were soft and good quality. The rooftop is cute with nice views. They even have an outdoor shower if you are sunbathing and want to cool off. We did not use the sister hotel's pool because it was raining. The staff was helpful and the ferry is right downstairs. Shopping is right up the steps. This is a great area to walk around during the day. It gets a bit quiet at night and restaurants all close by 10 except for places in hotels. Breakfast included is a nice touch. It was basic but so convenient!

Room Tip: If you want peace and quiet do not book a Lake Front room unless it is on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SaucyFoodieNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

I was so impressed with the location so close to the ferry and water. A very friendly staff and helpful. Our room was wonderful. Rm 61 5th floor with balcony with great view. Access to large terrace with extroadinary view of the lake. This hotel is a great place to stay.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Barb R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

The Hotel has a great location, right in the center of Bellagio. The view is beautiful.
We booked a room without the lake view and it had a huge bed. The room was big and clean. Bathroom is not so modern but clean as well.
Breakfast is OK, " american style" as they explained.
What bothered me a little was the wifi. It didn't work properly in our room and you had to login every time. Also the keys at the Hotel are very outdated.
The best part was dinner! The chef was so friendly, he came to our table every night and explained the menu etc etc. Delicious risottos and scallops!
Ps: To arrive at the Hotel with a car you have to drive through some narrow streets! Dont be afraid, it's the right way

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
241 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

The hotel is in a great location in the centre of town, lovely atmosphere around the hotel which feels safe. We booked on the day and got a great price. The room was basic but covered our needs. Our room was beside an alley overlooking restaurants which was very noisy at night if the windows were open. We had dinner at the hotel which was really nice, overlooking the lake and mountains. We thought it was expensive but worth it for the experience. Breakfast is somewhat poor, it was included in our deal. The cheese offered is processed wrapped cheese! Not what you would expect from a hotel with a lovely evening restaurant.
The hotel has a roof terrace, nice to relax, take in the views and have a glass of wine.
The hotel has no parking, parking is available around Bellagio but you need a parking ticket between 8am -8pm which can be expensive. There is free parking around the back of the small town but this is generally busy, we did find a space so keep looking.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank L_K1509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

I love this hotel, and will definitely be returning. The location is perfect, with a stunning view over Lake Como, and the hotel feels both classy and friendly. The staff are very welcoming and helpful, and I did not need to worry about not being able to speak Italian. The restaurant on the terrace is my favourite restaurant anywhere - with magnificent food and wonderful service. In addition, the roof terrace is the perfect place for peaceful reading.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elisabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I LOVED this hotel, its staff, and the restaurant. We usually stay in more upscale lodging, but this place charmed us. It could certainly be fancier, but we had a room with a terrace overlooking the lake and it was magical. And the convenience of being right across from the ferry cannot be downplayed. The only negative was that we had a hard time staying connected to the internet the few times that we wanted to look something up. I want to go to Bellagio every year and stay here!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank DHRK_LA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bellagio
0.3 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
0.1 mi away
Hotel Metropole Bellagio
Hotel Metropole Bellagio
#3 of 17 in Bellagio
4.5 of 5 stars 896 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Bellagio
#4 of 17 in Bellagio
4.5 of 5 stars 633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
1.4 mi away
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
#2 of 17 in Bellagio
4.5 of 5 stars 773 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel La Perla
Hotel La Perla
#1 of 8 in Tremezzina
5.0 of 5 stars 712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Du Lac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Du Lac

Property: Hotel Du Lac
Address: Piazza Mazzini 32, 22021 Bellagio, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellagio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Bellagio
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bellagio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Du Lac 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel du Lac in Bellagio Italy is a charming small hotel. On lake-shore 30 miles from Como and 60 miles from Milan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel Du Lac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Lac Bellagio
Hotel Du Lac Bellagio, Italy - Lake Como

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing