We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!”
Review of Hotel Du Lac

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Du Lac
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Bellagio
Certificate of Excellence
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Clean, large rooms, great service, good bed, good breakfast, wonderful views if you get a lake view room. We arrived on a Friday and then found out that many places only take cash - we did not have enough cash and all banks were closed for the w/end. The owner (I think she was) changed our money from her own pocket. Where will you find that?

Room Tip: Worth spending a little more to get a lake room view and dont forget to go on the roof top for a bit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KiraMexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

763 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    383
    285
    60
    26
    9
See reviews for
109
448
32
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Our first time in Bellagio was a wonderful experience enhanced by Hotel du lac. We couldn't leave Milano any faster but we were sad to say goodbye to Bellagio. Traveling with another couple from our Las Vegas home we like to think we know a little about hospitality. Every staff member and the owner himself made us feel like we were welcomed guests. Since this was the beginning of our Italian vacation we were a little overwhelmed with our inability to speak the language. Everyone spoke perfect English and were more than willing to help us learn the Italian we tried to pick up. As for the rooms, I can only speak for the two we had on the top floor (4th), rooms 42 and 44. They were the lake view, double bed, couch, on the corners with two windows and small balconies as you would see from the photos. More room than expected for your typical older European hotel. Very comfortable and very clean (something that we do hold to a high standard). In truth it is a little dated. Kind of feels like staying in a room at Grandmas house, but with a view to die for. Bed and pillows were fine, not to the standard of an American Marriott for example, but I got by and I am pretty picky. There is a positive and a negative to the location. It is close to the ferry landing (accross the street) so you see it from the moment you come towards the dock and you realize that you do not have to climb up the steps or get a taxi like some other hotels. The negative is that with your doors open, the noise from the street, ferry, and tourists may bother you. The bar/restaurant below can be a little noisey depending on how loud the patrons get and how late they go. It only bothered us 1 of 3 nights until about 1:00AM. Breakfast was fine for me. Basic European continental. They did have Coco puffs though. How funny is that? We stayed in some great hotels during our trip in Milan (AC Milano), Venice (La Commedia), Florence (NH Porto Rossa), and Rome (Relais Del Popolo) which was only ok, but Bellagio is the only city I would return to and I would have no problem staying at Hotel du Lac the next time.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mci
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Staff very friendly and helpful throughout, even before my stay when I emailed with a question. The hotel décor is charming, old world faded elegance. Double rooms with lake views are huge; much larger than shown on the website. Bed linens are crisp and inviting. Bathroom is delightful in an old world manner: bidet, a five foot long, deep bathtub with bubble bath provided. Hand held shower, too. The breakfast buffet was unexpectedly plentiful for Europe: both English and continental breakfasts on offer. The view of the lake is splendid as well as the conveniently located ferry harbor. This hotel is ideal, especially for those who don’t want to carry suitcases up precariously steep stone steps to reach other hotels in Bellagio. A charming hotel in Bellagio!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bb299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We arrived mid-afternoon on a cloudy day and were shown to our 4th floor room with two small french doors and windows and a SPECTACULAR view! Our agent had scheduled a "welcome dinner" for our group in the hotel bar, and the food was beautiful and very good. Breakfast in the dining room the next morning allowed us pastries (including croissants with apple filling) eggs, bacon and cereals. We hated to leave that morning, far too soon to have seen anything of the village or the area, but the view on the drive out of Bellagio was as beautiful as the drive in from the other direction. Loved this hotel, loved the location, would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TulsaTraveler_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NE England
Level Contributor
55 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

We were touring Northern Italy and chose this hotel for a one night stay in the Como area. Before I go into the specifics of my complaint, a quick summary of the hotel. The location is pefect and Bellagio the town is delightful. The hotel itself is shabby, worn and in desparate need of an overhaul - think ugly coloured bathroom fittings, tired furniture and ageing decor. The breakfast buffet was average.

Now to the specifics - upon arrival, we were asked by the gentleman checking us in if we would like to upgrade our room to a lake view for a charge. Clearly this is their standard sales patter to increase their room rates. We pointed out that we had already booked a lake view room and produced our booking confirmation as evidence. Despite this the hotel staff proceeded to argue with us. They showed us a copy of their booking confirmation for our stay and claimed that we had not booked a lake view room. When we pointed out that the booking confirmation they were showing us was actually in the name of another guest and not our name, the staff were incredibly rude. In fact, I would go so far as to say they were combative and aggressive. They eventually checked us into the lake view room we had paid for, but maintained the rudeness and hostility during all our dealings with them. I can honestly say I was glad to leave as I have NEVER encountered this in all my dealings with hotel staff. Overall, we will not return to this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TAF8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We like to stay by location, and this one can't be beat! Right across from the ferry docks, with an extremely helpful staff who can help you around town. Our room (a normal room) had a partial lake view, but we did not need it as we enjoyed drinking wine on the roof-top terrace which overlooks all of the lake - splendid! The location right in town made parking available, and there is a shop around the corner for wine and sundries. What set it apart though was how helpful and friendly the front staff were - certainly accommodating and great at helping explain the ferry service! N.B. the room was also delightful and comfortable, and the hotel has a lift.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tomclubireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

This hotel sits in a magnificient location, right in the middle of town, above the ferry stop. So close, that (on rare occasions) you can smell the smog from the arriving/departing ferries.
The rooms on the 4th floor are beautiful, with great views. We had one with a balcony (which is very tiny). The staff at reception was very friendly and helpful, both in regards to matters with the hotel (e.g. providing a stronger hairdrier than that supplied in the room) and with tourist information for the area. There is no waitress service at breakfast, if that's important for you and the coffee is very average, but for Italian standards there is a good selection and the cornetti are to die for (this coming from an Italian). Overall we had a very good stay here, would return and were very happy with the friendly staff and beautiful views.

Room Tip: The 4th floor and its rooms are renovated, more modern than the other floors and I believe they woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Giordana27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bellagio
0.3 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
0.1 mi away
Hotel Metropole Bellagio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Bellagio
#6 of 16 in Bellagio
721 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
#2 of 16 in Bellagio
863 reviews
1.9 mi away
Royal Victoria
Royal Victoria
#1 of 6 in Varenna
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Du Lac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Du Lac

Property: Hotel Du Lac
Address: Piazza Giuseppe Mazzini 32, 22021 Bellagio, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellagio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Bellagio
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bellagio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Du Lac 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel du Lac in Bellagio Italy is a charming small hotel. On lake-shore 30 miles from Como and 60 miles from Milan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Hotel Du Lac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Lac Bellagio
Hotel Du Lac Bellagio, Italy - Lake Como

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing