We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location location location!”
Review of Hotel Du Lac

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Du Lac
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Bellagio
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Location location location!”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

The location of Hotel Du Lac across the street from the ferry terminal made it easy to explore the lake and more importantly provided us with a stunning view of the lake from our room. The rooms are spacious and clean. Ours had a small balcony where we sat one afternoon having a drink watching the boats cruise around the lake. Perfection.

The restaurant food was tasty, the staff were friendly and helpful. This is a great hotel to stay at in a fantastic location.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Petermac01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

781 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    392
    291
    61
    28
    9
See reviews for
111
458
33
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Hotel Du Lac is a solid hotel with a very helpful and knowledgable staff. It is located directly in front of the Hydrofoil pier from Como, so the location is great. The rooms are basic but clean. The one complaint is the water pressure on the forth floor was not great. I would rate it 3 1/2 stars

Helpful?
Thank Marc A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

The Hotel Du Lac is exceptionally good. We had a nice large room overlooking Lake Como providing spectacular views in both directions. The staff here is absolutely the best I've encountered anywhere. My other half was sick upon arrival and the staff went out of their way to get her a cup of soup to help her feel better. They were truly concerned about her and offer assistance in any way needed. The Hotel Du Lac also has a beautiful roof top garden where you can bask in the sun. This is an all around winner.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Clean, large rooms, great service, good bed, good breakfast, wonderful views if you get a lake view room. We arrived on a Friday and then found out that many places only take cash - we did not have enough cash and all banks were closed for the w/end. The owner (I think she was) changed our money from her own pocket. Where will you find that?

Room Tip: Worth spending a little more to get a lake room view and dont forget to go on the roof top for a bit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KiraMexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Our first time in Bellagio was a wonderful experience enhanced by Hotel du lac. We couldn't leave Milano any faster but we were sad to say goodbye to Bellagio. Traveling with another couple from our Las Vegas home we like to think we know a little about hospitality. Every staff member and the owner himself made us feel like we were welcomed guests. Since this was the beginning of our Italian vacation we were a little overwhelmed with our inability to speak the language. Everyone spoke perfect English and were more than willing to help us learn the Italian we tried to pick up. As for the rooms, I can only speak for the two we had on the top floor (4th), rooms 42 and 44. They were the lake view, double bed, couch, on the corners with two windows and small balconies as you would see from the photos. More room than expected for your typical older European hotel. Very comfortable and very clean (something that we do hold to a high standard). In truth it is a little dated. Kind of feels like staying in a room at Grandmas house, but with a view to die for. Bed and pillows were fine, not to the standard of an American Marriott for example, but I got by and I am pretty picky. There is a positive and a negative to the location. It is close to the ferry landing (accross the street) so you see it from the moment you come towards the dock and you realize that you do not have to climb up the steps or get a taxi like some other hotels. The negative is that with your doors open, the noise from the street, ferry, and tourists may bother you. The bar/restaurant below can be a little noisey depending on how loud the patrons get and how late they go. It only bothered us 1 of 3 nights until about 1:00AM. Breakfast was fine for me. Basic European continental. They did have Coco puffs though. How funny is that? We stayed in some great hotels during our trip in Milan (AC Milano), Venice (La Commedia), Florence (NH Porto Rossa), and Rome (Relais Del Popolo) which was only ok, but Bellagio is the only city I would return to and I would have no problem staying at Hotel du Lac the next time.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mci
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Staff very friendly and helpful throughout, even before my stay when I emailed with a question. The hotel décor is charming, old world faded elegance. Double rooms with lake views are huge; much larger than shown on the website. Bed linens are crisp and inviting. Bathroom is delightful in an old world manner: bidet, a five foot long, deep bathtub with bubble bath provided. Hand held shower, too. The breakfast buffet was unexpectedly plentiful for Europe: both English and continental breakfasts on offer. The view of the lake is splendid as well as the conveniently located ferry harbor. This hotel is ideal, especially for those who don’t want to carry suitcases up precariously steep stone steps to reach other hotels in Bellagio. A charming hotel in Bellagio!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bb299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We arrived mid-afternoon on a cloudy day and were shown to our 4th floor room with two small french doors and windows and a SPECTACULAR view! Our agent had scheduled a "welcome dinner" for our group in the hotel bar, and the food was beautiful and very good. Breakfast in the dining room the next morning allowed us pastries (including croissants with apple filling) eggs, bacon and cereals. We hated to leave that morning, far too soon to have seen anything of the village or the area, but the view on the drive out of Bellagio was as beautiful as the drive in from the other direction. Loved this hotel, loved the location, would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TulsaTraveler_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bellagio
0.3 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
0.0 mi away
Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Bellagio
#6 of 16 in Bellagio
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
#2 of 16 in Bellagio
884 reviews
1.9 mi away
Royal Victoria
Royal Victoria
#1 of 6 in Varenna
399 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel La Perla
Hotel La Perla
#1 of 8 in Tremezzina
828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Du Lac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Du Lac

Property: Hotel Du Lac
Address: Piazza Giuseppe Mazzini 32, 22021 Bellagio, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellagio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Bellagio
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bellagio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Du Lac 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel du Lac in Bellagio Italy is a charming small hotel. On lake-shore 30 miles from Como and 60 miles from Milan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Du Lac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Lac Bellagio
Hotel Du Lac Bellagio, Italy - Lake Como

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing